Harvest Monday, July 31, 2017 – Containers Gardening

Last of the raspberries (the ones the birds missed).

DSC03569weblarge copy

Raspberries

Now I am waiting for the blackberries to ripen, hopefully soon and I get to the ripe berries before the birds.

∗ ∗ ∗

Best ever onion harvest. After years of trying, I finally got decent size onions.

DSC03575weblarge copy

The onion on the left weighs 10+ ounces the one on the right weighs 6+ ounces. A record for me. Most of the others weigh between 4 – 6 ounces. All the onions were grown in a container.

After harvesting the onion, I enriched the potting mix in the container and put in some sugar snap peas seeds. Hope it is not too late.

∗ ∗ ∗

Disappointing container blue potatoes.

DSC03570weblarge copy

All Blue Potatoes

Neglected to hill the container potatoes resulting in poor harvest.

∗ ∗ ∗

Pulled up all the remaining beets in the window box.

DSC03596weblarge copy

Early Wonder Beets

Cut the leaves (including the stems) into bite-sized lengths and stir fried in garlic infused oil. Used as a side.

Peeled and sliced the roots, placed (uncooked), in freezer bag, dated, labeled and placed in freezer for later use.

(Last year I experimented with freezing uncooked beets which I used to make soup and liked the results.)

∗ ∗ ∗

Bumped up the seedlings I started end of June into 4″ pots for transplanting as space becomes available (having seedlings on hand enabled me to grow successive crops in each container and in the garden.)

After pulling all the beets I enriched the potting mix in the window box and transplanted lettuce seedlings into the box.

DSC03597weblarge copy

Lettuces: Left, Red Sails. Right, Schweitzer Mescher Bibb

Also enriched the potting mix in the other available window boxes and transplanted seedlings that I know will do well in window box.

DSC03604weblarge copy

Mei Qing Choi

All baby bok choys do well in window box.

∗ ∗ ∗

DSC03610weblarge copy

 Forellenschluss Lettuce

All Lettuces do well in window box.

∗ ∗ ∗

After the rabbit/s ate the first sowing of Tri-color Amaranth seedlings, I resowed and they are growing very well (I elevated the window box so that the rabbit/s could not get to the seedlings.)

DSC03607weblarge copy.jpg

Tri-color Amaranth

The plants are getting too crowded, need to thin.

∗ ∗ ∗

Another best

DSC03583weblarge copy

Japanese Anemone

Bees are buzzing. They just love these Japanese Anemone but could not get them to stay still for a group photo. Did manage to catch one on the flower on the left.

DSC03581weblarge copy

Japanese Anemone

…   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …  …   …  …  …  …

Copyright © by Norma Chang. All Rights Reserved. Do not use/repost any photos and/or articles without permission.

Do visit Dave at Our Happy Acres for more Harvest Monday

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Container gardening, Cooking, dairy free, Flowers, Fruits, Gardening, Harvest Monday, potatoes, Uncategorized, Vegetables, window box gardening and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Harvest Monday, July 31, 2017 – Containers Gardening

  1. Angie@Angie's Recipes says:

    A great harvest, Norma. Those raspberries are so beautiful.

  2. Great looking onions Norma! I have struggled for years to grow big ones, so I am impressed for sure.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Dave,
      Thanks, from now on I will be growing all my onions in containers and since the deer do not bother onion plant I can place the containers anywhere.

  3. maryhysong says:

    Nice onions. I had some of my biggest ones ever this year also. Started seed in the fall. Love the raspberries. I don’t know, that looks like a good amount of potatoes for a container….

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Mary,
      I totally did not expect to get onions of those sizes. I really should get more than twice that amount of potatoes as the container was quite large.

  4. Margaret says:

    Congrats on the onion harvest!! I know 1st hand how wonderful it is to finally succeed at producing a good crop after a few failed attempts. And gorgeous raspberries – I finally got around to weeding and mulching the raspberry area and I’m hoping this will go a long way to a better harvest.

  5. Eva Taylor says:

    Your container veggies look fantastic! Surprised the bunnies didn’t figure out a way to ger to the raised beds, they are pretty resourceful guys!

  6. We’ve moved on from raspberries to blackberries. 🙂

  7. Chris Ferrero says:

    Hi, Norma! Can you tell me what you are “enriching” your potting soil with? I planted garlic in my Earth Boxes for the first time and they were disappointingly small heads. Thanks! Chris

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hi Chris,
      I remove about 1/3 of the old potting mix from each of the container, refill with fresh pro-mix or compost and well rotted cow manure (I use Moo-Doo from Adams) and top dress with organic granular fertilizer. I also add lime for crops that require a high pH.
      According to Cornell’s Vegetables Growing Guide, garlic prefer acidic soil so I add peat moss instead of pro-mix or compost to garlic containers.
      On the right hand side of my blog under “Blogroll” the link to Cornell University Gardening Resources will take you to the Vegetables Growing Guide. I find it very useful.
      When did you plant your garlic and how deep is your earth box? For growing garlic, container should be at least 12″ deep.

  8. Sophie says:

    Your Japanes anemone look very beautiful! My parents have plenty go them in their front garden! So pretty to look at too! 🙂

Leave a comment