Harvest Monday, September 19, 2016 + Some Firsts & Some Lasts

Harvested my first Purple Vienna Kohlrabi, well plus another small one that’s heart shaped. At the moment both are sitting in the fridge.

Also dug up 4 Purple Sweet Potatoes, another first. I noticed they were partially exposed so decided to bring them in before the critters discover them. They are curing now an should be ready for eating in 2 weeks.

dsc09696weblarge-copy

Left to right: Purple Vienna Kohlrabi, Red Noodles Long Beans, Green Long Beans, China Express Daikon & Purple Sweet Potatoes

Also in the above basket are 1 China Express Daikon and a few Red Noodles & Green Long Beans. These beans will most likely be the last harvest as I see no flowers on the vines.

∗ ∗ ∗

I am growing Win-Win Choy in 2 exact size (29 inches) window boxes. One has 6 plants the other has 12 plants.

In the photo below, the Win-Win Choy leaf on the left is from the box with only 6 plants. The leaf on the right is from the box with 12 plants.

dsc09592weblarge-copy

Win-Win Choy

The size difference between the 2 leaves is quite striking.

dsc09689weblarge-copy

Win-Win Choy

Decided to thin out the window box with the 12 Win-Win Choy.

dsc09691weblarge-copy

Removed the outer leaves from the remaining 7 plants also. Be fun to see if these will grow as robust as the ones in the box of 6 plants.

dsc09698weblarge-copy

All the above Win-Win Choy were processed and froze using the method mentioned in last Mondays post.

∗ ∗ ∗

Harvested another 6 Black Summer Pac Choi.

dsc09718weblarge-copy

Black Summer Pac Choi

Separated most of the leaves for easy cleaning leaving just the few center leaves attached to a stub.

dsc09682weblarge-copy

Peeled the stub to reveal my favorite part of the Pac Choi. That stub, when cooked, is melt-in-your-mouth delicious. Would love a serving of just the peeled stubs, but can you imagine how many Pac Choi plants I would need to have just one serving of the stubs?

Steamed the heart of the Pac Choi (uncut, whole with stub) for 3-5 minutes, then drizzled with a bit of oyster sauce and sesame oil, was a real treat.

∗ ∗ ∗

First harvest of Lutz Beets and Leeks.

dsc09727weblarge-copy

Lutz Beets

Lutz beets is one of my all time favorite. Easy to grow and good winter keepers. I plant them in the spring, harvest as need throughout the year (didn’t this year as I was also growing other varieties) and harvest remainder before the ground freezes. They can grow quite large without getting pithy.

I store the unwashed roots, covered with Pro-Mix in a container, in my garage and they last through the winter.

∗ ∗ ∗

The leeks are not as fat as last year’s and I think it has to do with the hot dry weather we have been experiencing.

dsc09716weblarge-copy

King Richard Leeks

Check out the length of leek at the top!

Was visiting friends and knew they would appreciate goodies from my garden so brought them a basket of lutz beets, leeks and some other garden goodies.

∗ ∗ ∗

Sadly, below is the last of my lettuces.

dsc09712weblarge-copy

But all is not lost for the season. Brought home some lettuce thinning from Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden on Thursday and transplanted them into window boxes.

dsc09730weblarge-copy

Seedlings were bare roots and are looking a bit limp but should perk up in a day or 2.

∗ ∗ ∗

Do not want to think about it but winter is fast approaching. The leaves on my Katsura tree are starting to fall, signaling to me that it is time to start thinking about putting the garden to bed for the winter. Where did the year go?????

…   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …  …   …  …  …  …

Copyright © by Norma Chang. All Rights Reserved. Do not use/repost any photos and/or articles without permission.

Do visit Dave at Our Happy Acres for more Harvest Monday

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Gardening, Harvest Monday, Heritage vegetable garden, Locust Grove, Uncategorized, Vegetables, window box gardening and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Harvest Monday, September 19, 2016 + Some Firsts & Some Lasts

  1. I REALLY need to get some shots of my tiny veggie garden for you Norma.
    Have a beautiful week.
    🙂 Mandy xo

  2. Angie@Angie's Recipes says:

    That’s a giant beet! What I love the most is those purple sweet potatoes. A great harvest, Norma.

  3. Will - Eight Gate Farm NH says:

    Beautiful harvests. I would have thought that even 6 choi plants in containers that size would be overcrowding, but your results prove me wrong.

  4. I love all of these delicious treats to make your stir fries. I bet your vegetables are delicious with just a few ingredients because the vegetables are so fresh.

  5. Where did the year go, indeed??? I had no idea that the stub of Pac Choy was so delectable. I always learn something new here. 😀

  6. Those are some large beets Norma! And the leeks may not be big around but they sure are long. Looks like you will have some nice choy frozen for use later on.

  7. We don’t harvest leeks ’til winter so ours have time to fatten up

  8. Julie says:

    Those are some really impressive beets and I’m also impressed that you already have sweet potatoes! I usually don’t start digging up sweet potatoes until the end of October.

  9. Margaret says:

    Wow – what a difference between the 6 plants and 12. I am slowly learning that giving plants a bit more room often pays off, as your experiment clearly demonstrated. Ah, I see you were also the recipient of some extra lettuce from the community garden – we will both be so grateful for these gifts as the weather gets colder and we pull fresh lettuce leaves from the garden.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Margaret,
      The problem is not that I don’t know better, I just cannot bear to throw away seedlings and promise myself to thin as as soon as crowding occurs but somehow never get around to doing so 😦

  10. dvelten says:

    My leeks are skinny this year as well. They have not increased in size at all since mid-summer. i am sure that it is the heat and drought. I’m hoping that cooler, wetter weather in the fall will bulk them up.

  11. I always enjoy your experiments and comparisons! Giving plants room to move is so important, though hard when we want to pack in as much as possible into a small space, ha? Such a great visual to remind us that *more doesn’t always mean better 🙂

    Have a great week, Norma!

  12. Balvinder says:

    My first attempt at beets is underway. I checked one two days ago and it wasn’t as big as yours.Great tip for storing them for winters.

  13. Karen says:

    A garden makes you acutely aware of the changing of seasons. You’ve certainly had a nice crop of veggies this year.

  14. Eva Taylor says:

    I was just thinking about how quickly the year went by, it seems to go faster and faster each year! Your harvests look wonderful, sadly my lowly little fig has not progressed since our departure in early September, I doubt it will ripen on the vine before it gets too chilly and I have to put old Figgy to bed. Oscar has lost all his leaves, I wonder if it was too hot this year? I’ll try to revive him indoors over the winter.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Eva,
      I have a few green figs on the plant that I doubt will mature and ripen as cold weather is fast approaching and a frost warning is in the forecast for tonight.

  15. Pingback: Harvest Monday, October 10, 2016 + Growing Garlic in Container | Garden to Wok

Leave a comment