Harvest Monday, May 25, 2015 – More Window Box Harvest + Soy Beans Seedlings + Chinese Long Beans Seedlings

More Window box harvest.

Johnny’s Happy Rich (F1) broccoli is a cross between broccoli and gailan (Chinese broccoli). Looks like miniature head of broccoli but has more of a gailan flavor. The entire stalk (stem, leaves and flower) is edible.

NOTE: Peel the lower part of the stem if it appears a bit woody.

happy rich ((F1) (07597)

Happy Rich (F1) Broccoli, 12 plants, in a 28-inch Window Box

happy rich (F1) (07601)

Happy Rich (F1) Broccoli after Harvesting

Fertilized with fish emulsion fertilizer after harvesting.

Started the seeds in cell pack indoor on 3/11, transplanted into 28-inch window box on 4/19. This was the first Happy Rich harvest. Got 1+ pound.

I prefer to cut about 7 inches of each stalk leaving 2 – 3 leaves on the remaining stalk of each plant. Nice size side shoots will appear thus extending the harvest. You could choose to harvest just the florets leaving each plant with a longer stalk. The plant will send out many more side shoots but they will be skinny.

happy rich (F1) & pea shoots (07608)

Happy Rich (F1) Broccoli Stalks, Leaves & Snap Pea Shoots

I cut the Happy Rich stems and leaves into bite-sized pieces and stir-fried with 2 thinly sliced walking onions (not in photo), couple slices of ginger in a bit of coconut oil, salt and pepper to taste and served as a side. It was tender and tasty. A keeper, planting 2 window boxes next year.

The pea shoots are side shoots after the 5/11/15 harvest. (Click on link and scroll down.) Some went into a salad, the rest are in the fridge. There is enough for a meal and I will most likely stir-fry them in the same manner as the Happy Rich and use as a side.

I prefer to treat my freshly harvested greens simple with minimal cooking. I am sure you have noticed that freshly harvested greens cook much quicker and are tastier than store bought ones but they do take a bit longer to clean.

∗ ∗ ∗

This is the 4th and last of the window box spinach harvest. Putting this window box to rest until fall planting.

spinach (07588)

Window Box Spinach

The window box spinach started to bolt so I pulled them all, got 8+ ounces. Look closely and you will see the flowers on the plants on the right in the above photo.

Made a spinach soup with tofu topped with a poached egg. Sorry no photo. Keep forgetting to take photos of the finished dishes before I dig in.

You see, after working in the garden and bringing in the harvest at the end of the day, I am starving, so after the meal is prepared I dive right in and thus no photo.

∗ ∗ ∗

Two years ago I experimented with starting my soy beans seeds in 4-inch pots and then transplant the seedlings into the garden. I was very pleased with the results, germination was good, the transplants did well and I got a head start. I also need not worry about birds and other critters feasting on my bean seeds.

Planting 3 different varieties this year – Black, Toyha and Besweet. All growing from self- saved seeds. Got the original Toyha and Besweet last year from Mary N of Mary’s Veggie Garden.

soy beans seedlings (07566)

Soy Beans Seedlings

soy beans seedlings (07585)

Soy Beans Seedlings

Seeds were sown in 4-inch pots, 9 seeds to a pot, on May 2, germinated on May 7. Was going away for a couple of days so took a chance and transplanted the seedlings into the garden on May 16. Sure glad they survived the 30+F nighttime temp we had Thursday night.

∗ ∗ ∗

Like the soy beans above, I also experimented with starting my Chinese Long Beans in 4-inch pots and also was pleased with the results.

This year I am growing 2 varieties, Green and Red Noodles. Also from self-saved seeds.

Chinese long beans are also known as yard long beans, asparagus beans and snake beans. Click here to learn more and a recipe.

Chinese long beans seedlings (07573)

Chinese Long Beans Seedlings

red noodles beans seedlings (07579)

Red Noodles Beans Seedlings

Seeds were sown in 4-inch pots, 9 seeds to a pot, on May 2, germinated on May 7. Also took a chance (even though I knew it was not a good idea) and transplanted the seedlings into the garden on May 16. They did not like the 30+F nighttime temp we had Thursday night. The Red Noodles appear to be hardier and may recover but will suffer a set back I am sure, the Green variety is less hardy, quite wilted and may not recover. Fortunately I have extra seeds and direct sowed yesterday.

I did dig up 15 plants each of the Green and the Red Noodles seedlings Thursday afternoon and kept them in the garage, they looked OK. Replanted them yesterday will let you know how they fare.

∗ ∗ ∗

Failed to photograph harvests are: lettuces, garlic greens and walking onions all from the garden. Garden is finally (though slowly) producing.

Container grown potatoes as well as the ones in the garden are growing very well. Completed a 3rd and final hilling. Looking forward to harvesting new potatoes.

This weather is driving me nuts, the high tomorrow is going to be 90F. Hoping for rain.

…   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …  …   …  …  …   …  …

Copyright © by Norma Chang. All Rights Reserved. Do not use/repost any photos and/or articles without permission.

Visit Daphne’s Dandelions http://daphnesdandelions.blogspot.com/ for more Harvest Mondays

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Cooking, Gardening, Harvest Monday, Vegetables, window box gardening and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to Harvest Monday, May 25, 2015 – More Window Box Harvest + Soy Beans Seedlings + Chinese Long Beans Seedlings

  1. Happy Memorial Day, Norma!
    What variety of spinach did you grow in your boxes? At Locust Grove, we pulled the Bloomsdale Long Standing as flowers were starting to form, but the Viroflay still looks good. We’ll see how those look after another bout of hot weather this week!

  2. Your spinach soup with tofu and a poached egg sounds amazing. Eggs really are the business. 🙂 I sure do wish I had access to all the deliciousness in your garden, it looks so healthy and vibrant mad yummy!

  3. Your garden produces so much food because you plan it so well and keep such accurate records. I’ve learned so much from you!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Maureen,
      Thanks, you made my day. I am really not a planner nor do I keep accurate records regularly, but I am trying.
      We learn from each other.

  4. That Happy Rich sure looks good! I grew it last year and it did well here, though not as pretty as yours. I may try it again this fall. I’ve never started beans indoors but I know others presprout them so it makes sense to sow them in pots.

  5. Everything looks so good! I’ve never thought about sowing beans in pots and then transplanting, but that sounds like a great idea. And I agree about simple cooking for vegetables, it nice to have just enough seasoning to bring out the flavor of the veggies but not overtake their flavor with something else.

  6. Margaret says:

    I SO hear you on the weather – the temperature swings lately are crazy! I’m loving the Happy Rich broccoli too – that spacing is really tight & I’m thinking that it would make a great, closely spaced crop in a raised bed. The typical broccoli spacing is so large that I can only fit a handful of plants into the spot I’ve allocated for them in the bed.

    I’ve avoided starting beans indoors as I thought it would take up so much space, but planting 9 plants in a 4″ pot is definitely manageable – I guess they don’t mind having their roots disturbed when you have to split them apart when you transplant them?

  7. Kristy says:

    Happy Memorial Day! I hope you’re having a great weekend! Your spinach looks fantastic! I’m amazed it grows so well in a window box. We’re hoping to get some flowers and tomatoes today. 🙂

  8. Angie@Angie's Recipes says:

    I didn’t realize that you can grow broccoli in box. Always thought it would require lots of space. Those long bean seedlings are looking pretty healthy!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Angie,
      The plants of Happy Rich broccoli is not as large as the regular broccoli, they are more like the size of Chinese broccoli and therefore suitable for window box or other kind of containers.

  9. Lou Murray says:

    I love it that you are growing things in containers. It shows people some of the possibilities. I helped my grandchildren set up container gardens in San Diego, and their harvests are topping mine. They are getting strawberries, Lebanese squash, cucumbers, deer-tonguelettuce, radishes, and carrots with other crops coming along. My little granddaughter Megan even grew corn in a container when she was in kindergarten, hand pollinating her four stalks in case the stand wasn’t dense enough to get fertilization. She got corn! This year she is in first grade and is experimenting with growing watermelon. Three-year-old Mike planted, tended, and harvested radishes. He was thrilled.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Lou,
      How lovely that you are teaching your grandchildren the joy of gardening. Maybe you could do a post as I am sure many bloggers with grandchildren would love to do what you are doing with your grandchildren.

  10. small kucing says:

    lovely garden you have there.

    My chinese Long beans were attacked by black ants. trying to rescue them now daily. Can’t spray neem oil coz it kills the plant 😦

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Kucing,
      Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to leave a comment. Sorry to hear about your Chinese long bean plants, hope you are able to rescue them. I did not know black ants attack Chinese long beans.

  11. Linda says:

    So lovely, Norma. There is nothing better than fresh produce! 🙂

  12. hotlyspiced says:

    The spinach looks so good and you certainly had a great harvest. I love the sound of the spinach soup with a poached egg. I’m looking forward to seeing the potato harvest xx

  13. Eva Taylor says:

    The weather is totally crazy! Toronto’s temperatures stayed above freezing on Friday night but up at the cottage it actually went down to -7C (19.4F)! You’re getting some good harvests Norma, it’s still quite early in the season. Do walking onions taste differently than regular onions?

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Eva,
      That’s winter weather, -7C, do you keep a set of winter clothing at the cottage?
      Walking onions is like scallion/bunching onions, taste a bit stronger that scallion but very pleasant, I like it a lot. Use, green and white parts, in place of scallion even onion.

  14. daphnegould says:

    I’m way too lazy to start beans indoors. But the good thing is if they die from being planted too early it is really easy to redo them. Right now we are getting such hot weather. I only planted my beans two days ago. I’m sure they will be really happy with out too hot weather. I’m not. I hate having to hide indoors.

  15. Broccoli and spinach are my favorite veggies, so when I saw you growing them I got so excited. I think I will take your advice and think about growing inside my apartment. I love this Ms. Norma.

  16. Lovely seeing some broccoli being picked by you! Our heads have started but now it’s a race until they bolt. It’s been a hot last week so hopefully it cools down so the broccoli has a few more weeks to grow!

  17. Juliana says:

    OMG Norma, I love your window box harvest, as you inspired me to have some at my balcony and I hope to share with you soon…
    Have a great day 🙂

  18. I haven’t been able to visit my favorite bloggers, you being one of those! I love that you’re still pottering away growing such beautiful rich veggies! The flavors must be fantastic when you stir-fry them that way!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Barbara,
      Time seems to be flying by faster and faster, hard to believe June 1 is only 2 days away, impossible to do all we wish to do daily. Thanks for considering me one of your favorite bloggers. Yes, I am still pottering away and focusing more on container gardening.

  19. To have fresh broccoli must be wonderful and not to mention that it’s such a healthy veggie! As usually, your harvest is beautiful!

  20. hmm, isn’t it too early to harvest the broccoli norma ?

  21. Your gailan looks so tender, bright green and delicious. Actually, all your veggies look so nice. I can’t wait to see how your red long beans are doing. I just bought some at the market to make a dry bean and pork stirfry, so nice. They seem to be a little more tender the green long bean variety. Happy harvesting and cooking!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Bam,
      There are quite a few varieties of the green Chinese long beans, some more tender that other, some crispier and some are chewy. Try different vendor to see who carries the ones you like best.

  22. Pingback: Harvest Monday, June 8, 2015 – Container/Window Box Gardening | Garden to Wok

  23. HN says:

    Hi Norma,
    Are the leaves of kohlrabi edible? Thank you.

Leave a comment