Harvest Monday, September 8, 2014 – Chinese Long Beans + San Marzano Tomatoes + Ping Tung Egplants + Figs

Thank you dear readers for your get well wishes. My shoulder is much, much better, not 100% but getting there. If only I can remember not to overdo things.

We had about an inch of rain on Sunday, 8/31, followed by hot weather this past week, the crops, especially the heating loving ones, took off.

 Chinese long beans (06719)

Chinese Long Beans – Green & Red Noodles
 One Snow Peas & 2 Sugar Snap Peas

Heat loving Chinese long beans flourished, the above is only part of the week’s harvest.

Cut into about 1½ inch length, blanch and froze for winter use. To learn about Chinese long beans and recipes, click here.

Something is wrong with my snow peas and sugar snap peas plants. They are only about 18 inches tall but flowering and producing (quite small) peas pods.

◊ ◊ ◊

san marzano tomato (06741)

 

San Marzano Tomatoes
The above is one day’s harvest

tomato sauce IMG_0541weblarge

The above basket of tomatoes plus the rest of the week’s harvest were used to make a batch of tomato sauce using the Classic Tomato Sauce recipe from the Meatball Shop cookbook. Click here for the original recipe. I substituted my fresh San Marzano tomatoes for the boxed/canned tomatoes called for in the recipe. Cooled and froze for later use.

◊ ◊ ◊

Ping Tung eggplant (06731)

Ping Tung Eggplants

The eggplants were so fresh and tender decided to just cut into bite-sized pieces and make a simple braise with leek and garlic. Seasoned with S&P, light soy sauce, Shao Hsing wine, a little broth and white miso. Was delicious but not a pretty dish, so no photo.

To learn more about Ping Tung eggplant and a recipe, click here.

Ping Tung eggplant (06733)

 Eggplant (tall large leaf plant in center of photo) among annuals

The 2 lighter colored eggplants with the greener calyx in the previous photo were grown in the ground among my annuals. They (the fruits) were at the lower part of the plant  and shaded from the sun by the annuals. Wondered if that is why they have lighter color. The one at the bottom was grown in a container and exposed to full sun.

◊ ◊ ◊

figs (06704)

Figs
Part of a day’s harvest, I needed a larger container. 
Did not expect so many ripe figs all at once from my one container grown tree.

Greek yogurt & fruits (06728)

Greek Yogurt with Figs, Strawberries & Peaches
(Not a good photo, need to take some food styling lessons from my food stylist blogging friend, Eva of Kitchen Inspirations)

Tossed cut up figs, strawberries and peaches with Greek yogurt. Garnished with blackberry and chocolate mint. The fruits were so sweet no sweetener was needed. (Glad I tasted before adding honey.) The peach was from a friend everything else came from my garden. Wanted to add lemon zest but I don’t have a lemon tree and forgot to pick up lemons when I went shopping.

 …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …  …   … Copyright © by Norma Chang. All Rights Reserved. Do not use/repost any photos and/or articles without permission.

Visit Daphne’s Dandelions http://daphnesdandelions.blogspot.com/ for more Harvest Mondays

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Fruits, Gardening, Harvest Monday, Recipes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to Harvest Monday, September 8, 2014 – Chinese Long Beans + San Marzano Tomatoes + Ping Tung Egplants + Figs

  1. daphnegould says:

    Lovely harvests. I keep waiting on my fig tree. So far no signs of ripening. I hope they do it soon. Last year they ripened a few in October so they weren’t all that sweet. I’d love it if they could ripen some in September when it is warmer.

  2. Your tomato sauce looks lovely Norma and your eggplant dish sounds so tasty – I love where your eggplant is planted – so pretty amongst your annuals. I love your figs and how you served them.
    have a happy week ahead.
    🙂 Mandy xo

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Mandy,
      Thanks. I going to plant eggplant and peppers among my annuals again next year I love how they look among the annuals, the only problem is with the harvest as there are so many bees among the flowers but I found if I harvest very early in the morning I am safe from bee stings as the bees are not yet active. A happy week to you too.

  3. Angie@Angie's Recipes says:

    wow homegrown figs!! You are amazing! Love those purple red long beans.

  4. Beautiful figs! Your tree must really be doing well. I need to consider going to container planting figs instead of in the ground. I think they would be more productive for me that way.

  5. Everything looks so fresh and beautiful, but I envy your fresh figs the most. The ones I buy at the store is just not it…

  6. echolulu says:

    Your tomato sauce looks delicious. I bought a box of tomatoes from Obercreek CSA farm last week when I picked up my share to make sauce for winter. The tomatoes were mostly striped German variety which were very good fresh and also in eggs with tomato dish. I am saving the seeds for next year!

  7. Greetings Norma, I too loveeeee figs and made a Figs & Honey Galette recently (Posted on Tasty Kitchen.com); it reminded me of a huge Fig Newton Cookie! HeHe Cheryl.

  8. Your Tomato Sauce is gorgeous! You used the best tomatoes for a sauce. Look at your figs! They look equally as delicious!

  9. Maureen | Orgasmic Chef says:

    Everything in your kitchen looks amazing, Norma. I’m gobsmacked by the number of figs from a container tree!

  10. Those figs look fantastic.

  11. How big and deep a container do you need for a container-grown fig tree, Norma? I would love to have one, especially if I could get one to bear like yours does.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Sharyn,
      The container my fig tree is growing in measures 20″x20″x17″ (deep) and the tree is now over 5 feet tall. Started out with a much smaller container. Figs are very easy to grow and maintain, just make sure the soil does not dry out.

  12. P.S. Your tomato sauce looks gorgeous, too — all of my tomatoes are still green, but we are getting sunny afternoons now, so they might ripen — if not, I’ll make something out of green tomatoes.

  13. Margaret says:

    Those loooong beans are so impressive! As are the eggplant. I really must grow some eggplant next year – the long Asian are definitely my favourite. And I have fig envy too – I just purchased a few at the market yesterday & am rationing them to make it last longer.

  14. Eva Taylor says:

    I only recently discovered San Marzano tomatoes and I’m absolutely smitten, so delicious!
    Your fig tree is doing very well, just this past week at our local cheese monger (The Cheese Boutique) I noticed their fig tree in a container about 20″ in diameter and about the same height and that tree was huge with over a hundred figs on it! I can wait for ours to grow that big!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Eva,
      The container my fig tree is growing in measures 20″x20″x17″ and my tree is about 5′-6′ tall, need to prune to a more manageable size before wheeling into the garage to over winter. Fig tree grows very fast, you are going to be surprised how much larger it will get next year.

  15. Kristy says:

    I’ve decided to make more figs this week. Hopefully this time I will get it blogged. It’s been soooo long since I’ve cooked/posted. Your tomatoes look fantastic. I have drawers full right now, all waiting for a sauce! Yours looks delicious.

  16. I envy you the San Marzano tomatoes and the resulting sauce…as well as the figs. What a colorful post and it looks like there’s some good eating at your house.

  17. Ah, I have fig envy! Please send any extras my way =)

  18. ChgoJohn says:

    Such a beautiful harvest, Norma! You’ve got so many tomatoes! My “crop” was a meager one, this year. The recent hot weather came to late to rescue my plants, I’m afraid. Glad to see that your garden responded so well. And those figs! How nice to enjoy them fresh from the tree. Yum!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello John,
      Thanks. You sure did not have a good summer this year. Actually my tomatoes were not doing great until the heat wave arrived last week. Sadly my fig harvest is slowly coming to an end and before long I will be putting away the tree for the winter.

  19. Jennifer says:

    Lovely harvests! I’ve had a few figs so far and they are such a treat! I’m also growing Pingtung Eggplant and have been enjoying the variety.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Jennifer,
      Thanks. What is the variety of fig you are growing? I would love to grow a few different varieties but I only have room for over wintering one plant in my garage.

  20. wok with ray says:

    I can’t remember the last time I saw red long beans but it’s been years. You are amazing taking care of your garden. 🙂

  21. hotlyspiced says:

    The figs look amazing and what a harvest! And I love the picture of the eggplant plant amongst the very pretty annuals. I’m very pleased to hear your shoulder is getting better xx

  22. cheri says:

    Hi Norma, oh your veggies looks so wonderful and then figs look so healthy and delicious. Been wanting to plant a fig tree myself.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Cheri,
      Thanks. Fig tree is very easy to grow. I have to plant mine in a container and bring it into the garage to overwinter as our winter is too harsh for it survive in the ground.

  23. cookielady12 says:

    those are some serious beans I sure you enjoyed them thanks for sharing.

  24. I really enjoyed this post–both the writing and the photos!

Leave a comment