Harvest Monday, July 17, 2017 – Containers Harvest

Container garlic ready for harvest.

DSC03555weblarge copy

Garlic growing in container

Pulled all the container garlic. After removing much of the soil all the plants were bundled together and are hanging in the shed to cure.

DSC03562weblarge copy

Notice how much smaller the head of garlic on the left is compared with the others? All the above garlic were grown in the same container under the same circumstance, the difference is I harvest the scapes from all the garlic plants except the one on the left. A lot of its energy went into the scape resulting in a smaller head of garlic.

Click here (and scroll down) for a tutorial on growing garlic in container.

Click here to learn about garlic scape.

∗ ∗ ∗

Pulled up the container onions whose tops had turned brown. Shook off the excess soil and spread them out on an open screen to dry in the shed.

DSC03548weblarge copy

They are of pretty decent sizes. The 3 larger ones weigh about 4 ounces each.

The remaining onions in the container continues to bulk up.

DSC03549weblarge copy

Onions growing in container

Will pull when the tops turn brown.

∗ ∗ ∗

Harvest a large bunch of Red Amaranth

DSC03552weblarge copy.jpg

Red Amaranth

Was going to make soup with the Red Amaranth, but while cleaning realized they were very tender so just wilted the cleaned amaranth (leaves and stems) in garlic infused oil, S&P to taste, simple and delicious.

I had over-sown the Red Amaranth and thin as the container gets overcrowded. The above is actually the 2nd thinning from the window box below.

DSC03535weblarge copy

Red Amaranth growing in window box

As you can see, Amaranth grows very well in window box.

Above photo, before thinning. Below photo, after thinning.

DSC03539weblarge copy

Red Amaranth growing in window box

Fertilized, after thinning, with liquid fish emulsion fertilizer. In a week or 2 I should be harvesting another thinning.

I also sowed Tri-color Amaranth on the same day as the Red Amaranth but have nothing to show, not even seedlings. There is a rabbit (rabbits?) with very selective preferences, the boxes with the Red Amaranth and Tri-color Amaranth are side-by-side but it ate only the Tri-color.

The rabbit/s also devoured most of the seedlings I transplanted in the containers (Bok Choys, Beet, Kale, Semi-heading Mustard, Lettuces, Celery …..). Fortunately I have extra seedlings for replacements but will need to elevate the containers.

DSC03533weblarge copy

Celery growing in container

I think the 2 celery plants on the left will regrow as the rabbit/s missed the tiny center leaf of each plant.

∗ ∗ ∗

Some of the Sugar Snap Peas seedlings at the edge of the container were also eaten.

DSC03544weblarge copy.jpg

Little Snap Crunch Peas growing in container

Since the missing seedlings are at the edge of the container I re-sowed in those spots and hopefully the seeds will germinate and grow well.

Adding insult to injury, one of the rabbits, after devouring my seedlings could not find its way out of the fenced in area and I had to release it.

I also have a deer parading along the garden fence daily, so far no damage. Trying to snap a photo but so far no luck.

…   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …  …   …  …  …  …

Copyright © by Norma Chang. All Rights Reserved. Do not use/repost any photos and/or articles without permission.

Do visit Dave at Our Happy Acres for more Harvest Monday

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Container gardening, Cooking, Gardening, Harvest Monday, Uncategorized, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Harvest Monday, July 17, 2017 – Containers Harvest

  1. I, too, have a rabbit in the garden. So far, no obvious damage, but I have new bean seedlings under a row cover to stop chipmunks from digging the seeds. Was planning to uncover them soon, but that might be a bad idea. Eventually the rabbit will grow too big to squeeze through the fence.

  2. Angie@Angie's Recipes says:

    Those amaranth leaves are looking pretty good!

  3. I knew cutting the scapes made for bigger garlic but I never saw the evidence! Of course eating the scapes is also another benefit. Too bad about the rabbit(s) – seems like something is always trying to eat our veggies.

  4. Eva Taylor says:

    Well, I can now admit that I am a total failure at container garlic. The 12+ that were planted, yielded only two tiny bulbs so sadly, I will admit defeat and pack it in. The figs, on a positive note are doing amazing. Can’t wait for them to grow and ripen. I happen to love bunnies, but I can totally understand your frustration with them.

  5. Chris Ferrero says:

    Loved the side-by-side comparison of garlic heads! So cutting those scapes truly matters to the plant…beyond the yummy stir-fry addition the scapes make. This is my second year growing garlic in a container, and I’m so glad I’ve now found the technique. Thanks for your sage advice!

  6. Truly nothing better than eating from your own garden. I am missing having more growing at home at the moment. When I next grow garlic, I will remember about the scapes.
    Have a super day Norma.
    🙂 Mandy xoxo

  7. Phuong says:

    It’s fantastic your container garlic and onions did so well. It looks like amaranth is a good green for hot summers, I tried to grow it a couple times in the desert but never got it to germinate.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Phoung,
      I do not have good germination when I direct sow amaranth seeds in the ground but good germination in containers. You may want to try sowing in container then transplant to garden.

  8. Sophie says:

    What a beautiful different harvest, dear Norma! I lóve it all! Waw! 👍🏻👍🏻

Leave a comment