Harvest Monday, October 20, 2014 – Garden Clean Up + Last Harvest of Some Crops

Veggie garden clean up was in full swing this past week and a good thing as there was a freeze warning for last night and when I looked out the window this morning there is frost on the roof of my shed. So glad I brought my containers of Okinawan sweet potatoes, Trinidad perfume peppers and window box bok choys into the garage for protection.

It seemed like just the other day when I was writing about the first harvest of the following crops and now I am writing about the last harvest. Where did the year go?????

Before pulling up and discarding the plants I harvested what was usable.

misc harvest (06846)

Left to right: Tri-color Amaranth, Broccoli, Gai Lan, Smooth Skin Luffa, Red Noodle Beans & Chinese Long Beans.

In the above basket, there is a little bit of this and a little bit of that, will need to be creative when preparing them.

Also harvested callaloo (amaranth) but forgot to take photos.

◊ ◊ ◊

brandywine tomato (IMG_0598)

Brandywine Tomato

Last of the Brandywine tomatoes. No more vine ripened homegrown tomatoes until next year. That is so sad as I will have to wait until next summer to enjoy tomato (I do not eat store bought tomatoes, yes, I am spoilt).

◊ ◊ ◊

sweet 100 & black pearl cherry tomatoes (06850)

Cherry Tomatoes – Sweet 100 & Black Pearl

Last of the cherry tomatoes. Both the Sweet 100 and the Black Pearl cherry tomatoes are very flavorful and I like both a lot but will not be growing Sweet 100 next year as they split very easily, looking for another yellow cherry. Definitely planting Black Pearl again.

Both the Black Pearl cherry tomato seeds and the Trinidad perfume pepper seeds were gifts from Dave of Our Happy Acres. Thank you Dave!

◊ ◊ ◊

Ping Tung eggplant (06918)

Ping Tung Eggplant

Some of you may recall my writing about growing Ping Tung Eggplant among my annuals. While cleaning up the flower bed I came across the above 3 Ping Tung Eggplants hiding among the annuals. What a pleasant surprise!!!!! The one at the top in the above photo was badly damaged by critters and went into the compost pile. The other 2 are in the fridge as I cannot decide how I want to prepare them.

Very happy with the results of the Ping Tung eggplant among the annuals also liked how it looked among the flowers. Will be experimenting with planting more varieties of edibles among my annuals next year.

◊ ◊ ◊

Asian pears (IMG_0593)

Asian Pears

Brought in all my Asian pears. Unfortunately most of them are deformed (like the one on the right), damage done by stink bugs. Did get about a dozen perfect ones (like the one on the left), it weight about 6 ounces (a pretty good size) crisp, sweet and juicy. Delicious!

Next year I am going to make some sacks (using netting from the fabric store) to bag the pears and hope that will prevent the stink bugs from attacking them.

…   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …  …   … Copyright © by Norma Chang. All Rights Reserved. Do not use/repost any photos and/or articles without permission.

Visit Daphne’s Dandelions http://daphnesdandelions.blogspot.com/ for more Harvest Mondays

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Gardening, Harvest Monday, Uncategorized, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Harvest Monday, October 20, 2014 – Garden Clean Up + Last Harvest of Some Crops

  1. dvelten says:

    What a nice end of season haul. Even tomatoes and a few surprise eggplants.

  2. cheri says:

    HI Norma, your eggplant looks like it did very well, I had trouble this year with mine, was told I needed more calcium in the soil. Enjoy your Monday posts.

  3. We haven’t scheduled our fall clean-up yet but…it’s almost time. I expect to find some vegetables hiding just as you did. But, we do have a lot of lettuce in the hoop house to harvest which is ready right now. Gardening never ends!!!

  4. That’s a great harvest selection for October! Too bad about the stink bugs. Hopefully the netting will keep them away next year.

  5. That’s a great clean up harvest, Norma. I LOVE those colourful amaranth!

  6. Your tomatoes look perfect! So glad you were able to beat the freeze and move your conrainers!

  7. How wonderful to be able to only have home grown tomatoes. Now that is envy inducing! 😀

  8. Michelle says:

    I’m with you Norma, I don’t eat store bought tomatoes either. Yours sure look good for the end of the season.

  9. Margaret says:

    Beautiful end of season harvests – I was so tired of tomatoes a month ago but of course it doesn’t take long for me to start craving them again! And there is nothing better than a surprise harvest!

  10. Where DID the year go? Geez louise! I love your harvest, it seems that no matter what the external factors may be, your veggies are always so beautiful, Norma!

  11. Eva Taylor says:

    Oh, there is a Thai basil eggplant curry that is TDF! Hope you make that. I love using those long skinny eggplants, they’re so much lovelier than the Italian variety. We haven’t had frost yet but that’s the lake effect we enjoy. We will bring Figgy in this week.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Eva,
      I did not grow Thai basil. I am thinking of baking them with a miso dressing, got to find some time to be in the kitchen but outdoor works need to get done before it get too cold. I dislike working outdoor on cold windy days. The texture of the Chinese eggplant is much silkier, no seed and is never bitter, a real winner.

  12. daphnegould says:

    Lovely harvests. And when I could eat tomatoes I was like you are. I won’t eat those awful store bought ones. Occasionally I’d have the cherry tomatoes (and usually regret it), but never a big one. They never tasted anything like a tomato.

  13. hotlyspiced says:

    Your tomatoes look perfect. What a shame about the bugs on the Asian pears! The eggplants look great and I always use that variety in Asian cooking xx

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Charlie,
      Guess the stink bugs preferred the pears over the tomatoes and did not attack the tomatoes reason they are perfect.
      Ping Tung eggplants are good in non-Asian cooking also, they are interchangeable with the non-Asian.

  14. Your harvest looks amazing as usual Ms. Norma. And I love those Asian pears. I wish I had some right now.

  15. ChgoJohn says:

    The year did fly by, Norma. I would hardly call myself spoilt for not eating store-bought tomatoes in the off-season. We’ve refined taste, that’s all. 🙂 You sure did have a log growing season, though. To still be picking tomatoes this late is wonderful. I picked my last, all green, 2 weeks ago and made relish with them. Oh, well. Soon seeds will be planted for next year’s gardens.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello John,
      Yep, we’ve got refined taste :). Really like your “refined taste” phrase and will be using it a lot in the future. Before thinking about next year’s planting I am hoping this coming winter is milder than the last.

  16. I can imagine all kinds of delicious dishes with your end of the year harvest. I can almost smell your fresh tomatoes from here. This year I planted many fresh herbs on the window seal they are doing lovely but nothing compared to what you have done here. Have a super week.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Bam,
      To have fresh herbs growing on the window sill in Hong Kong is no easy task, congrats. What herbs are you growing? Hope you were not affected by the recent typhoons. A super week to you too.

      • Thanks Norma, from seeds I have grown parsley, thyme and some micro herbs from Germany. The parsley and thyme are doing well and use them a lot in cooking. If I had more window seal space I would grow more. Take Care

      • Norma Chang says:

        Hello Bam,
        Glad your parsley and thyme are doing well, so convenient and practical having herbs available at ones fingertip to harvest as needed not to mention no waste.

  17. Juliana says:

    Oh Norma…I love visiting you and seeing your Monday harvest…awesome! The eggplants look so good…indeed huge.
    Thanks for the pictures…have a wonderful week 🙂

  18. Karen says:

    You certainly had a terrific growing season. I usually grow sun gold for my small yellow tomato variety although it is usually more orange than yellow.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Karen,
      I grew sun gold in previous years but decided to try sweet 100 this year, may switch back to sun gold next year, thanks for the reminder.
      My daughter made your Pan Seared Sea Scallops With Bacon Lardons (I had sent her your post with the recipe). She called to say your recipe was easy to follow and she was able to put together the dish without much effort (she did not make the polenta). She and my son-in-law thoroughly enjoyed the finished results. Says she will definitely be making it again and again.

  19. How wonderful to get such a nice end of the season harvest…and those tomatoes, I’m turning green with envy! Can’t believe it’s frost time already. Where does the time go?

  20. Who needs store bought when you have such terrific tomatoes on your own? 😀
    Sorry about the bug on your Asian pears!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  21. wow, even your garden clean up is amazing!!!

  22. What a beautiful haul! And what variety the fall brings to us. I love the fact that you harvested tomatoes and eggplants AND Asian pears. I love the fall.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Susan,
      Fall is my favorite time of the year also, love the colors and the frost will sweeten my root crops (carrots, parsnips and celeriac) Unfortunately this is the last of the tomatoes, eggplants and Asian pears until next summer.

  23. I want to be able to eat only home grown tomatoes. Your cleanup and our planting – the world goes around.

Leave a Reply

