Harvest Monday, May 4, 2015 – Window Box Spinach

This is going to be a very short one (1) item post.

Was rushing to get as much outdoor chores completed as possible. Only photos I took were the spinach photos (taken yesterday). Finally had a few gorgeous and bug free days had to take advantage.

As you can see from the photo below, the spinach in the window box is obviously very over crowded.

windowbox spinach (07480)

Over Crowded Window Box Spinach

Had a large bag of spinach seeds leftover from last year and it seemed a shame to just toss them out. Knowing that the germination rate for old spinach seeds is very poor decided to over sow to compensate for the low germination.

And what happened? It seemed every seed germinated resulting in overcrowding.

But there is a bright side. Using a scissors, I carefully harvest the larger plants and got 8+ ounces of deliciously tender baby spinach.

It was a tedious process but well worth the effort and also the right task for the moment. After multiple days of digging, planting, pruning, hauling, etc. a sit down mindless task was just what I needed.

spinach (07491)

Baby Spinach

The above photo is showing about half of the harvest.

A neighbor dropped by just as I had completed my harvest so I offered her some of the spinach, she sure was at the right place at the right time.

The photo below is the window box spinach after thinning.

windowbox spinach (07481)

Window Box Spinach After Thinning

The spinach in the window box is still over crowded. Looking forward to harvesting another crop in a few days.

I fertilized with fish emulsion fertilizer after thinning.

This over sowing of spinach seeds is working out really well and I love the results. I think from now on I am going to over sow as this allows for more frequent and extended harvest of tender baby spinach.

Thinking: What other greens will work with this method?????

Will try to find out as soon as I have empty window boxes.

…   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …  …   …

Copyright © by Norma Chang. All Rights Reserved. Do not use/repost any photos and/or articles without permission.

Visit Daphne’s Dandelions http://daphnesdandelions.blogspot.com/ for more Harvest Mondays

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Container gardening, Gardening, Harvest Monday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Harvest Monday, May 4, 2015 – Window Box Spinach

  1. How lucky for your neighbour to get beautiful tender fresh young spinach to take home.
    Have a beautiful week ahead Norma.
    🙂 Mandy xo

  2. Angie@Angie's Recipes says:

    I wish I lived closer so I could learn gardening from you, Norma. Those spinach leaves are so awesome.

  3. Lucky, lucky neighbor! Your spinach looks divine!

  4. The spinach is so beautiful overcrowded like that and is very fine and healthy looking harvested. It must taste amazing, too.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Betsy,
      The spinach tasted amazing, tender with a hint of sweetness because it was so fresh – from the window box onto the table, cannot get any fresher.

  5. Margaret says:

    I love your experiments, Norma! That is some gorgeous spinach. I’m still trying to grow a nice bunch of spinach and it’s touch and go on that front right now. Many of my transplants from a couple of weeks ago were decimated by some strong winds, but a few did survive and I have also sown some seeds directly, so am not giving up hope just yet.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Margaret,
      Thanks, I love to experiment. the weather has be crazy this year, very challenging garden year, wonder the rest of the year is going to be like.

  6. Well, I think it is better to have the seeds germinate well than not at all, which sometimes happens to me with old seed. I see lots of spinach harvests in that box!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Dave,
      Previous years I sow fresh seeds as recommended on the package and always a hit or miss this year I get 100%(?) germination with year old seeds, go figure.

  7. Kim Brandt says:

    How did it taste? Looks so healthy! I have to get mine quick before the slugs move in on my spinach! Happy Spring!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Kim,
      The spinach were tender with a hint of sweetness, I think it’s because they are so fresh, from the window box to the table. How is your garden growing? I envy your long growing season.

  8. wok with ray says:

    Those spinach you have are beautiful and really blooming. So much better than the ones we buy at the market. Have a good week, Norma.

  9. shaheen says:

    I know its overcrowded, but WOW that is splendid. My mother would pinch them off me and make Spinach pakoras – aka onion bhaji’s. I don’t tend to grow spinach, as I like chard – but I may give it a go this year.

  10. Barbie says:

    You never fail to surprise me with your window boxes. Wish I had that talent! LOL

  11. mac says:

    Whoa lucky neighbor and beautiful spinach, I’m going to try your method next time.

  12. hotlyspiced says:

    How fortunate to have the problem of too much spinach. Your neighbour was very blessed I’m sure with such perfect produce xx

  13. Wow! Norma, your baby spinach looks so healthy! It loves the planter box!

  14. daphnegould says:

    Oh yum baby spinach. Some years I get to eat my thinnings too. This year I didn’t sow most of the spinach closely though as I didn’t have much seed.

  15. Cecilia says:

    How great your spinach looks and how healthy. This is a great part of gardening, when we can share our harvest with people. Big Like!

  16. Your spinach is the stuff dreams are made of. I LOVE spinach and would love to grow some. You’ve already given me inspiration to try growing things in my apartment :). Thanks Ms. Norma.

    K / The House of KTS (formerly of Pure & Complex)
    http://www.houseofkts.com

  17. Norma your spinach is beautiful I would love a bunch of that for my lunch… I think I would have to plant acres of that to feed my boys. Don’t you always chuckle when you see a big bunch turn into a couple of bites in your wok?

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Bam,
      A big bunch is on its way over the internet 🙂 Yep, always amazed to see a big pot of spinach or other greens shrink to very little with just a bit of heat.

  18. Juliana says:

    Oh Norma, your baby spinach are so cute…I can only imagine how delicious and tender they must taste.
    Hope you are having a wonderful week 🙂

  19. This year is the first time I am growing my own vegetables. Thanks so much for sharing this, I was curious about growing spinach like this and now I know.:)

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Nancy,
      Thanks for stopping by and for taking the time to let me know my post was helpful. Congrats on your first veggie garden, feel free to contact me anytime if I can be of any help.

  20. I love fresh baby spinach. It’s wonderful to toss in with anyone and takes a second to cook. Your oversowing was a great idea.

  21. Amira says:

    Great gardening skills you have Norma.. love your spinach. I would like to have a pot of those.

  22. Pingback: Harvest Monday, May 11, 2015 – Window Box Harvest + Container Potato Update | Garden to Wok

  23. Totally wishing I was your neighbor. WOWZA…. your garden looks so vibrant and happy – yes, happy! 🙂

Leave a comment