Harvest Monday, May 18, 2015 – Yellow Chives + More Window Box Harvests + Overwintered Crops

I did it! For years I have meant to blanch my Chinese chives, but was always too late in remembering to place a container over the chives clump before the weather gets too hot, this year I was on time and got a harvest of yellow (blanched Chinese) chives.

To Blanch Chinese Chives:
Decide which clump/s of Chinese chives you are going to blanch.
Harvest (cut) the green Chinese chives at ground level (my Chinese chives were just emerging nothing to harvest so I placed a clay pot over the clump).
Place a large container/pot over the cut clump (the container/pot should be at least 12 inches tall and make sure to cover any holes)
Yellow (blanched Chinese) chives should be ready in about 10 days, sooner if the weather is hot, longer if the weather is cold.

NOTE: Blanching weakens the clump. The next season choose another clump/s to blanch allowing this season blanched clump/s to recover and grow robust again.

To Use Yellow (blanched Chinese) Chives:
Peel off, if any, the thin layer at the bottom of each stem and snip off any dry or brown ends on the top. Rinse and cut into desired length.
Yellow chives are milder and sweeter in flavor than the green Chinese chives and can be used as a substitute in stir-fries, soups, salads …

blanched Chinese chives (07529)

Left, Green (standard) Chinese (garlic) Chives. Right, Yellow (blanched Chinese) Chives

I combined both the green and yellow Chinese chives above and used as a substitute for the onion and scallion in a Sweet Potato Noodles Stir Fried with Chicken & Veggies dish. Click here for recipe.

∗ ∗ ∗

After last week’s thinning and having more room to grow, both the Shanghai Bok Choy and Baby Bok Choy took off.

bok choy (07536)

Top, Shanghai Bok Choy. Bottom, Baby Bok Choy

Unfortunately last week’s weather was very erratic. Beginning of the week I had my air condition going, by Wednesday I had my heat on (night time temp was in the low 40’s). This caused the both bok choy to bolt. So I had to harvest all.

Shanghaia bok choy)

Shanghai Bok Choy

Harvest over 1¼ pounds of Shanghai Bok Choy.

baby bok choy (07542)

Baby Bok Choy

Harvest over 1¼ pounds of Baby Bok Choy also. Look closely and you will see flowers appearing in the center of the bok choy.

∗ ∗ ∗

Lettuces in the garden are ready for harvesting so decided to harvest all the lettuces in the window boxes.

lettuce (07541)

Window Box Lettuces

Harvest 1+ pounds of lettuces.

Both Bok Choys and all the lettuces went home with my kids.

∗ ∗ ∗

Volunteer mustard are appearing and growing well in the garden.

mustard (07557)

Volunteer Green Mustard

Because of the erratic weather, the mustard are bolting also, should harvest before the flowers appear.

∗ ∗ ∗

Last of the overwintered crops

overwintered crops (07563)

Leeks, Chicory, Kale Flowers, Red Rib Dandelion & 3 Tiny Celeriac

The leeks are sweet and tender, a few started to send out scape so had to harvest plus I need the space for my Peppermint Swiss Chard seedlings.

The kale flowers are from last year’s overwintered kale. I combined them (stems, leaves & flowers) with other veggies in a stir fry.

I am very pleased with the red rib dandelion. It is a perennial and has been coming up every year since I planted it few year ago. Adds a nice color to salads, has a slight bitter but pleasant taste.

The 3 celeriac are tiny but has a very lovely celery flavor. I missed them when I harvested the others.

Cut the chicory into bite-sized pieces sauteed in a bit of oil and garlic and a pinch of salt. Very tasty.

overwintered chicory (07552)

Chicory

After harvesting the chicory heads last fall I left the roots in the ground and mulched with leaves. Side shoots started to grow few weeks ago but will not form heads.

…   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …  …   …

Copyright © by Norma Chang. All Rights Reserved. Do not use/repost any photos and/or articles without permission.

Visit Daphne’s Dandelions http://daphnesdandelions.blogspot.com/ for more Harvest Mondays

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Container gardening, Cooking, Gardening, Harvest Monday, Recipes, window box gardening and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Harvest Monday, May 18, 2015 – Yellow Chives + More Window Box Harvests + Overwintered Crops

  1. I have never heard about blanching Chinese chives before Norma. How very intriguing. Love learning something new.
    Have a wonderful and happy day.
    🙂 Mandy xo

  2. Hi, Norma- Love your blanched chives! I’ll have to try them myself to decide if they are worth the effort. I wonder if our spinach at LG is starting to bolt– we may be adding spinach harvest to Thursday’s list!

  3. Angie@Angie's Recipes says:

    When did I last time see some yellow chives!!??? wow…I need to plant some next year too.

  4. Eva Taylor says:

    I can’t believe you have so much to harvest so soon! Our weather is crazy too, we had the A/C on and heat a couple of days later too. It’s getting hot and humid but I’m not complaining.
    I found an interesting strobe light on the net which migh help with your deer issues, I’ll email you the link. We have raccoon issues. I’ve tried a disgusting soup of cayenne, onion spray but they got used to it (I doubt I’m that good a cook that they liked it!!!) we’ve got the lights on all night and the radio on outside to help deter them. I’ve bought a high pitched alarm but my hubby won’t let me install it because of the extreme noise. It would totally scare the bijeebers out of them!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Eva,
      Most are from my window boxes. Going to try planting in the window boxes earlier next year so I can get harvest sooner.
      Thanks for the strobe light info. I have tried just about everything, worked for a short while and then the deer figure a way to get around it, they are just too smart.

  5. kim says:

    Nice harvest Norma! I have my two square foot gardens going but half of the seedlings drowned last week when tropical storm Ana dropped over 5 inches of rain on us! Time to plant some more seeds since it is still easy in the season. Happy Gardening~

  6. Kristy says:

    It looks like your garden is thriving right now Norma! Look at all those greens! I didn’t realize you could blanch chives. They look beautiful and I bet the color contrast between the two in the stir fry was pretty. Have a lovely week and here’s to a little less erratic weather!

  7. Jennifer says:

    Wow, I cannot believe how much of a harvest you have! Everything looks so beautiful.

  8. Everything looks so fresh! I’ve never heard about yellow chives. Now I’m curious and will see if I can get it. 🙂

  9. Margaret says:

    Such wonderful harvests, Norma, and congrats on those blanched chives! I had no idea that leeks could overwinter in our climate – when did you plant them & did you use protection? The few leeks I grew that have survived transplanting are looking so tiny, that I doubt they will get to a good size by the fall.

  10. mac says:

    Abundance harvest, congrats on the the blanched chives!

  11. Blanching chives is a new one for me too. I let my Chinese chives go to seed a few years back and they have been volunteering ever since, usually where they are not wanted. Too bad about the bolting veggies but they are easily confused by the changes in weather. That’s one reason I don’t grow the heading Napa cabbages, because they always bolt on my. My Mei Qing choy is holding on so far and not bolting.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Dave,
      The chives flower while still at the bud stage is delicious quite pricey at our farmers’ market. I should go back to growing Mei Qing choy as they are not as fussy about weather.

  12. Your bok choy looks so healthy, it is one of my favourite vegetables 😀
    Lovely fresh photos!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  13. Your garden is thriving. You have a green thumb that is for sure. I love how delicious your lettuces look. You are going to have a great her eat this year

  14. Sorry Norma the crazy 30 x bus driver knocked me off my feet mid sentence. It is supposed to say great harvest. I don’t need to explain about how badly they drive here…lol

  15. Juliana says:

    I love seeing your window box harvest…such a great inspiration…I have never seen yellow chives…so interesting the whole process.
    Have a great week Norma 🙂

  16. hotlyspiced says:

    It’s all looking a lot like Spring has arrived. I do love all the images of all the green, green, green produce. I do hope you have a wonderful and bountiful summer season of produce xx

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Charlie,
      Yes, spring has arrived, finally. I am looking forward to a bountiful crop, hope the critters and weather don’t mess things up too much.

  17. daphnegould says:

    What lovely bok choy and so nice to get all those over wintered vegetables. I pulled up the last of mine yesterday.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Daphne,
      I am getting better looking veggies from my window boxes than my garden, guess the bugs have not discovered my window boxes yet and hoping they never do.

  18. I always learn something new here Ms. Norma. I had no idea there were yellow chives. Now I’m interested in possibly cooking with them. Great post.

  19. Our bok choy is huge right now, we have 7 heads that are about 3x my actual head! I’ll be picking them this week and making a bunch of soups. I’m thinking a salted bok choy and pork soup is order. Great looking harvest Norma!

  20. How clever to blanche chives. I think this is a great idea. Your bok choy is really healthy and I’m sure delicious.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Maureen,
      The idea wasn’t mine, someone else thought of it umpteen years ago. The bok choy went home with my kids and they told me it was delicious.

  21. Never had any yellow chives before, tempting to try!!!

  22. Linda says:

    Wonderful post, Norma, and your photos are lovely!!! 🙂

  23. Oooh, I’ve not blanched chives before, nor have I seen the yellow ones. Going to ask around next weekend at the farmers markets. Your happy garden makes me forget just how miserable and cold it is outside today, its so lovely to see you enjoying the Spring….. Tis the best time of year I reckon.

Leave a Reply

