Harvest Monday, March 16, 2015 – More Indoor Seed Starting + Updates

This past week was a week of waiting.

Waiting for the snow to disappear.

Unfortunately my yard (front, sides and back) is still white. First day of spring is this Friday, March 20, only 4 days away, will all the snow disappear by then?

snow scene (07318)

Photo taken March 15, 2015

There is hope, the above photo taken yesterday shows non-white (grassy) areas along the side of my walkway leading up to the front door. Today is going to be warm so will most of the week and by the end of the week all of the snow will disappear????? Wishing. Well, not all but most.

∗ ∗ ∗

Waiting for the seeds I started the week before to germinate.

Good news! Four of the 6 variety of onions germinated (5 days) so did the leeks (5 days) and both carrots (yellow & purple 6 days).

The yellow flat Dutch onion, Brunswick onion and celeriac hopefully will germinate this week.

onion seedlings (07326)

Onion seedlings under grow lights

∗ ∗ ∗

Last week I started 6 varieties of lettuce. These are for container gardening.

seeding lettuce (07297)

Lettuce: Deer Tongue, Romaine, Oak Leaf, Lolla Rosa, Forellenschluss & Cimarron

Because the lettuces do not all germinate at the same time, I cut the cell packs in halves enabling me to move the germinated ones under the grow lights ASAP.

The Forellenschluss germinated (3 days) and is under the grow lights. The others should germinate this week, I think.

∗ ∗ ∗

This past week I also started Shanghai Bok Choy, Calabrese Broccoli and Happy Rich Asian green (a cross between gai lan and broccoli but much easier to grow than gai lan). These are for container gardening also.

seed starting (07305)

Left to right: Shanghai Bok Choy, Calabrese Broccoli & Happy Rich Asian Green

All the above germinated  in 3 days and are now under the grow lights (below photo).

seedlings under grow lights (07331)

Shanghai Bok Choy, Calabrese Broccoli, Happy Rich Asian Green & Forellenschluss Lettuce under grow lights

It will be a long while before my garden is dry enough for me to till for early spring planting so all the above and all the lettuces will be grown in containers. In a few weeks I will start additional seeds for whenever the garden is ready.

∗ ∗ ∗

I stored one of the pencil thin Okinawan sweet potato from last fall’s harvest in plastic bag hoping it would make it through the winter.

It did but was all shriveled up. Decided to soak it in water overnight to see what would happen, and, to my amazement, it plumped up.

Okinawan sweet potato

Okinawan Sweet Potato

Debated whether to root in it water or plant it in pro-mix. Chose the latter and hoping it will root and sprout (the re-purposed tofu container was just the right size). But if it does not, that’s OK as I will be rooting cuttings from my fall potted slips that are now growing as houseplants.

∗ ∗ ∗

Also this past week I started rooting Purple and Georgia Jet sweet potato slips for Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden (LGHVG).

Click here to  learn which end of the sweet potato to immerse in water when rooting. Click here to learn all about growing sweet potato.

First day of spring is Friday, March 20, only 4 days away.

…   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …  …   …

Copyright © by Norma Chang. All Rights Reserved. Do not use/repost any photos and/or articles without permission.

Visit Daphne’s Dandelions http://daphnesdandelions.blogspot.com/ for more Harvest Mondays

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Gardening, Growing sweet potatoes, Harvest Monday, Heritage vegetable garden, Locust Grove, Uncategorized, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Harvest Monday, March 16, 2015 – More Indoor Seed Starting + Updates

  1. Eva Taylor says:

    Your garden will be gorgeous with all those beautiful seedlings. It rained all day Saturday and fortunately it melted a lot of the snow but there is still about 10″ on the garden. I’m am so over winter.

  2. You’ve been busy! I can’t wait to see all your plants in your garden.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Maureen,
      Being coop up indoor for extended period due to the weather, I would drive myself and everyone around me crazy if I did not have a project to keep busy. I am so ready to get my hands in the garden dirt.

  3. Angie@Angie's Recipes says:

    Can’t believe there’s still so much snow there…we have a really early spring this year, though the early morning was still freezing cold, but the temperature in the middle of the day has reached up to 15C.

  4. Margaret says:

    Growing the sweet potato plants inside over the winter as houseplants is an ingenious idea! I wish I had more of a green thumb when it comes to indoor plants. Do they need direct sun (like a south facing window) over the winter?

  5. Oh my goodness! That is a thick layer of snow! Glad to see it doesn’t slow down your gardening efforts. I’m looking forward to seeing your crop of lettuce!

  6. I am waiting for spring too. And waiting for seeds to come up. At least our snow is gone. I hope yours goes away soon!

  7. hotlyspiced says:

    Just four sleeps until Spring. Not long to go now. It’s good to see you can now get to your front door without trampling through snow. I do hope the warm weather causes that snow to melt in time for your first day of Spring xx

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Charlie,
      No not long to go, I am so looking forward to Friday. Most of the snow on the lawn should be gone, I hope, but not the snow banks by the driveway, they are solid ice.

  8. Susie says:

    Six varieties of lettuce? My goodness. I had decided to try some new lettuce this year myself but got lazy and just bought the usual “mesclun” or other mixed packets. I’ll watch for the results of that early germinating one of yours (the one with the long german name 🙂 ) – I like the idea of having lettuce soon!

    By the way, I just noticed your page on salt – I also only use Diamond Crystal kosher salt so thanks for the conversions for when I use other people’s recipes!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Susie,
      Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to leave a comment. The forellenschluss lettuce is a pretty lettuce and tasty too, one of my favorite.
      Glad you found my salt post useful.

  9. cheri says:

    Hi Norma, I am learning so much about gardening from you, thank you!

  10. Great post Norma! I am sad to see the white stuff in your yard but wow you have everything ready to go for when the ground thaws. You have been a very busy girl.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Bam,
      Know something, I am so used to looking out the windows and seeing all white for so long I am going to miss the snow scenes. Will take sometime and adjustment to get used to the greens and browns.

  11. daphnegould says:

    I hadn’t heard of Happy Rich Asian greens before. Take lots of photos and tell us how they do. It sounds very interesting.

  12. Finally the snow is going done. I am just waiting for spring just like you are Ms. Norma :). I can’t wait till you start planting.

  13. Bok Choy is absolutely my favourite, excited to see how yours turns out 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  14. Juliana says:

    OMG! Still all this ice…the little seeds germinating are so cute…I look forward to the see the plants and the vegetables coming out from them.
    Have a great week Norma 🙂

  15. Hi, Norma! I hope you’re staying warm!! I’m rooting for your sweet potato. It’s been my favorite snack for months now and the world always needs more sweet potatoes =)

  16. damn , i wish you lived nearby Norma, i need it as garnish for my plating presentation, lol

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Dedy,
      If we lived near each other I would be happy to supply you with all the garnishes you need and I know I would be eating very well from you kitchen.

  17. shenANNAgans says:

    It really must feel never ending. I can’t believe that layer of snow, but it doesn’t seem to stop you from getting your garden on and creating magic. Wish I was that inspired during the colder months. Cant wait to see what your summer crop produces if your winter crop does this. 🙂

  18. I’m so glad to check back here and see MUCH less snow than the last time. Here’s hoping that is the last accumulation you’ll see this year!

  19. Pingback: Harvest Monday, April 13, 2015 – Bumping Up Snap Peas Seedlings + Sweet Potatoes Slips | Garden to Wok

Leave a Reply

