Only In New York

Have wanted to organize my photos for a long, long time and it was on my 2014 end-of-year-to-do list, but never got done because I was not feeling up to par. Now that I am feeling a lot better decided to tackle it before gardening season rolls around.

While organizing, came across the following photos:

man walaking turtle (IMG_0224)

Man walking his pet turtle on the sidewalk of 5th Avenue by Central Park, NYC

Yes, that’s a man walking his turtle on the sidewalk of 5th Avenue by Central Park, NYC. The turtle is a she and her name is Cindy.

When I saw the sight, my first thought was “Only in New York!”

What are your thoughts?????

turtle on the sidewalk of NYC (IMG_0221)

Turtle on the sidewalk of 5th Avenue by Central Park, NYC

walking turtle (IMG_0223)

Same Turtle, different angle

Above photos were taken in the spring of 2013 by my daughter Kathy when we visited NYC
Thank you Kathy!!!!!

Wondering if the man is still walking his turtle?

∗ ∗ ∗

Would you believe it snowed again yesterday (March 1). Doesn’t mother nature realize we do not need any more snow?

The temperature has been way below freezing for weeks (day and night) as a result the accumulated snow is not melting. Yesterday’s fresh snow added a few more inches on top of the more than 1½ feet of snow still covering the ground not to mention the more than 4 feet high snow bank by my driveway.

This is from this morning’s local paper: “According to the National Weather Service, February was, on average, the coldest month on record in Poughkeepsie with an average temperature of 15.6 degrees.” Poughkeepsie Journal, March 2, 2015

First day of spring is only 18 days away, when will I see some grass? Will I have a spring garden?????

…   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …  …   …

Copyright © by Norma Chang. All Rights Reserved. Do not use/repost any photos and/or articles without permission.

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Husdon Valley, New York, New York City and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to Only In New York

  1. Angie@Angie's Recipes says:

    wow…this is the very first time I saw and knew that you can walk a turtle!!!

  2. my first responds is WTF, i bet the tree-hugging animal right warrior gonna sue him for that, lol

  3. Living in NY now, I totally agree – only in New York! 🙂

  4. Karen says:

    Only in NY is right…thanks for sharing the photos. I totally know where you are coming from in regards to the snow. I just came in from shoveling our walkway again and trying to chip some of the ice off our drive. I can’t even see the picket fence around my garden as the snow is so high. I should be pruning the apples trees this month but there is no way I could even carry a ladder over the huge piles lining the orchard from all the plowing and there is at least three feet covering the ground. Oh well, such is life some years…I keep telling myself this is the last winter I’ll have to do it…I can’t wait for the move to Florida. 😀

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Karen,
      Shoveling the snow was easy as it remained fluffy, chipping away the ice was awful, my arms hurt for days. You must be busy getting your house ready for sale and planning your move, how exciting.

      • Karen says:

        Very busy indeed. We have two home inspections between now and the end of April when we get our keys. We can’t put our house up for sale until all the snow melts as buyers will want to be able to inspect our apple orchard…hopefully the huge snow piles start to melt soon. 😀

      • Norma Chang says:

        Hello Karen,
        Bet you can’t wait to get the keys to your new home. Wishing you all the very best. You are such an efficient and organized person I just know everything will go as planned.

  5. lizthechef says:

    I cannot believe the winter you are experiencing. And we are in the worst drought in CA’s history – overjoyed by an inch of rain yesterday and our rain tanks are completely full for deep garden watering.

  6. sue marquis bishop says:

    I have Spring fever too! Sue
    Womenlivinglifeafter50.com

  7. Margaret says:

    When I saw that first photo is looked like the turtle was hanging from the leash in mid-air! And like you, I’m anxiously awaiting spring – we are getting a storm tomorrow, but at least the temperatures are improving – it will be a high of 0C/32F – whoo hoo! (only after a winter this bad would that be a cause to celebrate!).

  8. daphnegould says:

    We made a record for cold and snow in February. We could use a few more inches of snow though If we just get a few more we will break the winter record for snow. Though after we get it I want a warm up and fast.

  9. mac says:

    First time I see a turtle walker! Thanks for sharing the photo.
    Wish the snow thaws for you guys soon.

  10. This is a first for me for sure! Walking a turtle?!! Glad you are feeling so much better. Stay warm and well!

  11. chef mimi says:

    Hahahaha! My daughter just moved from London to NYC and she just told me that she’s never been so cold! I don’t think she’s acclimated yet, since she’s mostly lived in Texas and Oklahoma!

  12. Since I’m from the city, I’d have to agree with you Ms. Norma lol. I’ve actually seen worse then this, this is tame and quite funny. Amazing photos

  13. Haha, I suppose turtles need some outside leisure time too, huh? I feel like we’re the only ones who didn’t get any snow though from what I’ve gathered, that seems to have been a blessing. Stay warm, Norma!

  14. hotlyspiced says:

    I have to confess I have never seen anyone walk a pet turtle. Only in New York! Clearly the turtle is much loved and that’s the main thing. So sorry to hear that Spring did not arrive promptly and that you’ve had yet more snow xx

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Charlie,
      Too bad you did not encounter the man walking his turtle in Central Park when you visited NYC. Spring may be late this year but it will arrive, not too late I hope.

  15. Juliana says:

    Yes, only in New York…it is kind of hilarious…walking a turtle…
    I cannot complain about the weather after seeing so much snow, but I am still look forward to spring…
    Stay warm Norma 🙂

  16. cheri says:

    Very creative leash for the turtle, I guess they would be a very quiet pet if you lived in a apartment. Anyway, I feel badly about the weather you all are having, it’s barely rained here.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Cheri,
      We will have single digit temp tonight but starting tomorrow we will be in the 30’s and low 40’s during the day and 20’s at night, spring is around the corner.

  17. Thanks for the good laugh Norma! Sending some warm thoughts and breezes your way.

  18. Eva Taylor says:

    The weather certainly has been brutal. Environment Canada has already declared that it was the coldest February on record. Ever. Yesterday I walked up to a coffee shop with a friend (20 minutes) and the tips of my fingers froze. As did my thighs even though I was wearing a long down coat. I’m sick of this weather.
    What a strange thing to see in NYC. I hope he cleans that turtles underside when he brings her home, it must be disgustingly filthy.

  19. I’m liking this because of the turtle…not the snow! How cool to see someone walking a turtle! I have artist friends who rescued a turtle in Florida whose shell had been damaged and they have him as a pet. His name is Bob and he has his own Facebook page…he’s become “known” in the arts festival circuit. I don’t know if Bob would tolerate a leash, but I’m sharing your post! 🙂 I do hope you’ve seen the last of the snow and that some warm Spring weather is on its way.

  20. Amira says:

    OMG!! this is so funny… walking a turtle.!!. this is cool. I have never seen someone walking a turtle before.. but she looks poor in this belt :(… Last year we had snow in May!!! can you believe that!!!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Amira,
      It was a hilarious sight. We had snow mid-April last year, hope that is not so this year, we have more than enough snow for a long long while.

  21. I received an email from my sister who said the temp was 40 and the sap is running in the maple trees. Spring is on the way. however, That means that winter will soon be upon us. Carole is coming to visit at the end of June and I can’t wait. for the syrup. 🙂

    I think walking your turtle is a bit much. The job would take all day to get to the corner!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Oh Maureen,
      Bet you are anxiously waiting for the arrival of you sister, how exciting, will she be staying the whole summer? Oh no, but it will be winter in your part of the world. This week’s warm days and cool night, maple syrup should have a good run this year. Besides maple sysrup she’ll probably bring you some maple sugar and maple candy as well.

  22. Sophie33 says:

    How cool is that, I would say! 🙂 hahahahahahha!

  23. Sophie33 says:

    The turtle & the owner needs some excercise!

  24. Marina says:

    I visited someone in Mt Sinai hospital on 16th and 1st Ave. today. While walking to the entrance I passed this man but he now has 2 turtles. I had to google it when I got home to see if anyone else had seen him. Yes, he’s still walking his turtles

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Marina,
      Thanks for visiting and taking the time to tell me about the turtles walker, I wonder if it is the same person or another turtle walker?

Leave a Reply

