Walkway Over the Hudson First Marathon

Yesterday, Saturday, June 13, 2015 was the Walkway Over the Hudson inaugural marathon.

Oh, what a day it was!

This was an historic event in the Hudson Valley sponsored by the nonprofit Walkway Over the Hudson. I volunteered to help as I am a walkway volunteer and certainly wanted to be part of it.

walkway over the Hudson (07857)

Walkway Over the Hudson Marathon Volunteer T-Shirt

As instructed, me and 2 of my volunteer friends arrived at the boathouse of Marist College, Poughkeepsie, NY, around 5:30 a.m. all excited.

This was my first experience at a marathon and had no idea what to expect.

The day started out looking very threatening. Will there be a thunderstorm? Kept fingers crossed and hoping not. Turned out to be a beautiful day, the sun came out, humidity was low, a bit gusty at times but overall a gorgeous day.

A total of 2500 runners registered for the 3 races – Treetops to Rooftops 5K, 13.1 miles half marathon and 26.2 miles full marathon representing 31 states and 6 countries.

The full marathon was a certified qualifying race for the Boston Marathon. I met one runner who qualified, another missed by 3 minutes but she was not disappointed because she had exceeded her personal best time. Another runner was so awed by the view of the Hudson River from the Walkway, stopped to take photos, and guess what? She lost time as a result but was OK with that as the view was just breathtaking and she had to take some photos.

The Walkway race is adhering to a strict set of 13 “committed practices” in order to be deemed the first “Green Race” in New York State, certified by Athletes for a Fit Planet http://afitplanet.com/

walkway over the Hudson marathon (07858)

Walkway Over the Hudson Marathon T-Shirt

burnout fabric (07864)

Burnout (devoré) Fabric

The half and full Marathon runners t-shirt was made with “burnout” (also known as devoré) fabric. I had no idea what burnout fabric was but one of the runners who is familiar with it  explained it to me. Here is a link to learn more.

Here is video from the Poughkeepsie Journal and reporting from the Daily Freeman about the Marathon.

I had a wonderful time volunteering for the marathon, met many wonderful runners, will definitely volunteer again next year.

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Husdon Valley and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Walkway Over the Hudson First Marathon

  1. Kristy says:

    That would be fun to volunteer for a marathon. They always have such a great energy. I really admire the runners. While physically I know I could train to run one, it is the mental aspect that would likely prove too challenging. It takes great mental strength. My dad has run several (just finished one last weekend) and I’m always in awe. Glad you had fun Norma!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Kristy,
      Congratulations to your Dad, that’s awesome. I have neither the energy nor the mental aspect to participate in a marathon, runners sure are great athletes.

  2. daphnegould says:

    That sounds like a fun day. My brother is a marathon runner. I used to run, but 10K was about what I liked. A marathon seems like a long distance to me.

  3. Angie@Angie's Recipes says:

    Glad to know that you had a great time, Norma. I am not a runner, all I do is just running-in-place and I am not sure I really enjoy it, but I keep going..well, it’s better than nothing.

  4. cheri says:

    Hi Norma, sounds like a wonderful time, I’ve always wanted to participate in something like that as a volunteer. Glad the weather was cooperating!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Cheri,
      I sure was glad there was no thunderstorm as the Walkway would have to close if there was one and the runners would not be able to qualify for the Boston marathon.

  5. Hey Norma, thanks for sharing this with us. I’ve never participated in a marathon but whenever one goes by our house (NYC marathon) we always stand outside and cheer!

  6. Runners are always so appreciative of volunteers! I’ve been on both sides: a participant and a volunteer! Such a fun time. I’m glad it was a good first experience for you. I didn’t know that type of fabric was called burnout! I can see why though 🙂

  7. chef mimi says:

    So nice of you to be a volunteer! I used to do bike rides and the volunteers were my favorite part of the rides!!!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Chef Mimi,
      Getting up at 4:a.m. to be on site at 5:30 a.m. was a challenge but the day went well and I had a great time. I am fortunate to have the time, health and energy to do volunteer activities.

  8. Sophie33 says:

    That is so cool about you being a volunteer! 🙂 yes!

  9. What fun. I think it’s so special that you give so much of your time to your community.

  10. It sounds like a wonderful race, and the t-shirts are some of the neatest ones I’ve see. My marathon and half marathon days are behind me, but I always appreciated the many volunteers it took to make the races happen. And thank you for sharing your experience with us!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Dave,
      It was a wonderful race and the weather cooperated. Your marathon and half marathon days may be behind you but you could still participate in the 5K. May be I will see you on the Walkway, we have many visitors from Pennsylvania.

  11. Hey ya Norma, Happy Monday! I do hope you had a rippa weekend.
    It sure sounds like you had a wonderful time, I love being involved and volunteering for events happening in my community, it is often the best way to really experience things without having to blow a lung running or spend a fortune buying tickets. Great you had tops weather too.

Leave a Reply

