Harvest Monday, June 8, 2015 – Container/Window Box Gardening

This post is all about container/window box gardening. Very pleased with the harvests from my containers and window boxes this year.

Container fig tree is happy and continues to grow by leaps and bounds every year.

container fig tree (07769)

Container Fig Tree

Fig tree is getting too large for its winter storage space will need to perform major pruning (reducing the overall size by ¼ or more) after all the figs are harvested in the fall.

baby figs (IMG_0820)

Baby Figs

There is a fig at the base of every leaf, looking forward to a bountiful fig harvest from my lush fig tree.

∗ ∗ ∗

All the vegetables growing in containers, window boxes and foam ice chests are healthy and co-existing happily with the shrubs and perennials.

potato & early white vienna kohlrabi (07722)

Clockwise starting at lower left: Snap Peas, Calabrese Broccoli, Potatoes, Little Finger Carrot and Early White Vienna Kohlrabi

The Early White Vienna Kohlrabi should be ready in a week or so.

∗ ∗ ∗

potatoes & kohlribi (07718)

Potato (in foam ice chest) & Purple Kolibri Kohlrabi (in window box)

Harvested the 3 large purple kolibri (one was camera shy)

purple kolibri kohlrabi (07760)

Purple Kolibri Kohlrabi

Made a stir-fry with the kolibri and ground pork. (I was making ground pork and decided to use some of it for the stir-fry. My meat grinder has 2 different size disc – regular ground and coarse ground, I used the latter. The white cubes in the photo below are the kolibri)

This is what I did:
Marinated the ground pork with a bit of light color soy sauce (or tamari), Shao Hsing wine (or pale dry sherry), fresh ginger, sesame oil and maple syrup.
Cubed the tofu and marinated in mushroom dark soy sauce (use regular soy sauce or tamari if dark soy sauce is unavailable, color of tofu will be lighter)
Peeled & cubed kolibri and carrot. Slant cut the garlic greens.

To Cook:
Add 1 – 2 TBS oil to preheated wok or frying pan, add ground pork, stir-fry until pork is partially cooked. Add all veggies, stir-fry until reached desired doneness and pork is cooked. Stir in tofu, stir-fry, gently, until tofu is heated through, add broth if needed for gravy. Thicken with cornstarch mixture if needed. Plate and garnish with toasted black and white sesame seeds (optional). Serve with rice or in lettuce cups.

Variations: Add hoisin sauce and or chili sauce to the marinated pork.

sir-fried kolibri w pork & tofu (07765)

Stir-fried Kohlrabi, Carrots, Garlic Green, Ground Pork & Marinated Tofu

The plated dish (which I neglected to photo) was garnished with toasted black and white sesame seeds.

And guess what?

kolibri (07811)

Kolibri eaten by critter

A critter decided it likes Kolibri kohlrabi also.

∗ ∗ ∗

Surprised to see the Adirondack Red Potato in the foam ice chest flowering already.

potato flowers (07776)

Flowering Adirondack Red Potato in the foam ice chest

∗ ∗ ∗

All the pea plants, and other cool weather plants also, are loving the cool weather we had this past week.

snap peas in window box (07778)

Window Box Snap Peas

pea shoots (07789)

Pea Shoots

Window box snap peas are still providing many tender pea shoots.

∗ ∗ ∗

Happy Rich Broccoli sending out healthy side shoots.

happy rich broccoli side shoots (07786)

Side Shoots of Happy Rich Broccoli

There is a side shoot at the base of each leaf left on the plant after the 5/25/15 harvest.

∗ ∗ ∗

The peonies in my garden are just gorgeous.

peonies (07758)

Heirloom Peony from Locust Grove, Poughkeepsie, NY

heirloom peony (07805)

heirloom peony (07757)

heirloom peony (07809)

heeirloom peony (02993)

All the above Peonies are heirloom varieties I got from Locust Grove many years ago.

∗ ∗ ∗

Each year, during September, Locust Grove’s heirloom peony divisions are available for purchase at the Locust Grove gift shop. Each division has at least 3 buds to ensure spring flowering. Proceeds from the sale support the gardens.

For exact date and time, call 845-454-4500.

…   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …  …   …  …  …   …  …

Copyright © by Norma Chang. All Rights Reserved. Do not use/repost any photos and/or articles without permission.

Visit Daphne’s Dandelions http://daphnesdandelions.blogspot.com/ for more Harvest Mondays

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Container gardening, Gardening, Harvest Monday, Locust Grove, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Harvest Monday, June 8, 2015 – Container/Window Box Gardening

  1. Angie@Angie's Recipes says:

    wow…those purple kohlrabi look so beautiful. What did you do with kohlrabi leaves?

  2. I so enjoy your Monday posts Norma. So strange to think our fig tree has lost all of its leave for winter and yours has sprung to life.
    Have a beautiful week ahead.
    🙂 Mandy xo

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Mandy,
      I did not realize your fig tree shed its leaves during your mild winter for some reason I thought it grew year round, learn something new.

  3. Kristy says:

    I always love the peony shots. My grandma had them and they bring back a flood of memories with her. Your heirloom variety look just like hers.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Kristy,
      Am glad my peonies bring back fond memories with your Grandma. Perhaps you could get a few divisions from her plants and plant them at your home.

  4. That is a big fig tree! I’ll bet it is heavy to haul around too. I really like the sound of that stir fry. What cut of pork do you grind up for the ground pork?

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Dave,
      My son-in-law built a little platform with wheels for me to use when I am ready to move the whole thing.
      I use sirloin cutlets for making ground pork. Every so frequently Hannaford supermarket (don’t know if it is in your area) has it on sale and that’s when I stock up.

  5. Susie says:

    I have a fig tree (potted) in its 3rd year, but no signs of a fig yet. But yours is considerably larger. I’m not sure how much longer I should wait before giving up on it?!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Susie,
      Did you start your fig tree from cutting or side shoot, if so it will take longer to bear fruit. Fig requires a high pH, give it some lime or place a piece of cinder block on the soil surface, also fertilize and do not allow the soil to dry out, notice I have a tub under my container. Don’t give up. When my fig tree was given to me it was already a few years old and I have it for over 10 years.

  6. Echo Wu says:

    Hi Norma,
    We had your purple kohlrabi and it was delicious! Thank you! This past weekend we had moved our garden to the side of the house as you have recommended. It was a lot of work but I am very happy with it. I am also relieved that the tomato plants were transplanted successfully. Thank you for the recommendation!

  7. daphnegould says:

    I don’t have any peonies in the garden, but a lot of the neighbors have them, so I get to enjoy them on my walks. Lovely kohlrabi. Too bad a critter got one. My critter seems to have moved on to better pastures. I hope he stays there and doesn’t come back.

  8. Daisy says:

    All of this looks delicious. I love the idea of mixing kale with flowers – it’ll be so pretty! I have a few containers left to fill, and that may be the way I go.

  9. dvelten says:

    You are a wiz with the containers, Norma. I have a self-watering planter I started using for lettuce so I can just go out the back door and pick a salad or some parsley. But I am amazed at what you are growing in them.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello David,
      I never tried a self-watering planter, do you like yours? Many gardeners I know had to downsize and now lack garden area reason I am experimenting with different variety of containers to learn what is doable and what is not so I can pass on the knowledge.

  10. Such beautiful produce and flowers! 🙂

  11. hotlyspiced says:

    That was a very hungry critter that ate your kohlrobi. They are such a pretty colour yet the colour isn’t there when they’re cooked. I love the sound of your stir-fry xx

  12. I just love that fig tree. And I absolutely love the snap peas. I had some fresh ones last week and they were so amazing. I must pick some up again at the farmers market. Great post Ms. Norma.

  13. Juliana says:

    Wow Norma, so many window box harvest…I had no idea that you could plant so many varieties in these little boxes…thanks for the inspiration!
    Have a wonderful week 🙂

  14. You have a fig tree? Holy wow, you must be the most popular house on the street.
    Snap peas are so good …. and those Peony pics, so pretty! 🙂

  15. wow,mt window boxes looks like nothing compare to yours Norma, good job!!!

  16. Sophie33 says:

    Hey Norma,
    I am also growing purple kohlrabi’s this year! Mine are still very small. They are doing great though! Yummy different harvests! I had in total already 100 sugar snap peas! 🙂 yes! In the full ground!

  17. Pingback: Monday Recap: Billed Out, But Inspired | Our Happy Acres

Leave a Reply

