Harvest Monday, April 17, 2017 – Overwintered Container Fig, Ginger & Taro + Container Garlic Update

This past week the weather was warm/hot (yesterday was 87°F) and beautiful, spring has finally arrived, plants are happy and growing, flowers blooming all around, just lovely.

Garage-overwintered fig tree is leafing out and looking good. Time to start hardening off.

My garage faces west and gets sun from early afternoon to sunset. To avoid having to wheel the fig tree in and out daily, I wheeled it, instead, to the front of the garage (leaving the garage door open during the day and closing it after the sun goes down) where it will remain until hardened off.

For the time being the car has lost it garage privilege and will be spending its time on the driveway until May 1 when the fig trees are ready to remain outdoors.

DSC09977weblarge copy

Fig tree growing in container

Behind the large fig tree is a small multi-trunk fig tree that I started 2 years ago. Am curious to see if there is any difference in fruit production between a single-trunk tree and a multi-trunk tree.

As you can see from the above photo I am also hardening off the other seedlings.

∗ ∗ ∗

At the end of last year’s growing season, as an experiment, I brought in the container ginger and placed it in the basement to overwinter. The leaves gradually fell off, but I continued to keep the potting mix moist.

Forgot to note the date, but there is now a knob of ginger poking through the potting mix (photo below), I am guessing pretty soon the knob will begin to sprout, shall keep you updated.

DSC09968weblarge copy

Ginger growing in container

Was tempted to poke under the potting mix to see what is growing underground but decided to wait awhile.

∗ ∗ ∗

Also overwintered the container Taro (aka Eddo, Coco) in the basement (another experiment), it too survived and sent out leaves.

DSC09969weblarge copy

Taro (aka Eddo, Coco)

The small leaf on the right is from a baby Eddo. Wondering how big the “mama” tuber is.

∗ ∗ ∗

Container garlic (click on link and scroll down) all sprouted.

DSC09980weblarge copy

Garlic, Spanish Roja

Garlic plants are loving the warm days, took off and is now a whopping 8 inches tall, looking healthy and happy, nice.

∗ ∗ ∗

Had a busy week, started to tidy up and mulch perennial beds, ready veggie containers for planting, bumped up celeriac, tomatoes and pepper seedlings, still much to do. Need to start cleaning and readying the veggie beds, more seeding, etc., busy days ahead.

Spring is such a beautiful time of the year, hope you are all having a gorgeous spring!

DSC09987weblarge copy

Happy Gardening!

…   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …  …   …  …  …  …

Copyright © by Norma Chang. All Rights Reserved. Do not use/repost any photos and/or articles without permission.

Do visit Dave at Our Happy Acres for more Harvest Monday

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Container gardening, Gardening, Harvest Monday, Uncategorized, Vegetables and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Harvest Monday, April 17, 2017 – Overwintered Container Fig, Ginger & Taro + Container Garlic Update

  1. Eva Taylor says:

    Figgy isn’t quite as far along as your fig tree but he is definitely showing signs of sprouting leaves. I took the burlap wrap off and he gets a little sunshine through the window of the garage door every morning. My garlic is growing!!!! I can’t tell you how excited I am! Not all of the cloves sprouted, but that’s ok because I planted too many. I think we will get the garden sorted with patio furniture today, I sounds like a glorious spring day!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Eva,
      I too am excited to learn your garlic is growing, after all these years of trying, finally success, congrats! Sounds like Figgy is doing well too. Hope we continue to have glorious spring day.

  2. Happy Gardening, Norma. I just have my herbs and tomato plants ready…fig trees are a dream for me.

  3. Margaret says:

    It is a super busy time of year, isn’t it? I see things are just humming along in your garden. I’m very interested to see how your ginger growing works out – I love ginger!

    Your fig tree is simply amazing – I’m not sure how I’m going to deal with mine when it gets that large (hopefully it does!) as it needs to overwinter in the basement cold cellar. I’m growing mine as a multi-trunk kind so we’ll see how that goes.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Margaret,
      Yes, spring is a super busy time of the year. Every time I walk by the ginger container I am tempted to do some digging around but must wait at least until it sprouts.

  4. I never thought to save some of my ginger plants last fall. I harvested it and then used it all. I do have some more ready to plant this spring though. You large fig tree is amazing! It’s starting to look like something from a tropical climate, where they get large.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Dave,
      Actually my fig tree is getting too large, I pruned off about 30% at the end of last season and will be pruning 30% again the end of this growing season.

  5. Balvinder says:

    This is great information! I lalwys wanted to grow fig tree so I planted one last year but I don’t see any leaf yet.

  6. We discovered several years ago that if we leave the garage open the Carolina Wrens try to move inside. I once found the start of a bird nest in my bike helmet after leaving the garage open for an afternoon. Worse, this year, we left the door open for a very short time and a wren broke its neck trying to get out.

  7. Its fig season, the best time of year! 🙂
    We had a fig tree up the road, however it was destroyed by the cyclone, so will just have to enjoy reading everyones posts about them this year.

  8. Pingback: Harvest Monday, June 26, 2017 – Containers Update | Garden to Wok

Leave a Reply

