Harvest Monday, June 18, 2012

This past week was a good harvest week.
In my garden flat above are, left to right:
♦ Gai lan (Chinese broccoli), weight: 1 pound.  It liked the cool weather we had and grew nice and fat. Don’t think it is going to like the weather this week, 90’s starting Wednesday. Right photo: gai lan flowers.
♦ Swiss chard, weight 1¼ pounds
♦ Lacinato kale, weight ¾ pounds

Both the Swiss chard and kale are extra seedlings that I did not need but had no takers. Not wanting to throw them in the compost pile, I planted them in a temporary vacant location and am rewarded with 2 delicious meals.

Harvested a basket of garlic scapes, weight: 1½ pounds. Going to harvest the remainder this week.

Also harvested a bit of snow peas, weight: 4 ounces and some strawberries, did not weigh nor phtograph (they never made it out of the garden).

With the rain and cool weather this past week, all the brassicas are doing well. The Chinese long beans, angled luffa and bittermelon on the other hand were not at all happy. Hopefully with the coming of the heat wave they will take off.

Above photo, front row: Swiss chard (rhubarb red, golden yellow and fordhook giant). 2nd row: broccoli. 3rd row: Brussels sprouts.

Above photo: Collard (in front). Kale (dwarf blue curled scotch, red Russian and lacinato hidden behind the red Russian).

Snow peas starting to produce. There were soy beans growing in what is now an unplanted area. On Tuesday when I visited the garden, the soy beans were growing well, Wednesday morning there was only one lonely plant, Thursday morning took my camera to take a photo of the one lonely plant, but it too dissappeared. The birds (I think) ate the seedlings. Not a happy person as I have no more seeds and even if I did, it may be too late to replant.

You can see the snow peas a bit better in this photo.

Chinese parsley (cilantro) flowers, so delicate and pretty. Chinese parsley bolted much earlier this year.

Copyright © by Norma Chang

Visit Daphne’s Dandelions http://daphnesdandelions.blogspot.com/ for more Harvest Mondays

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Harvest Monday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

61 Responses to Harvest Monday, June 18, 2012

  1. Toni Kellers says:

    Hi Norma – at Father’s Day dinner at my daughter’s house she brought up lemongrass. Do I remember that you grow it? She loves it and was wondering about growing it but has no idea if it can be done.
    Toni from Rhinebeck sheep fair

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Toni,
      Yes it can be done. Is there an Asian market near your daughter? If yes, she can buy a stalk of lemongrass and root it. I wrote about it in my March 26, 2012 post.

  2. Do you have rabbits? A couple years ago I had a baby bunny slipping through the 2″x4″ openings in my fence. It loved the soy bean plants!

  3. Liz says:

    What a shame about the soy beans – I am planning on trying them myself this year – I will endevour to keep mine away from both birds and rabbits…

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Liz,
      Homegrown soy beans are so much tastier than the store bought ones. What time of year will you be able to plant your soy beans? It’s winter where you are now, am I correct?

  4. Mark Willis says:

    Norma, I love the garden ornament above the flowering cilantro – very stylish! When I grow cilantro it seems to bolt as soon as the leaves are big enough to pick. Do you find that? What’s the answer – is it just keep re-sowing a bit more every couple of weeks, or is there a hidden knack to keeping it leafy?

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Mark,
      The ornament is a frog chasing a dragonfly. One of my many froggies.
      From what I can observe, cilantro does not like hot weather. I also read that cilantro will do better with morning sun. I resow every few weeks. Perhaps some gardener with experience will weigh in.

  5. kitsapfg says:

    Sorry about the loss of the soy beans. 😦 Your greens and scapes look tasty. I need to harvest scapes this week myself. Beautiful garden beds. Enjoyed seeing them.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Kitsapfg,
      Thanks. Other plantss are making up for the soy beans’ loss so it’s OK, that’s what gardening is all about, you win some and you lose some. Since you never know what you will lose and what you will gain, this makes gardening even more interesting.

  6. Oh man…sorry about your soybeans! I’m trying to grow some this year for the first time and have had a bit of a rough go of it, too…low germination first, then a disturbed bed (human disturbance, not critter related). I just sowed a few more seeds yesterday…I know it’s late, but I am still hopeful 😉

  7. zestybeandog says:

    Such beautiful greens and garlic scapes! I would love to come to your house for dinner 🙂

  8. How disappointing to find your garden got robbed! I hope they enjoyed every bite though. Wouldn’t want them to go for nothing.

    I’m so envious of your garden.

  9. Barbie says:

    My soybeans disappeared as well. I only ended up with about 1/3 of it getting large enough. They are just now setting beans. Maybe I’ll post an update this week. They are SO furry now. I thought it was the blasted squirrels because the corn was gone as well… but maybe birds. I deal with both. 😦

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Barbie,
      How exciting to have soy beans on the plants, the Chinese name for soy beans is “mao dou”. Mao means hairy (furry), dou means beans. I have squirrels, rabbits, chipmunks and birds.

  10. Barbara Good says:

    Norma, your garden is just so pretty! I love the bed with the chard, broccoli and brussel sprouts. As always I’m inspired by your Asian greens, I’ve just planted some more seeds hoping they will tolerate our winter, my pak choy is happy enough out there. I’m definitely going to get some chinese broccoli seeds when I’m next at the nursery too.

  11. maryhysong says:

    I love how the cilantro flowers attract so many hover flies. And I am going to have to try your braised radish dish this fall! If your bean plants were chewed at the soil line it’s probably a rabbit, rat or squirrel. Birds make a big mess scratching everything up and digging holes.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Mary,
      The cilantro flowers are so pretty too, especially grouped together. No there was no mess on the garden bed so I guess it was either rabbit or squirrel, I do not have rat problem. Thanks for the info.

  12. Eva Taylor says:

    What a great harvest Norma, the veg look wonderful and I bet taste so incredibly good. The ornament you have pictured looks wonderful; I too have a little surprise for the eyes in every little corner of the garden.
    I just read your comment regarding cilantro, I have such a love hate relationship with this herb. I planted it on the back deck, morning sun only. It gets to a certain thickness and then starts flowering and I can never get it to be full and wonderful like my basil or even the parsley. I am about to give up, and sadly, it’s one of my favourite herbs.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Eva,
      Oh yea, they tasted really, really delicious. That ornament is one of the many froggies residing in my garden, they never fail to put a smile on my face. I am hoping some gardeners will weigh in on their cilantro growing experience. I should do some research and write a post, will try to find time.

  13. I’ve never been able to get cilantro to grow on my deck. It’s so warm here it bolts almost immediately. What a nice garden you have, Norma! I love seeing more and more of it, and your harvest looks delicious.

  14. Rick says:

    Wow, what a great harvest! Peas are the veggie of choice around our garden right now. It’s been so hot that we have lost most of our lettuce and other greens to bolting. But the peas are making up for it! Your garlic scrapes look great. We haven’t had any yet this year!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Rick,
      Sorry about the bolting of your lettuce and greens, but then we get to move on to other plants and that is what gardening is all about, each season brings with it something different and exciting.

  15. Love your GARDEN! So far I am just able to just grow some herbs…sighs…and my tomato plants just produce the flowers, not fruit….

  16. ChgoJohn says:

    Wow, Norma! Your garden is doing so well — an opinion apparently shared by the rabbits. Too bad there won’t be any soy beans for you this year. Let’s hope the bunnies found a garden even more delectable than yours and that they spend the rest of the summer dining there.

  17. Your garden is undoubtedly one of the best my friend, everything looks so perfect 😀
    Beautiful job!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  18. What are you going to make with the garlic scrapes? The garden is doing so well!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Alyssa,
      The garlic scapes go into just about everything I make in the kitchen, whether it is just plain veggie stir-fry, with meat or other protein, in scrambled eggs, salad dressing, I also freeze for later use and share with others. This week will be the last of the harvest until next year.

  19. Norma, your garden looks so beautiful and green! Love all the colors. It’s been hot in our parts for some time, so no green leafy vegetables for some time, only sprouts! 🙂

  20. I am so envious of your garden Norma! I wish I could have all of those beautiful greens in my fingertips for dinner. Lovely post 🙂

  21. I haven’t had any luck with the Chinese parsley (cilantro), but yours looks beautiful Norma. Your swiss chard also looks lovely — it’s a favorite of mine, so I wish I’d been able to take advantage of your extra seedlings.

  22. machisan says:

    wonderful greens. lovely garden.

  23. I have never seen chinese parsley’s flowers before, they are so delicate and beautiful

  24. Daphne says:

    I’ve got my rows of chard right in front of the broccoli too this year. All those greens have really loved the cool weather. I don’t know whether I should be looking forward to Wed and the start of the heat. Maybe just maybe those sweet potatoes will start to grow then.

  25. Kristy says:

    Your garden is just so bountiful and beautiful! It must be so much fun to eat straight from your yard. 🙂

  26. I always send my mother your posts. She strives to have a garden so bountiful as yours!

  27. mac says:

    Nice harvest and beautiful greens, it seems only yesterday you planted the greens seedlings, look at them now, wow…..growing so fast and harvesting already.

  28. Michelle says:

    Your garden looks great, there’s so muchngood stuff in there. I bet it was the rabbits that got the soybeans. The only time I’ve had rabbits in my vegetable garden was when I tried to grow edamame, they were like bunny magnets.

  29. Charles says:

    Hi Norma – if your cilantro has gone to flower, what do you do with it? Do you just let it go to seed? I always found when growing cilantro that it would go to flower SO fast and then it was ruined – didn’t taste the same anymore andso I gave up on growing it.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Charles,
      The flowers are so delicate and pretty, I just let them go to seed. I collect some and allow the others to fall to the ground and reseed. Cilantro does not like heat. Mine receive morning sun, I also reseed every 1 or 2 weeks. This is the first year the plants bolt so early and I think it is because of the prolong heatwave we had towards the end of may.

  30. shuhan says:

    You have such a flourishing garden! A lot of the veggies are my favourite ones for stirfries, snow peas especially, their sweetness is great, I had them with velveted chicken on my blog a while ago. I’m growing cilantro on my windowsill pot, and its bolting very soon too 😦 The flowers are pretty though, so I don’t mind!

  31. How cool and green it all looks.

Leave a Reply

