Sugar Snap Peas & Chayote Stir-Fry

I know, I know. I had promised in my 3/15/13 post that there will be no more chayote recipes. (To learn about chayote click here.)

Meant to keep my promise, but a friend gave me some lovely sugar snap peas and I happened to have a chayote in the fridge.

Wondered if these 2 items would work well together?????

Did a stir-fry and really liked the combination. Decided to share the results with you. So here is one more chayote recipe.

Chayote & Sugar Snap Peas

SUGAR SNAP PEAS & CHAYOTE STIR-FRY (serves 2 – 3)

Ingredients
½ pound chicken, beef or pork, thinly sliced (I used pork)
1 – 2 tablespoons hoisin sauce
½ – ¾ teaspoon kosher salt (see NOTE)
 ½ teaspoon honey or light brown sugar
Sugar snap peas & chayote 1 tablespoon ginger wine or pale dry sherry
2 – 3 slices ginger, fresh or from ginger wine
1 clove garlic minced
1 teaspoon cornstarch
1 – 2 teaspoons Asian sesame oil
Combine all the above ingredients. Can be done the day before and kept refrigerated.
1 chayote, peeled and thinly sliced
6 – 8 ounces sugar snap peas or snow peas
½ – 1 red onion, cut into strips (pole to pole)
1 teaspoon kosher salt or to taste
freshly ground pepper to taste
1 – 3 tablespoons pistachio nuts
¼ cup chicken broth combined with 2 teaspoon cornstarch
2 tablespoons oil

Preparations
1. Add 1 tablespoon oil to preheated wok or frying pan. Add salt, chayote, sugar snap peas  and onion. Stir-fry until peas turns bright green and chayote reached desired doneness (I like it to still have some crunch). Remove to clean plate and set aside.
2. Add 1 tablespoon oil to wok or frying pan. Add chicken/beef/pork, stir-fry, using high heat until cooked.
3. Add chayote and sugar snap. Mix well. Give broth and cornstarch mixture a stir, add to wok, mix well, bring to a boil, salt and pepper to taste. Stir in pistachio nuts. Serve with white or brown rice.

NOTE:
Substitute: 1½ teaspoons dark or mushroom dark soy sauce for the kosher salt. If you like your meat to have a darker color.

VARIATIONS
Substitute: 1 – 2 tablespoons oyster sauce or soy sauce (regular or gluten free) for the hoisin sauce
Add: 1 – 3 teaspoons curry powder
Add: Asian chili sauce or fresh chili peppers to taste if you like a spicy dish.

Vegetarian Alternative
Substitute: Marinated tofu (click here for recipe) for the chicken, beef or pork

…   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …  …   …

Copyright © by Norma Chang. All Rights Reserved. Do not use/repost any photos and/or articles without permission.

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Recipes, Tofu and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Sugar Snap Peas & Chayote Stir-Fry

  1. That stir fry looks so inviting AND healthy. You make the best food, Norma!

  2. pooks says:

    I have a recipe for chayote (which are called merlitons in Louisiana) out of the legendary River Road Recipes (well, legendary around these parts) if you’re interested. Cajun, and very tasty!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Pooks,
      Oh yes, please share the recipe.

      • pooks says:

        Stuffed Mirlitons (I spelled it wrong before)
        ~~~~~
        4 large mirlitons
        1 large or 2 small onions, chopped
        1 large garlic clove, minced
        1/2 cup chopped celery
        3 T oil
        3/4 pound fresh (cooked) shrimp or ground pork or ground beef
        1/2 cup grated sharp cheese
        1/4 cup buttered bread crumbs
        Salt, pepper and cajun seasoning to taste
        ~~~~~~~~~~~
        Parboil mirlitons until almost tender. (I steamed them.)
        Cut in half and scoop out meat.
        Set aside and saute onion and garlic in heavy skillet until transparent. If using ground beef or pork, add and cook, adding celery near the end and cook until tender. Don’t forget salt, pepper and cajun seasoning to taste. (If you don’t have any, it’s primarily red pepper and garlic powder with salt. There are other things, but that’s the easiest substitute.)
        Mash mirlitons, add to mixture in skillet (add shrimp now if using it). Add 1/2 cheese, mix until lightly blended.
        Fill shells, cover with remaining cheese and bread crumbs and bake in moderate oven (350) until crumbs are browned.

        This is an old recipe from the original River Road Recipes of the Junior League of Baton Rouge, Louisiana in 1959. I tried it with ground beef and was surprised how tasty it was. The sweetish mirlitons and savory stuffing were a nice contrast, and I don’t remember the last time I topped something with buttered bread crumbs. Crunchy on top just added to the flavors.

      • Norma Chang says:

        Hello Pooks,
        This sounds absolutely delicious. I am sure many of my readers will enjoy this recipe. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Daphne says:

    It looks delicious.

  4. Looks great Norma! Don’t mind another chayote recipe, but you know, ever since you started posting these, I’ve realised that I haven’t seen any chayotes in my market. There used to be everywhere in Texas, but I am gong to have to actively search for these in Colorado. Thanks!

    Nazneen

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Naznee,
      I hope you find chayote in Colorado. Where in Colorado are you? Do you have a Whole Foods or Traders Joe in your area? They most likely will carry chayote.

  5. Kristy says:

    I don’t know why, but I’ve never thought to use sugar snap peas in a stir fry. I use them in salads all the time. I’m going to have to try that and see if the kids will enjoy it. 🙂 Have a great weekend Norma!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Kristy,
      Stir-frying sugar snap peas briefly brings out the sweetness. If your kids make it themselves they will enjoy it. A great weekend to you and your family too.

  6. Kim says:

    Hi Norma, it looks yummy and I love that you write just like you talk :0)
    Happy Spring!

  7. I’m really dying to try chayote now! This dish looks incredible!

  8. Hotly Spiced says:

    It’s great that you’re finding so many great ways to cook a vegetable that many just don’t know what to do with xx

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Charlie,
      I just happened to be in one of those experimental groove. Love it when this happens, ideas just seems to popped into my head. Wish it would happen more frequently.

  9. ChgoJohn says:

    I certainly don’t cannot tell how this stir-fry tastes, Norma, but if it tastes half as good as it looks, you’ve got quite a dish here. Then again, you stir-fries always look so fresh and colorful. You really do know how to create a tasty and beautiful dish.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello John,
      Thanks. I do a lot of stir-fries because that’s the quickest way to get a healthy meal to the table. I believe you do a lot of this in your culture also just that you call it by a different name – saute.

  10. Eha says:

    How fabulous! Oh yes, use sugar snaps all the time [just bought a big tray yesterday], but have never thought of combining them with the ‘humble’ or not so choko!! Great recipe I shall most definitely try!! Have to laugh at Charlie’s comment: agree 🙂 !

  11. I love veggie stir fry! Healthy and full of flavors. Give me a bowl of rice and I’m a happy gal! 🙂

  12. Looks like a fabulous meal Norma.
    🙂 Mandy xo

  13. Diana says:

    It happens to be chayote season here. Thank you for sharing this yummy recipe.

  14. Ooh, I need to eat some of that delicious looking stir-fry!

  15. The stir-fry looks very delicious and appetizing with tender meat and veggies.

  16. Sophie33 says:

    What a lovely stir-fry! I just received a new wok for my Birthday & this is the 1st redipe that I will use it for! It looks delish! Yummmm! x

  17. This dish looks delicious and I love how the snap peas liven up the plate with color! Yum.

  18. wok with ray says:

    I love chayote and especially if it’s posted by you, Norma! I may even post a dish one of these days. Love the combination of chayote and snap peas on your stir fry. 🙂

  19. I will never tire of you chayote recipes. 🙂

  20. Pingback: Farmers Market Pasta | from the Bartolini kitchens

  21. Pingback: Harvest Monday June 13, 2016 – First Harvests | Garden to Wok

Leave a comment