Harvest Monday, April 25, 2016 – Hardening Container Fig + Window Boxes Update

I am, unfortunately, one of those individuals who never learns. Overextended myself (again) reason for my absence.

Container fig is leafing out, time to start hardening off.

Wheeled the container from its corner to the front of the garage (and untied all the branches) where it will remain until the end of this month which means my car will be living on the driveway until then. (I do not need to move the fig tree in and out of the garage as my garage faces west and gets plenty of afternoon sun giving the fig tree enough sunlight to gradually harden off.)

DSC09081weblarge copy

∗ ∗ ∗

The Bloomsdale spinach seeds were leftover from last year so I sowed thickly and would you believe all the seeds germinated.

DSC09087weblarge copy

Spent some time thinning out the seedlings. Remaining plants (still too crowded) now have room to breathe and grow. Should be looking good in a few days and there will be another thinning/harvest soon.

DSC09089weblarge copy

Got ½+ pound of baby spinach, not bad from just thinnings.

DSC09093weblarge copy

Had planned to make a spinach egg drop soup but changed my mind and instead wilted all the spinach in garlic infused oil and topped with chopped hard boiled egg.

DSC09114weblarge copy

Was a pain to thin/harvest and clean the spinach but well worth the effort. It was the best wilted spinach and oh, so tender and sweet.

∗ ∗ ∗

The 4 varieties of bok choys are growing well in there individual window box.

DSC09105weblarge copy

Win Win Choi

This is the first year I am growing Win Win Choi. Should I pull the entire plant? Or can I harvest the outer leaves when the plants are a bit larger and will the plants continue to grow thus extending the harvest? I think I will go with the outer leaves harvest.

∗ ∗ ∗

DSC09102weblarge copy

Top: Vitamin Green. Middle: Shiro F1. Bottom: Tatsoi Rosette

∗ ∗ ∗

While the Bloomsdale spinach was directly sown in the window box, the Kookaburra spinach was started in small plastic container. The seedlings were then transplanted to the window box reason they are nicely spaced. Will harvest the outer leaves as needed allowing the plant to continue to grow thus extending the harvest.

DSC09107weblarge copy

Kookaburra Spinach

∗ ∗ ∗

The snowstorm and cold spell we had beginning of April damaged the lettuces. Removed the damaged leaves, gave the plants some TLC and am happy to report they bounced back.

DSC09125weblarge copy

Check out the beauties above, I am so looking forward to my first homegrown salad.

 ∗ ∗ ∗

This past week friends came to visit while I was working in the garden and I harvested bunches of walking onions, spring onions and garlic greens to share with them, no photos as I did not have my camera with me.

 ∗ ∗ ∗

The snowstorm and cold spell we had beginning of April also damaged most of my daffodils that were blooming or were budding.

The daffodils in the above photos are late bloomers and did not suffer any damage. They only started to bloom this past week so I will be enjoying them for a while.

…   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …  …   …  …

Copyright © by Norma Chang. All Rights Reserved. Do not use/repost any photos and/or articles without permission.

Do visit Dave at Our Happy Acres for more Harvest Monday

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Container gardening, Cooking, dairy free, Gardening, gluten free, Harvest Monday, Uncategorized, Vegetables, window box gardening and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Harvest Monday, April 25, 2016 – Hardening Container Fig + Window Boxes Update

  1. Your greens are all looking good Norma. That Kookaburra spinach is especially pretty. I don’t think I’ve ever heard of it before. And that fig tree is huge!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Dave,
      Mary N. is growing Kookaburra spinach for the first time this year because of its high resistance to mildew and she gave me some seeds to try. I will need to prune my fig tree again in the fall as it is getting too big for its winter corner 🙂

  2. Kristy says:

    Your wilted spinach salad sounds delicious!!! That would make a great lunch for me! And your window boxes look great! You’re going to have some delicious salads soon. 🙂 And here’s hoping spring is here to stay (we won’t think about the five minutes of snow today!).

  3. Angie@Angie's Recipes says:

    Always love your container gardening!

  4. Phuong says:

    You’re way ahead with your container garden. We’ve gone straight to 80 degree weather, so I’m starting the big push to get the summer vegetables planted.

  5. cheri says:

    Hi Norma, your garden container plants look so healthy. Fig trees grow very well here in Arizona, my husband and I are thinking about planting one.

  6. Margaret says:

    Well, I can completely relate when it comes to overextending yourself – I often think that things will take much less time than they actually do. And then life also gets in the way…the laundry isn’t going to do itself, now is it? 🙂

    Your fig tree is looking great! I think I may have taken mine out much too early (in March); we are still having some very cool weather with some nights near freezing. I love the idea you have of placing your fig tree at the entrance to the garage to harden off – I’ve been lugging my pots in and out onto the patio. I may try that next year as my garage faces east and gets sun all morning.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Margaret,
      No the laundry is not going to do itself nor are the dishes and pots and pans, etc.
      I am also hardening off my seedlings at the same time in front of my fig tree.

  7. Balvinder says:

    Norma, your garden sounds wonderful and.looks like things are coming along nicely!

  8. Eva Taylor says:

    You fig looks great! Mine only has leaf buds but they do look promising. I had no idea there were so many varieties of spinach, I’ll have to keep my eyes open at the farmer’s markets this summer. You’re fortunate the daffodils even came out, mine decided to take a year off. In fact, it’s been such iffy weather, even my crocuses are not great with only one or two blooms coming out and none of the snow drops came up and I know the squirrels didn’t get them because I watched the ground to make sure they weren’t digging! The hyacinths are pretty lame this year too and no grape hyacinths what-so-ever. Strange weather.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Eva,
      Strange weather indeed, no flowers on my Asian pear which means no pears this year, first time, I think the snow and cold spell we had early April did the damage. No flowers on my Eastern redbud either, thought the tree died but I see it is leafing out, but why no flowers this year? Container garlic is looking gorgeous and promising, waiting for scape to appear before writing an update, anxious to see what the bulbs will look like but will have to wait until July.

      • Eva Taylor says:

        I trimmed a few branches off my forsythia hoping to force flower them indoors…nope, only green leaves!

      • Norma Chang says:

        Hello Eva,
        Paid attention to the Eastern Redbud at Locust Grove yesterday and noticed there was hardly any flowers also, my guess is because of the warm February/March many trees budded earlier than normal and when we had that snow and extended cold spell all the buds were frozen and destroyed. I suspect that is what happened to your forsythia also.

      • Eva Taylor says:

        I also looked it up and yes, I’m sad but it’s probably what happened. Fortunately the lilacs are OK and will burst into bloom soon.

      • Eva Taylor says:

        Thanks Norma, I figured that too, so sad. Fortunately the lilacs are doing great! Japanese cherry has fewer blossoms, need more sunshine and warmth!

      • Norma Chang says:

        Hello Eva,
        Next spring we will have gorgeous blooms 🙂

  9. Your plants look so healthy and delicious. I love greens and you have so many different kinds. Love your idea of cooking with garlic oil and chopped eggs. Delicious and healthy dinner and wallet friendly too. Wishing you a super week.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Bam,
      The dish was not only delicious, healthy and wallet friendly it was also extremely easy to put together especially since I always have hard boiled eggs in the fridge. A super weekend to you.

  10. Karen says:

    I’m sure that spinach was happy to be thinned out. I didn’t realize from the photo how big it had gotten. I’m sure that which was thinned was delicious sautéed.

  11. cheri says:

    HI Norma, your spinach thinnings look delicious, I will try wilting spinach with shaved hard boiled eggs too, looks fabulous.

  12. You garden looks wonderful, so healthy and happy. Cant wait to see your fig in full bloom, figs are my fave, last of them in season here. I was reading up on how i could enjoy a herb garden indoors, seems i might be good to keep my garden going. 🙂

  13. Pingback: Harvest Monday, May 2, 2016 – Widow Box Harvest + Walking Onion | Garden to Wok

Leave a Reply

