Harvest Monday, July 6, 2015 – Bolted Radicchio + Container Little Finger Carrots

Quite a few of my radicchio have bolted which I believe is weather related. (If I remember correctly we had an unusual weather pattern earlier this year.)

DSC07882weblarge copy

Bolted Palla Rossa Mavrik Radicchio

It could also be because I started my seeds too early. Spring was very late in arriving and the nighttime temperature dipped below 50°F during the seedlings stage (this will induce bolting) then it was hot and dry a condition which will also cause bolting.

In 2013, I started my radicchio/chicory seeds late-May and had a very good harvest with solid-nice-round-red-heads. In 2014 I started my seeds mid-April and had a decent harvest, so this year I thought I would be smart and started my seeds indoors on 3/20/15 for an early harvest.

Big mistake.

Radicchio, a cool season crop, does best as a fall crop with fewer problems and also tend to produce larger heads maturing during cooler weather. So from now on I will have patience and wait until late-May/early-June to start my seeds.

I would love to find a good spring variety for the Northeast. Any recommendations?

∗ ∗ ∗

Decided to experiment with growing little finger carrots in a flower pot, the pot in the photo below is about 10-inches in diameter.

little fingers carrots (07873)

Container Grown Little Finger Carrots

As the above photo shows, the plants are happy but do need thinning.

little fingers carrots (07874)

Little Finger Carrots

Aren’t these the cutest baby carrots? and only 57 days to maturity. This would be a good garden/container project for kids.

∗ ∗ ∗

red amaranth (07895)

Garlic Scape, Green Mustard, Red Giant Mustard, Red Amaranth & One (1) Duganski Garlic

In the basket above are a few missed garlic scapes they are also the last treat until next spring.

I knew the Duganski garlic was not yet ready for harvest but the inquiring mind needed to know what the bulb looked like at this stage so I pulled one. Leaving it in the shed to cure to see what happens. Will it develop purple stripes?

Will be combining the green and red giant mustard and freeze for winter use in soup.

The red amaranth freezes well also so they too will be going into the freezer.

∗ ∗ ∗

NO broccoli this year.

damaged broccoli (07877)

Damaged Broccoli Plants

Saw a rabbit in my veggie garden and stupid me did not chase it out. The above is the result. Apparently that rabbit had a fondness for broccoli. It also nibbled on the collard and kale but left everything else.

My rabbit is into healthy eating.

∗ ∗ ∗

Rabbits also love kohlrabi.

damaged kohlrabi (07867)

Damaged Early White Vienna Kohlrabi

I believe the above damage was done by another rabbit (I have quite a few living on my property).

early white vienna kohlrabi (07883)

Early White Vienna Kohlrabi

Did salvage 2 undamaged kohlrabis from the other end of the window box.

This is the last time I am planting early white Vienna as I prefer purple kolibri they are also so pretty in both the garden and window box.

…   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …  …   …  …

Copyright © by Norma Chang. All Rights Reserved. Do not use/repost any photos and/or articles without permission.

Visit Daphne’s Dandelions http://daphnesdandelions.blogspot.com/ for more Harvest Mondays

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Container gardening, Garden pests, Gardening, Harvest Monday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Harvest Monday, July 6, 2015 – Bolted Radicchio + Container Little Finger Carrots

  1. Saskia (1=2) says:

    Oh those little baby carrots look gorgeous, and that’s a great suggestion – they do look like the perfect project for kids (especially kids with a tiny garden; ie. mine)! Your basket of leaves is lovely, especially the amaranth.
    Oh that naughty rabbit!! Brings back memories of Peter Rabbit, my favorite book as a child.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Saskia,
      Your kids will enjoy growing baby carrots, I can hear them squealing as they pull each carrot. I get more excited over these little finger than I do with the regular size carrots.

  2. dvelten says:

    I gave up on radicchio, it always bolts. Too bad about the rabbit damage. We had one in the garden last year that ate my beets. I think by then my broccoli was tall enough it couldn’t reach the leaves. And my Duganski garlic is looking like it may be the first to need harvesting. Right now the wrappers are white, maybe the cloves are striped.

  3. daphnegould says:

    Too bad about the rabbits. The kohlrabi looks good though, even though they ate the leaves.

  4. Angie@Angie's Recipes says:

    What a great harvest! I want those red amaranth!

  5. kim says:

    rabbits can do plenty of damage, we have a nice large hawk population here that
    takes care of the problem. Have the deer left things alone this year? I’m harvesting
    cucumbers and tomatoes :0), all my lettuces bolted with a week of 90 plus temps.
    Happy gardening :0).

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Kim,
      No, the deer are still coming and doing damage. You are way ahead with your cucumbers and tomatoes. I see a few cherry tomatoes, still green though. Did not plant cucumbers and no cucumber harvest at Locust Grove yet.

  6. I have been itching to take a couple of photos of my tiny beds for you but alas the rain has beaten me to it all the time so far.
    Have a beautiful and happy week ahead Norma.
    🙂 Mandy xo

  7. Margaret says:

    Dang rabbits – they have made a mess of my garden in the past & also eaten several annuals we planted last year. All of my veg beds are now fenced with chicken wire, otherwise I would probably harvest very little.

    I’m not impressed with the Early White Vienna kohlrabi either. I’m trying out Kolibri to see if it does better in my garden, but may have planted it too late as we are now in the heat of summer.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Margaret,
      My veggie garden is surrounded with chicken wire, the rabbit got in because I had a gap in the gate. I think you will like kolibri especially the color.

  8. Eva Taylor says:

    I love bunnies but the surely do a lot of damage. At any rate, they are a thankful lot and I’m sure are very grateful that you planted the things they like!
    I didn’t plant anything in my boxes on the garage and now the weeds are doing great! The rise of Sharon has dropped its seeds and I haven’t had a chance to get to them and they are taking over. When I checked last, foggy still had all four figs, fingers crossed that they’ll still be there when we get back tomorrow. How is your fig doing? Do you recall what type of fig we have? I’ve lost the card that came with it.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Eva,
      I find rose of Sharon to be a pain, my neighbour has them and I am constantly pulling seedlings from my garden beds. Keeping my fingers crossed for you figs to mature. My figs are fine, neighbour’s kid water the plant when I am away. I think the variety I have is Brown Turkey Fig.

  9. mac says:

    Sorry about the rabbit damage, but the carrots are so cute, it gives me hope for planting in carrots in container again. How’s the taste and texture of frozen amaranth? I’ve never tried to freeze it, does the red variety freezes better than the green ones?

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Mac,
      Frozen amaranth is definitely not the same as fresh but I am OK with it especially during the winter months. I personally find the green ones freeze a bit better but I am OK with both.

  10. Susie says:

    Oof, darn bunnies. So cute, but so annoying! I’ve finally captured (via night vision trail camera) a skunk that is going through my compost – hopefully it sticks to the rotting stuff versus the fresh. Thanks for sharing your radicchio issues. I had wanted to grow some myself this year but couldn’t find seeds. If I grow it next year, I’ll know what “bolting” looks like.

  11. Maureen | Orgasmic Chef says:

    I love those cute carrots. Bunnies are cut but they are a huge pest in Australia. Can you put cages over the veggies?

  12. Hello Norma! Even with critter control issues your harvest is still doing well. When living in the States I was always blaming the rabbits for eating my herbs and plants and then found the real culprit…mama deer, her sister, brother and whole extended family were having an eat fest in my garden. Caught them red handed one morning about 5am… I hope you are doing well.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Bam,
      I have a family of deer, or could be 2 or more families, passing through multiple times each day and they do major damage, veggie garden is surrounded by a 10-foot fence.

  13. We have rabbits, too, and if I plant carrots, greens or radish, they go to town. Right now the only things surviving in my shaded garden are squash and green beans, and they don’t seem to care for those, plus I have my “pick up sticks” criss crossed to deter. Love your baby carrots and your produce that has survived the rabbits looks so healthy.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Betsy,
      My neighbor’s trees have grown quite a bit and half of my garden is shaded need to look into crops that can tolerate partial shades. Good to know that squash and beans can tolerate shade.

  14. Sophie33 says:

    A good decent multiple harvest, dear Norma! 🙂 I have also damage on my purple kohlrabi’s that are growing. A few are nibbled on,..big sigh! They need to mature more before we shall eat them! I also love the different types of mustard leaves,..;Yum Yum Yumm! Too bad for your broccoli’s! 😦

  15. Everytime I visit this blog, you always give me new ideas Ms. Norma. I just saw how amazing those carrots were, and I got to thinking about a dish I am going to make for dinner tonight. I am sad to hear about your broccoli’s though.

  16. Lrong says:

    Nice color from the amaranth… have not been growing kohlrabi for a while now… hope to do so soon…

  17. Got me some of those baby finger carrots at the markets on the weekend, we are having them with some roast lamb for dinner tonight. Cant wait. Looks like your garden is producing some seriously amazing foods, and the critters eating from it dont seem to be stopping it from being awesome. We had to put mesh over our veggie garden a few years back, the neighbors dog had a thing for our cherry tomatoes. Ha!

    Hope you are well lovely Norma. Happy rest of week to you. 🙂

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hell Anna,
      Roast lamb and baby carrots, I am coming for dinner.
      Garden is doing OK, getting too shaded because of the neighbour’s trees, need to rethink what I grow. I believe there are some crops that do well in partial shade, need to research. That’s my winter project.

  18. I love those little carrots, but love the idea of ‘your’ healthy bunnies even more!

  19. hotlyspiced says:

    What a shame about the broccoli! That wascally wabbit! A bit like the numerous possums we have here. We have also had strange weather that’s affecting our crops. We’re currently having our coldest winter in decades with a lot of snow predicted this weekend (outside of Sydney), something that rarely ever happens xx

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Charlie,
      Guess we all have to deal with critters no matter where in the world we live.
      How cold does your winter get? Will there be snow where you live?

  20. haha! I love the bit about the healthy-eating rabbit! Love it 🙂

  21. Pingback: Harvest Monday, July 13, 2015 – Un-Retiring Window Boxes + Container Sweet Potatoes | Garden to Wok

Leave a Reply

