Harvest Monday, March 20, 2017 – Seed Starting + Container Garlic

Happy First Day of Spring!

I am back!!!!!

My hip, knee and lower back pains are pretty much gone. I am now able to walk at a good pace, go up and down stairs in a normal way and pick things up from the floor/ground. And, the good news is, I did not need medical attention. All this was accomplished by applying massage, gentle stretching, rest, patience (lots of it) and aspirin as needed. It was a looooong, slooooow progress but I consider myself very, very  fortunate. And, to make my life even more interesting during this period, I also came down with bronchitis. So as not to drive myself and others around me crazy while recuperating, I started some Swiss chard, peppers and lettuce seeds in January, way too early for the Hudson Valley but kept me occupied.

dsc09888weblarge-copy

Seedlings under grow lights

To my surprise, all the seeds germinated, grew healthy and are happy under the grow lights!

Click here to check out my seed starting stand and grow lights set up.

dsc09901weblarge-copy

Peppermint Swiss Chard seedlings in blueberries container

Some of the Swiss Chard seedlings will be transplanted into large containers, some will be transplanted into the garden. The Peppermint Swiss Chard is a very pretty plant. Click here for a photo of the mature stems and leaves.

∗ ∗ ∗

dsc09894weblarge-copy

Peppers. Left: Jimmy Nardello. Right: Doe Hill Golden Bell

Both the Jimmy Nardello and Doe Gill Golden Bell do very well in containers. These will be grown in large (6-7 gallons) containers, one plant per container.

dsc09897weblarge-copy

Lettuce, left to right, Forellenschluss, Bronze Mignonette & Schweitzer Mescher

All the lettuce will be transplanted into window boxes.

∗ ∗ ∗

While shopping came across Red Winter Kale.

dsc09878weblarge-copy

A pretty plant that can be grown as baby greens indoor any time of the year. Had to buy it. The package contains 6 grams of seeds so I had plenty to share with my garden friends.

dsc09881weblarge-copy

Started the seeds mid February.

dsc09906weblarge-copy

Red Winter Kale seedlings in blueberries container

Some of the Kale seedlings will be transplanted into large containers some will be transplanted into the garden. Looking forward to a salad of lettuce and baby kale.

All the seedlings need to be bumped up, the challenge is finding space for all of them under the grow lights. Was hoping our weather would warm up early and stabilize so I can transplant some of them in my outdoor containers on the south side of the house where it is sunny and warmer, but mother nature had other plans.

On Tuesday, March 14, a Nor’easter dumped over 20 inches of snow in our area. My property is now a winter wonderland, very pretty.

DSC09932weblarge copy

Steps leading to front door

The snow on the right of the walkway in front of the window is over 3 feet deep.

DSC09926weblarge copy

Shed behind the house. Will be a while before I can open the door.

Back door is blocked by snow, above photo was taken through glass door.

∗ ∗ ∗

Planted my container garlic. Click here and scroll down for information about planting garlic in container.

Before planting I added some peat moss to the potting mix and also enriched the potting mix with bone meal and organic granular fertilizer.

dsc09876weblarge-copy

Garlic, Spanish Roja in foam ice chest

This year, in my container, I am planting Spanish Roja Garlic that I got from Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden.

Last year LGHVG had a bountiful harvest of garlic and us volunteers got to share the extras. I saved mine for planting.

∗ ∗ ∗

Yeah! I am ready to garden and should be fine going forward as long as I am mindful of certain movements and remember my limitations. Planning to reduce the size of my garden and focus more on containers. Also planting less so may not have sufficient harvests to write a weekly post, will see.

…   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …  …   …  …  …  …

Copyright © by Norma Chang. All Rights Reserved. Do not use/repost any photos and/or articles without permission.

Do visit Dave at Our Happy Acres for more Harvest Monday

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Container gardening, Gardening, Harvest Monday, Heritage vegetable garden, Husdon Valley, New York, Uncategorized, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Harvest Monday, March 20, 2017 – Seed Starting + Container Garlic

  1. THAT is an enormous amount of snow. Is it melting already? Merciful heavens – you are going to be awash.. the garlic in containers is interesting – I must tell my container gardener friends.. c

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Cecilia,
      Guessing you were not affected by the nor’easter. Going to be warm today so some of the snow will melt away but tomorrow is back to the ice box so much freezing again, blah!

  2. How lovely to have you back Norma and so pleased you are right as rain again. Yay. Wow. Can’t believe the amount of snow. I have never seen snow before – let alone 3 feet deep snow!
    Have a beautiful and happy day with your seedlings.
    🙂 Mandy xo

  3. Phyllis smith says:

    Great that you are back! See ya soon! Phyll

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Phyll,
      Thanks, I am so glad to be back. Spent hours yesterday clearing away the pile of snow in front of the window to avoid water problem, there was way too much snow by the foundation.

  4. It’s great to see you back Norma! And it looks like you have been keeping busy with all those seedlings. Hopefully all that snow will melt in time to do some planting and other gardening chores.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Dave,
      Thanks, I am so happy to be back. Some of the snow will melt away today but back to freezing temp tomorrow so will be a while before I can see my lawn.

  5. Chhaya says:

    Glad that you are feeling better, Ms.Norma! All your seedlings seem to be doing so well. Looking forward to more updates from you.

  6. Phuong says:

    Whoa, that is a lot of snow. I’m so happy you didn’t need surgery. And your container vegetables look amazing, the peppers are so far along.

  7. BigWhiskey says:

    Happy Days Are Here Again!!!!

  8. Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii Norma! You have been terribly missed! So glad that you are feeling better now. Those lettuces are doing really great.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Angie,
      I missed blogging and visiting blogs, but I decided if I am going to get better I had better stay out of the garden and off the computer, happy to be back.

  9. Balvinder says:

    Its great to see you back! And, glad to know that all yours pains have gone and you are keeping yourself occupied. Looking forward to see your posts!

  10. Margaret says:

    I’m so glad you are feeling better! And congrats on getting such lovely greens going under the lights – I’m hoping to do that at some point in the future, especially with lettuce. I think that’s the green that I miss the most during the winter.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Margaret,
      Thanks, growing greens under lights is surprisingly easy and convenient, problem is running out of space. Not sure if it is cost effective but the joy and satisfaction it brings is priceless.

  11. I’m glad you feel better! And that you’re back 🙂 Aspirin is a kind of a magical pill, isn’t it 🙂

  12. Eva Taylor says:

    Welcome back, my friend. So much snow, it’s hard to believe it is already spring (someone should tell Mother Nature!). I’ve planted my garlic too, now I wait to see if it will work. I’m glad that you are almost back to normal, it’s alway best to avoid pills whenever possible, an aspirin now and then isn’t bad at all.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Eva,
      Glad you were not affected by the nor’easter. I think Mother Nature is getting senile and getting the seasons all mixed up 🙂 Keep me posted on your container garlic, hope you are successful this year.

  13. Karen says:

    You’ve been missed, welcome back. Happy to hear that you are so much better…now if only that snow would melt.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Karen,
      I missed blogging and my blogging friends and am so happy to be back. Don’t you miss the winter wonderland :)? In time all the snow will melt and before long summer will be here.

Leave a Reply

