Harvest Monday, September 1, 2014 – First Napa, Leek, Chicory (Radicchio) & Asian Pear + Blue & Fingerling Potatoes

Was a bit under the weather this past week as a result not much got done in the garden or the kitchen.

Reinjured my right shoulder some weeks ago and every now and then it acts up. This past week it was “acting up” and I was forced to take it easy, am OK now just need to remember not to make certain motion with my right arm which is easier said than done.

◊ ◊ ◊

leek & napa (06684)

Napa & Leek

The 3 napas in the window box formed heads, click here and scroll down.

Early in the week I noticed one of the them started to bolt (you can see the flower stalk poking through the center in the above photo) so harvested it. Weighed about 1½ pounds. Like this size. Would they grow larger if planted in the ground? Will do an experiment next year to find out. Later in the week decided to harvest the other 2 as well before they bolt.

The napa seeds were a gift from Mac, High Desert Garden. Mac grows a vast variety of veggies and fruits and she post photos of the dishes she makes with her harvests. Check out her blog, you are going to drool scrolling through her dishes.

Pulled my first leek (notice the length of the white part in the above photo, a whopping 12 inches, I am so pleased). Bought the seedlings from a nursery so no idea what the variety is.

◊ ◊ ◊

radicchio, Asian pear (06690)

Chicory (Radicchio), Asian Pears, Strawberries & Thornless Blackberries

Harvested my first chicory (radicchio). The packet of seeds I have contains a mixed variety of chicory so I never know what I am going to harvest. Need to get single variety seed packets.

Got my first Asian pear.

Since I cut down the other Asian pear tree I had worried that I would not get any Asian pears this year (most Asian pear needs 2 varieties for pollination). Fortunately the remaining trees is a self-fertile one so I am happy to have fruits. Not knowing how much self-thinning would occur, decided not to do any thinning, as a result the fruits are not large. Now that I know this is a self-fertile tree and there is little self-thinning, next year I will thin to have larger fruits.

The critters are still taking bites out of the largest strawberries and blackberries, did leave me some (the smaller ones) untouched, a few handfuls of each. Although they were not the largest they were sweet and flavorful.

◊ ◊ ◊

fingerling & blue potatoes (06687)

Potatoes – Fingerlings & Blue

The fingerlings on the left were grown in the ground, the fingerlings on the right were grown in foam ice chest. I got better yield from the ice chest and it was easier to hill the plants as well, will grow all potatoes in containers next year.

The blue potato was grown in an 18-inch diameter x 16-inch high container, harvested 3½ pounds from 2 plants. The one in the above photo is the largest and weighed 4½ ounces. I think if I planted the potatoes deeper in the container I would have higher yield. Next year I am going to plant the seed potato at the lower ¼ of the pot and hill the plants as they grow. I also think the container is large enough to accommodate 3 plants.

◊ ◊ ◊

besweet 2001 soy beans (06693)

Green Soy Beans (edamame) – Besweet 2001

I plant 3 different varieties of soy beans – Black, Tohya and Besweet 2001. Tohya is the first to reach edible stage, followed by black a few days later and besweet 2001 a week after black. The seeds of Besweet 2001 are larger than both the Tohya and Black. Because the 3 varieties matured at different times could not do a side-by-side taste test.

◊ ◊ ◊

Still harvesting figs (already have 1½ quarts in the freezer), Swiss chards, sweet potato vines, Ping Tung eggplant, red & green Chinese long beans, tomatoes and more tomatoes. Garden doing surprisingly well this year.

…   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …  …   … Copyright © by Norma Chang. All Rights Reserved. Do not use/repost any photos and/or articles without permission.

Visit Daphne’s Dandelions http://daphnesdandelions.blogspot.com/ for more Harvest Mondays

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Container gardening, Flowers, Fruits, Harvest Monday, Recipes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to Harvest Monday, September 1, 2014 – First Napa, Leek, Chicory (Radicchio) & Asian Pear + Blue & Fingerling Potatoes

  1. So sorry to hear you hurt your shoulder Norma. I do hope it heals soon.
    Lots of variety in your harvest this week.
    Have a wonderful day.
    🙂 Mandy xo

  2. Your vegetables look wonderful! Sorry to hear your injury was acting up again. Be gentle on yourself, Ms. Chang.

  3. I hope your shoulder feels better soon my friend! That sounds painful!
    Have a wonderful week relaxing 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  4. Your Napa cabbage looks good!!! So do your potatoes. We have lots of potatoes too (I think the farmer said about 5 kinds) but no leeks yet. Now all I have to do is figure out how to store all this!!! On Thursday, I’m bringing home more onions and I already have two small baskets full. Any suggestions on what to store them in (the onions and potatoes) over the winter???

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Wishfulthinking,
      I do not have enough potatoes and onions to last through the winter so I just store them in brown paper bags in my basement. Not sure that is the proper way for long term storage. You do need to make sure your onions are cured before storing, check the stem end for soft spots, if there is use those first.

  5. daphnegould says:

    I hope your shoulder feels better soon. And you cabbage looks fabulous. Mac is so nice about sharing her seeds. She shared a lot of things with me years ago and taught me to love Michihili cabbage. I never would have tried it without her seed. But I like it better than Napa as Napa tends to rot more in my garden, and Michihili really lasts for me.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Daphne,
      Thanks, my shoulder is feeling better, but as a gardener you know how hard it is to stay out of the garden and once in the garden forget what not to do. Michihili cabbage don’t do well for me, may be it is the seeds, should try again.

  6. Sorry to hear you’re sore – take it easy! Everything you’ve posted today looks so good and I’m thinking, I have 4 styrofoam boxes that would love to grow potatoes. Thanks for a great idea.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Maureen,
      I do try to take it easy but it is very difficult for someone with self-diagnosed ADD. Growing potatoes in container is so much easier than in the ground you will be happy with the results.

  7. So sorry about your shoulder acting up. I hope you feel better this week. Your potatoes did really well in the containers! ~ Grow a Good Life

  8. dvelten says:

    Sorry the hear about your shoulder. Your garden is doing wonderful this year. I really like that big pile of edamame. I may have to try them again.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello David,
      Yes, my garden is doing wonderful despite the set backs earlier in the year. Home grown edamame is so much better than the store bought ones, you should definitely try growing again.

  9. Angie@Angie's Recipes says:

    Love that purple chicory! I must remember to grow some next year too.
    Get well soon, Norma!

  10. Lovely radicchio. I’m glad the container potatoes worked so well. I’ve not had that much luck with growing them that way. And I hope your shoulder clears up soon!

  11. Perhaps I’ll have to try growing potatoes in a pot, Norma. My Mom planted some in the ground and the deer dug them all up and ate them (or maybe ate the leaves, causing the plants to die).

  12. Oh, I was craving Asian pears earlier today, but the store was out of them.

  13. hotlyspiced says:

    Even in a bad week you still have plenty going on in your garden. I love the look of your potatoes. I’m so sorry to hear about your shoulder and shoulders are very tricky and take a long time to get better. My husband currently has a ‘frozen’ shoulder and it’s extremely debilitating. It’s painful for him to just shake hands with people! xx

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Charlie,
      It is very hard for me to stay out of the garden especially when I have full view of it from my kitchen window. Hope your husband’s ‘frozen’ shoulder ‘unfreeze’ soon, yes, shoulder pain is extremely debilitating and difficult to get a good night’s sleep making matters worse.

  14. mac says:

    Glad you’re feeling better.
    Lovely harvest, my container grown potatoes don’t do well so I stopped planting them, but I’ll grow them again as I like homegrown potato salad, it’s the only potato salad I like.
    I found a Taiwanese Napa cabbage that’s a bit heat resistance and don’t bolt in heat, but dang the bugs love it, and it’s a bit of work because you have to tie up the outer leaves to help with heading.

  15. Margaret says:

    All it takes is one injury to make your realize how much you use a particular appendage. I hope you feel better soon! Those Asian pears look lovely – they are the one pear that I truly like. Never thought to grow them but must look into whether they would be hardy here. How long do they keep?

  16. Shoulder injuries take so long to heal. Hang in there, Norma. Love your Asian pears. Are they sweet?

  17. Eva Taylor says:

    Hope your shoulder recovers quickly, it’s a pain not to be able to things that you want to do. Your harvest looks great, my Figgy ended up dropping all of the figs because I didn’t water him enough, I’m still looking for a bucket to put the pot into. He’s growing 4-5 more so I guess he forgives me 😉

  18. Juliana says:

    Sorry to hear that your shoulder still bothers you…the veggies sure look great…Asian pears…they look beautiful!
    Have a great week Norma 😀

  19. ChgoJohn says:

    Gee, Norma, You sure are having a tough year. Now your shoulder is acting up. I hope it’s nothing too serious and that soon you’ll be back at 100%, in your new kitchen, eating all the strawberries and blackberries you want. 🙂
    This week’s yield sure does look good, though. The radicchio looks wonderful and that sure was a handsome leek. I hope this week is much better for you.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello John,
      Yes, this sure has been one of those year next year is going to be better. I am not getting an abundance of strawberries and blackberries but enough daily for breakfast, just have to make sure I get to them before the critters.

  20. I hope your shoulder is better now, Norma. I suck with plants, unfortunately. Plus, in Mumbai, where I live, even a small balcony is a luxury. I do miss our family garden back home in Agra, where my mother used to work everyday to keep her green space alive and beautiful!

  21. I hope you heal quickly! You’re one tough and resilient woman so I know you’ll soldier through this =) Though all of your produce is always top notch, I’m especially loving your fruits…and that potato? So pretty!!

  22. Oh your veggies look great! I hope to branch out a bit next year and try some new veggies!! Hope your feeling better – it’s no fun being ‘held back’…

  23. Kristy says:

    I found figs at our farmer’s market after you mentioned them and we ate them for several nights. Delicious! Your leek looks fantastic! I do love leek. I think I’ll have to go and find some of that now. 🙂

  24. cheri says:

    HI Norma, this year I grew fava beans with much success but next I will try edamame, yours looks so healthy. Also will try my potatoes in a container, thanks for documenting these things.

  25. Greetings Norma from sunny Florida! I love to garden (yes, it is possible in Florida). I have enjoyed visiting your Blog and will be following you! Hoping your shoulder/arm is healing for you?! Cheryl.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Cheryl,
      Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to leave a comment. Glad you enjoy my blog. I imagine gardening in Florida is quite different than in New York to begin with you have a much longer growing season and you are able to grow a greater variety of plants.
      I visited your blog and tried to leave a comment but was unable to.

  26. I certainly hope you are on recovery and that your shoulder stays in check, maybe some acupuncture? Your harvest is making me so hungry, everything looks so fresh and beautiful. I once heard that anything that you can harvest together you can use in a dish together. I see a gorgeous salad with berries and Asian pears. Take Care, BAM

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Bam,
      Thanks I have pretty much recovered, just need to remember to not overdo things. I frequently just throw together whatever I gather from the garden that day and the dish always turn out right..

  27. What an incredible feast of a harvest! I would love to try edamame!

  28. Amira says:

    Woow, your harvest looks awesome .. colorful and healthy, I bet it needed lots of care and love to come up like that. I wonder do you still grow some veg. and fruits in Winter? and how? I have a pot with rosemary and some basil that I wonder how to keep it alive when winter hits… Sorry to hear about your injury I hope you will feel better soon.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Amira,
      Thanks. I do sprouts in the winter months, tried growing lettuce and other greens under grow lights but decided the exercise was not worth the effort. Your rosemary will do well indoor if you have a sunny window, not sure about the basil but do give it a try.

  29. Your harvest looks really great and especially love that leek! Do hope that your shoulder settles down and you can be pain-free.

Leave a Reply

