Harvest Monday, November 19, 2012 – Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden

This past week, I spent more time than I should taking care of the shrubs and flower beds and never got to the veggie garden. Brought in a few carrots and a bit of Chinese parsley (cilantro), no photo. So I am featuring LGHVG’s harvest instead.

Despite the nippy day, quite a few volunteers showed up on Thursday, 11/15, to help put the Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden to bed for the season.

Potted up the rosamary to overwinter in the greenhouse and harvested what was still usable. Below are a list of items we harvested and shared.

Leeks, sunchoke, celeriac and carrots

Carrot, parsnips and beets
Check out the length of the carrot.

Will cut all the root vegetables into cubes; add some rosemary and thyme from my garden, toss with a bit of oil, salt and pepper to taste, roast at 400° F for 30 minutes or until veggies are tender.

I do not like my veggies burnt, so if all the veggies are low-moisture content veggies, I would add 2 – 4 tablespoons of broth or water to prevent burning.

Red Russian Kale
A pretty kale in the garden but not my favorite.

Leek and leek green

I cut my leek greens into shorter lengths, place them in freezer bag, date, label and freeze. Add some (frozen or thawed) to pot when making broth.

…   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …  …   …

Copyright © by Norma Chang. All Rights Reserved. Do not use/repost any photos and/or articles without permission.

Visit Daphne’s Dandelions http://daphnesdandelions.blogspot.com/ for more Harvest Mondays

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Heritage vegetable garden, Locust Grove, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Harvest Monday, November 19, 2012 – Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden

  1. Daphne says:

    One of these days I have to try to grow parsnips. I’m sure I’ve tasted them in food at some point in my life, but I don’t remember. I’ve certainly never cooked with them myself.

  2. Karen says:

    It is always nice to get the last of the herbs and vegetables from the garden at the end of the growing season. I’ve never thought of saving the leek greens in the freezer…thanks for the suggestion. I have leeks in the refrigerator now.

  3. Kristy says:

    Looks like a good harvest and it sounds like you had a busy time outside. Have a great Thanksgiving Norma!

  4. Patsy says:

    Beets in November! I just never have any luck getting my fall beets to grow. I also use leek greens to make a nice vegetable broth which becomes a great base for gravies and soups for my vegetarian husband.

  5. It’s nice to think of a group of volunteers putting a vegetable garden to bed for the winter. That sounds like a satisfying day.

  6. kitsapfg says:

    It looks like the community garden was a good success and went long into the season before you all put it to bed for the winter. Our Kingston Farm and Garden Co-op Giving Garden is pretty well buttoned down for the winter too – but we have quite a few beds (both covered and not) that we are harvesting from regularly still.

  7. What a nice little haul you had from the community garden! I actually love Red Russian kale sauteed in olive oil with shallots, walnuts or pine nuts and currants. We eat it like that as a side, or toss it with penne, sausage and roasted tomatoes for a main dish. Makes it very sweet.

  8. wok with ray says:

    Hi Norma,

    Thank you for the quick tips on roasting these fresh veggies. I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday.

    ~ ray ~

  9. Kim says:

    Happy Thanksgiving Norma!

  10. Lisa says:

    That all looks delicious! Very impressive!

  11. I have never heard Cilantro called Chinese Parsley before – I knew it was interchangeable as fresh Coriander but that is so interesting. Love learning something new on a Monday morning – thanks Norma and Happy Thanksgiving! 🙂

  12. You have some fantastic tips that I intend to share with my grandparents, thank you my friend 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  13. Sophie33 says:

    beets, coloured one’s & they didn’t do well. Your late produce & root veggies look so tasty & yummy! Good work too! 6 months ago, I have sown 9 colourful beets & only 4 othem grow to a mini beetroot, only being 3 cm long & 2 cm thick. Any suggestions to grow them bigger??? thanks! xxx

  14. What a great harvest, half way through November! I freeze leeks too, except that I slice them thinly into rounds, spread out on a cookie sheet lined with parchment and freeze and then bag them. They tend to keep their shape very well and work out for my recipes nicely. Very nice celeriac too.

  15. Eha says:

    Sugar, Norma, you are the ‘bestest’ teacher ever 🙂 ! I always seem to have leeks [which I LOVE!] over, but have never realized I could actually freeze them!!! IOU!!!! And Eva’s method seems great! Thanks! Both coriander and Italian parsley ‘doin” great in the garden: could not live without ’em!!!!! [You are not going to shut off your wonderful blog for the winter months, are you???] !

  16. ChgoJohn says:

    How nice that you have a spot where some of your herbs can spend the winter. Every year I bring my rosemary bush indoors and it dies sometime during January. I just don’t have a good spot for one. I’ll try again this year but I haven’t much hope. On the plus side, by February I’ll have more dried rosemary than I could possible ever use. 🙂

  17. Have you tried Eva’s celeriac mash? Looks like you are well equipped to make it! Happy Thanksgiving Norma!

  18. Have a great Thanksgiving Norma, your meals will be so delicious with all vegetables and herbs straight from your garden 🙂

  19. I would love to get my hands on some of that fresh kale. My body needs some extra vitamins and minerals and that would be the perfect veggie. I can’t wait to see them hitting your wok! Take care, BAM

  20. Maureen says:

    I think it’s wonderful that you all get together for the pure love of gardening.

  21. hotlyspiced says:

    What lovely produce. I particularly like the look of those leeks – so vibrantly green xx

  22. I’ve been considering adding a parsnip mash for Thanksgiving dinner…I so wish I could go “shopping” in your garden…it would be like a shopping spree, but better! Happy Thanksgiving, my friend!!

Leave a Reply

