Rhinebeck Farmers’ Market

I was invited to present a cooking demo at the Rhinebeck Outdoor Farmers’ Market on Sunday, June 10, 2012 using locally available products. Not sure what is/will be available, decided I should pay a visit to the market the Sunday before. Was pleasantly surprised at the variety of produce available so early in the season.

There were a variety of summer squashes and they all looked really good. Which ones to use? Then I thought why not use all and make a quick stir-fry with chicken. Everyone loves chicken, that’s safe and would go over well. But then I was asked if I could do something with duck, without thinking, I said: “sure”. Now that I have committed, I needed to come up with a duck dish that is doable under the market conditions.

After giving this some thoughts, decided to adapt one of my chicken stir-fry recipe and came up with Hoisin Duck with Seasonal Local Veggies. It was well received and I was pleased.

There were also radishes in all shapes and sizes. With the approaching of the warm weather, radishes pretty soon will develop a “bite” making them not quite suitable for salad. However, by braising the radish, the flavor is mellowed and the taste is very pleasant. Braised Radish was the other dish I made. The comments were: “I didn’t know you could cook radish.”, “This is delicious.”, “I definitely am going to make this.” …..

Stir-fry Duck with Seasonal Local Veggies

Adapted from “My Students’ Favorite Chinese Recipes updated edition” by Norma Chang

Ingredients
1 pound boneless and skinless duck breast, cut across the grain into thin slices (chicken, pork or beef will work too)
1 teaspoon sugar, optional
1 tablespoon ginger wine
1 tablespoon soy sauce regular or gluten free
2 – 3 tablespoons hoisin sauce
2 – 3 teaspoons Asian sesame oil
½ teaspoon kosher salt or to taste
In a bowl, combine all the above. Marinate ½ hour or overnight in the refrigerator.

1 – 1½ pounds seasonal veggies (I chose summer squash, sugar snap, shelling peas) cut into desired size and shape
6 – 8 garlic scape, cut into about ½ inch length
1 teaspoon kosher salt or to taste
½ cup chicken broth or as needed
4 – 6 slices fresh ginger or from ginger wine
1 – 2 scallions, smash white part, cut green and white part into about 4 inches length
1 – 4 cloves garlic, peeled and smashed
additional hoisin sauce, if needed
¼ – 1 teaspoon Asian chili sauce, optional
1 tablespoon cornstarch combined with 2 tablespoon water, stir well before adding to wok

Preparations
1. In a wok or large frying pan, add 1 tablespoon oil, salt and veggies. Stir-fry untill veggies are slightly under desired doneness, adding broth 1 tablespoon at a time if wok is dry. Remove veggies and any liquid to a clean platter.
2. Add remaining oil to wok. Add ginger, scallion and garlic. Stir-fry until garlic is lightly colored, remove and discard all the aromatics. Add chili sauce, if using, add duck. Stir-fry until duck is cooked, adding broth 1 tablespoon at a time if wok is dry.
3. Add veggies and additional broth as needed for gravy. Thicken with cornstarch mixture, if desired. Stir in additional hoisin sauce and salt to taste. Serve hot.

Braised Radish

Ingredients
1 pound radish, peeled (optional), leave whole or cut into desired sizes (I peeled some and left some unpeeled)
2 – 4 slices ginger
2 – 3 scallions, thinly sliced, keep green and white separate
1 tablespoon oil
½ cup chicken/vegetarian broth or as needed
1 teaspoon soy sauce, regular or gluten free
1 – 2 teaspoons Asian sesame oil
1 teaspoon cornstarch combined with 2 teaspoons water
toasted black and/or white sesame seeds, optional
cilantro for garnish, optional

Preparations
Add oil to preheated wok or frying pan. Add ginger and white part of scallion, stir-fry until fragrant. Add radish, broth and soy sauce, cover, bring to a boil, simmer until radishes are soft. Stir in sesame oil, thicken with cornstarch mixture, if needed. Garnish with sesame seeds an cilantro.

The duck came from Quattros Farm of Pleasant Valley, NY

The veggies came from Migliorelli Farm, Tivoli, NY
The garlic scapes came from my garden so this qualifies me, I hope, to post on Thursday’s Kitchen Cupboard.

It was a delightfully suny and fun day at the Rhinebeck Farmers’ Market. On one side of my tent were beautiful flowers, on the other side was classical guitarist David Temple. Music, food and flowers, all in a row, what more could one ask for?

The Rhinebeck Farmers’ Market is open year round. I wrote about the indoor market on 2/6/2012.

Copyright © by Norma Chang

Robin, The Gardener of Eden, is the host for Thursdays Kitchen Cupboard. Head on over to Thursday’s Kitchen Cupboard to see what others are cooking.

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Rhinebeck Farmers’ Market

  1. The farmers market seems to offer so much wonderful produce 😀
    Fresh delish and beautiful!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  2. Daphne says:

    That looks so good. We can’t get duck at our farmers market. Last year you could get rabbit, chicken, pork, beef, and fish. Occasionally we get a lobster seller too. But never duck.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Daphne,
      Wish we had lobster and fish sellers at our farmers’ market. I forgot to mention in the post that chicken, pork and beef will work also, made the correction.

  3. ChgoJohn says:

    This sounds like a wonderful market, Norma. As much as I like the one I frequent, yours offers so much more — and it’s year-round, too. Glad to hear that your presentation was so well-received. How could it not be? The dishes you prepared sound delicious. I bet people were fighting for a taste. 🙂

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello John,
      We have many, many farmers’ market in the area, I always joke that I live in “cow country”. Oh I forgot to add that chicken, pork and beef will work for this dish also.

  4. I had forgotten that cooking radishes takes out the bite. Wish I had more radishes to try that. With my tiny square foot garden, I planted 8 Dutch Redhead radishes and we ate them already. I have six more German Icicle radishes growing that might find their way into a stir fry. Right now I have a lot of bok choy going on in my garden, so soup and stir fry is on the menu a lot here at Green World.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Lou,
      Your garden looks pretty big to me. You have such moderate temperature to grow bok choy and many of the Asian greens.
      Next week is going to be HOT in the Hudson Valley, will need to keep an eye on my bok choy for sign of bolting.

  5. Eva Taylor says:

    I would love to come and watch one of your demo’s Norma; I’m so glad it was a beautiful day. I had no idea you could cook radishes…I’m going to have to give it a try.
    I do love the harsh bite of a summer radish anyway…

  6. I love to visit farmer markets too. Ours here don’t offer any cooking demo…otherwise, it would be really fun and great.
    The stir-fry looks so very tasty.

  7. What a great Farmers Market and how fun to do a cooking demo Norma!

  8. Yvette says:

    Congratulations on a wonderful display of your cuisine…and such wonderfully fresh produce. Those ‘silverbeets’ on display look fantastic…I have to admit I’ve never braised radishes either…always only put them in a salad! A great job, well done! x

  9. Charles says:

    “Everyone loves chicken”
    Not this guy… I’m a bit of a weirdo though 😀

    Love duck though and the photo of the squashes looks awesome. Those braised radishes too sound fantastic. Nice to see a different way of preparing them!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Charles,
      I was quite surprised to see all those summer squashes this early in the year. They were really super, super delicious. The problem with duck is after removing the skin and bones the (meat) yield is very low.

  10. It’s been so long since I’ve been to the Rhinebeck market. The last time I went there were about 35 violin players led by my sister. 🙂

    Love this stir-fried duck recipe

  11. Sophie says:

    What a great & lovely opportunity for you, my friend! ! 🙂 I also love to braise radishes: that brings out their unique flavour & your recipe with the marinated duck & veggies sounds so appetizing. I am so going to make it soon! 🙂
    MMMMMM,..Also thank you for the garlic scape pesto from Celia! I made it yesterday! 🙂 xxx

  12. Lrong says:

    Looks like you had a good time… I salute you as I think you must be very skilled at cooking… I do not have much opportunity to eat duck dishes, but that dish looks inviting…

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Lrong,
      I did have a good time.
      You have such a delightful way with words. I am not really “very skilled” at cooking, I just putter around and hope the results are palatable.

  13. What great recipes! I know of I’d seen that demo, I’d have been pretty excited. Lucky for me you took us all along with you. My bok choy has started bolting already- no more until fall.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello GC,
      Mine may start to bolt also, expecting temp in the 90’s next week and no rain in sight for a number of days, going out to give the plants a drink soon.

  14. What a great opportunity for you!

  15. Norma, braised radish! I can grow them, but I just can’t get the tribe to eat them. Maybe I’ll try your recipe.. 🙂 Thank you! Looks like you had a lovely day out at the markets!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Celia,
      I can take only a few slices of uncooked radish, but cooked, I can devour a whole bowl. I hope your tribe likes them cook. I toss them, sliced or cubed, with other veggies when make a stir-fry or stew.

  16. Your duck recipe looks lovely. I think it would be popular here because of all the flavours in the sauce …I swear that my oldest ponytail would drink soy sauce if we let her. Your asparagus and chicken stir fry is part of our regular weeknight rotation, so might be time to try something new. Think I should tell them about the duck?

  17. I am really glad your presentation went great but how could it not, you are very talented and knowledgable my friend
    I wish I had an amazing market like this one near by

  18. Kristy says:

    Oh, I love duck! I’ve never eaten it in a stir fry before. I love the idea Norma. 🙂

  19. Karen says:

    I know that your recipe had to be well received…it sounds terrific, Norma. I think cooked radishes have a lovely flavor. I have had them in Europe but never here in a restaurant.

  20. I’m very excited to see this braised radish preparation. I just got a large bunch of radishes in my CSA box, and my husband immediately gave a thumbs down on eating them raw, so I may have to try this and see if he likes it. It sounds wonderful with the ginger and scallions.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello B and B,
      Karen of backroadjournal commented that she has eaten braised radishes in restaurants in Germany and Austria. So this is not my creation as I had thought. Hope your husband will like the braised radish, you can also slice and add to stir-fry.

  21. mac says:

    Nice duck dish and delicious braised radish.

Leave a comment