Cat’n Around Catskill 2014

As promised in my Harvest Monday, September 15 post, below are 6 of the 50 cats on view in the Village of Catskill, NY, May through September 20, 2014.

This is the 8th Cat’n Around Catskill exhibit, and what an exhibit it is. As you can see from the photos below, each artist had put a great deal of work into his/her cat. The details are amazing.

The cats are mounted on pedestals. Most of them are on Main Street, others are on Route 23B, West Main Street and Route 9W.

On Saturday, September 27 at 3 p.m. there will be an Auction & Gala at the Historic Catskill Point. The proceeds from the auction will benefit Participating Artists, Local Not-for-Profits, Barry Hopkins Art Scholarship Fund and Heart of Catskill Association for future Catskill promotion.

To view a gallery of all the 2014 cats go to veronicachewensphotography.com.

◊ ◊ ◊

Lily

cat'naround 2014

cat'n around catskillcat'n around catskill

 

 

cat'n around catckillcat'n around catskill

◊ ◊ ◊

Phantom of the Opurra

cat'n around catskill

cat'n around catskill

◊ ◊ ◊

Raining Cats & Dogs

cat'n around catskill

cat'n around catskill

cat'n around catskill

◊ ◊ ◊

CAT-a-Pult

cat'n around catskill cat'n around catskill

cat'n around catskillcat'n around catskill

 

 

 

 

 

 

cat'n around catskillcat'n around catskill

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

cat'n around catskill

◊ ◊ ◊

Catsumoto

cat'n around catskillcat'n around catskill

◊ ◊ ◊

Pharaoh Feline

cat'n around catskill

cat'n around catskill

cat'n around catskill

I hope you enjoyed viewing the above photos as much as I enjoyed posting them.

For more information go to http://www.cat-n-around.com and click on CAT’N AROUND CATSKILL at the top.

All the photos were taken by my daughter, Kathy.
Thank you Kathy!
Without your photos there would be no post.

…   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …  …   … Copyright © by Norma Chang. All Rights Reserved. Do not use/repost any photos and/or articles without permission.

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Catskill, New York, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Cat’n Around Catskill 2014

  1. Phyllis says:

    Hi Norma, Wow those sculptures are SO good. Reminds me of towns in Vt that do cows with lots of color and charm. Would be cool to see cats. Maybe next year! Phyll

    >

  2. cheri says:

    Hi Norma, what a wonderful event for the town. You can see there is much detail in each one. Thanks for sharing!

  3. What fun! I love those cats! That’s a terrific way to get visitors to Catskill!

  4. hotlyspiced says:

    It’s great that your daughter took the images for you. I love these quirky cats and I love how they’re all on pedestals. I think my favourite is the pharaoh xx

  5. Linda says:

    I love all of these, what a fun post! Thank you so much for sharing. 🙂 I love them all…and my favourite is the one with the umbrella!

  6. They are so adorable. The one with the umbrella is the sweetest.

  7. Ann Drohosky says:

    Norma,
    I love the cats! Thanks for posting them!
    Ann Drohosky

  8. The art on these cats are beautiful and so detailed! How fun to add a mouse on the last one. Fitting!

  9. Kristy says:

    These are fantastic. I’ll have to show them to the kids later. They will love it. The cat-apult is my favorite for sure!

  10. How cute and fun, Norma! J swears I’m a cat, lol. I will have to share this post with him!

  11. Pat says:

    Love your Post! I bet you love the cat with the frog best!!

  12. What fun!!! I would love to be there!!

  13. i don’t know why, but the cats looks creepy for my eyes….

  14. These cats are so cool, such creative designs 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  15. This looks like so much fun! Our city had a similar event years ago with big cows that each artist painted.. then they were auctioned off for charity. I still see the odd cow downtown or in someone’s yard, they’re really a cool piece of art if you can bid on them. One of these would look great in your garden:)

  16. Eva Taylor says:

    I can’t believe I missed this one, thanks so much for posting. The cats are indeed quite clever and thoughtful! In Toronto, we had moose, Zurich, Switzerland had cows, naturally!

Leave a comment