Harvest Monday, April 28, 2014 – Transplanting, Fertilizing & Container Fig

Yea, had perfect gardening weather on Friday (cloudy with some sun, warm and calm) and I was feeling good. Spent some time in the garden (first time this year) and got quite a bit done in one day.

Transplanted my snap pea seedlings into the garden. Just in time as the seedlings in the cell pack started to show signs of decline.

For once, my timing was perfect. Got the seedlings into the ground Friday afternoon  it rained overnight, was partly cloudy on Saturday and rained in the late afternoon. All the seedlings are happy (no sign of transplant shock) and am sure will grow well.

Snap peas (06352)Snap Pea Seedlings
They were hardened off before transplanting into the garden bed

∞ ∞ ∞

Also removed the leaf mulch from the strawberry bed and fertilized. There was no need to reset any plants as there was no heaving. (Due to the long cold winter the ground stayed frozen the whole winter, there was no thawing and freezing and therefore no heaving.)

Strawberries (06355) Strawberries
Lots of flower clusters on the plants. Looking forward to a bountiful harvest

∞ ∞ ∞

Garlic growing well. They too got fertilized.

Garlic (06356) Garlic
There are 2 plants growing together on the left, one will be removed and used in cooking
Garlic greens are special spring treat

Will be pulling (and enjoying) every other garlic plant from the rows to allow the remaining plants sufficient room to grow and develop large garlic heads.

∞ ∞ ∞

While removing the leaf mulch from a bed, I came upon the following:

Chicory/radicchio (06360)Chicory/radicchio (06361) Chicory/Radicchio
Two different varieties, a pleasant surprise indeed

Did not get around to cleaning and turning over the chicory bed last fall and just covered the bed with leaves to avoid erosion. Imagine my excitement when I removed the leaves and saw 6 chicory plants growing from the stumps left in the ground last fall! First time this has happened. Anxious to see how these plants will grow, may be they will form baby chicories.

∞ ∞ ∞

My container grown fig tree that overwintered in the garage is now leafing out. These tender leaves are very sensitive to strong direct sunlight and must be gradually hardened off to avoid shock.

I started hardening off the plant at the beginning of last week. By mid week it should be fully adjusted to the outdoor environment and I will no longer need to wheel the container in and out of the garage.

Fif tree (06350) Fig tree (06370)Fig Tree

The newly emerged leaves are pale green but as they are gradually exposed to sun light they will darken.

The fig in the right photo will not mature.

The spring crop usually falls off but a new crop will follow soon.

∞ ∞ ∞

Daffodil (06368) Sign of spring

…   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …  …   … Copyright © by Norma Chang. All Rights Reserved. Do not use/repost any photos and/or articles without permission. Visit Daphne’s Dandelions http://daphnesdandelions.blogspot.com/ for more Harvest Mondays

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Flowers, Gardening, Harvest Monday, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to Harvest Monday, April 28, 2014 – Transplanting, Fertilizing & Container Fig

  1. daphnegould says:

    My early fig crop always falls off too. Last year I uncovered the plants at the end of March. This year it was about a month later. I still haven’t figured out the best time for it.

  2. Karen says:

    I’m happy that you had a nice day out in your garden…everything is looking good. I worked outside all day Friday on my garden in New Hampshire as well. I’m going to grow my tomatoes here instead of Maine this year…the season is just too short there.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Karen,
      Thanks, I was very tired on Saturday though and spent the whole day vegging out. I thought the water would moderate the temperature at your Maine cottage.

      • Karen says:

        We just had ice out on the lake last week and the water temps by Memorial Day are usually around 57 degrees. The water on our beach doesn’t get much warmer than the mid 70’s in August. I can’t plant until the end of May and our first frosts come in September. Add to that the strong winds that come down the nearby mountains and across the lake and it makes for a real challenge growing tomatoes.

      • Norma Chang says:

        Hello Karen,
        That sure is a challenge. Glad they will do well at your home.

  3. I just harvested some salad leaves..but my garlic plants didn’t do very good :-((
    Beautiful spring flower!

  4. Nancy Wu says:

    Hi, Norma, your snap peas look really vibrant and happy in their new home. What type of fertilizer do you apply to garlic and strawberries?

  5. Stoney Acres says:

    Everything is looking wonderful Norma! I love this time of year and all the great potential in the garden!

  6. Kristy says:

    It’s amazing to see that the chicory and strawberries both survived such a harsh winter and are seeming doing well too. Sounds like it’s a very good start to the growing season. Glad you were able to kick it off with a whole day of delightful weather and good health too.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Kristy,
      Strawberries are very hardy and always come back. This is first time the chicory came back and I think it is because the grounds were covered with snow the whole winter, it acted as a blanket and protected the chicory stumps, well that’s my theory.

  7. cheri says:

    Looks like your going to have a ton of snap peas, lucky you! Beautiful yard.

  8. Michelle says:

    I had no idea that chicory could survive freezing in the ground, very interesting. It looks like you are off to a good spring start.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Cheri,
      This is first time the chicory came back and I think it is because the grounds were covered with snow the whole winter, it acted as a blanket and protected the chicory stumps, well that’s my theory.

  9. mac says:

    It’s a lot of work to wheel the fig tree in and out of the garage. I gave up my citrus plants because it was too much trouble to move them every fall and spring.

  10. Beautiful white daffodil photo. Congratulations on the healthy pea seedlings and strawberry plants and surprise chicory.

  11. Isn’t it nice when Mother Nature works with you instead of against you? It looks like you got a lot accomplished this weekend. What a pleasant surprise to find happy and healthy chicory growing under the leaves.

    While I am here, I would like to invite you to join in on a blog hop I am co-hosting beginning this Thursday called, “Green Thumb Thursday.” I hope to see you there!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello GGL,
      Yes, mother nature worked with me and I was very pleased. I kind of overdid it on Friday and spent Saturday vegging out.
      I will surely visit “Green Thumb Thursday”.

  12. Eva Taylor says:

    So glad you had decent weather last weekend to garden. We did some gardening, cleaning up the beds, removing the mulch (fingers crossed we won’t have frost) but the next few days it’s cold again and rainy and windy. I dare not bring out the fig tree just yet, still wrapped in the garage, perhaps on the weekend. The garlic I planted in the pots died, no sprouts; I’m hoping the garlic I planted at the cottage survived, but I won’t know until the latter part of May, since it won’t be warm enough to go up.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Eva,
      Don’t forget to hardened off your fig tree. Sorry about your container garlic but I am sure the ones at the cottage survived. Today was more winter-like than spring, winter coat was needed, this yo-yo weather is not helping my health.

      • Eva Taylor says:

        Thanks Norma, yes I made note of your instructions, thank you. I haven’t brought it out yet, still too chilly and it’s been raining cats and dogs so it would have likely drowned. I’ll wait until May 24 to be sure it’s warm enough.

      • Norma Chang says:

        Hello Eva,
        I put mine out (full time) yesterday hope we do not get a late freeze like last year. Drop me a note if you have questions.

  13. hotlyspiced says:

    The daffodil is gorgeous. It’s so lovely to see the seasons changing for you. I love the strawberries and it’s great to see leaves on the fig tree. It must be lovely to watch your seasons changed – such a contrast. We don’t experience a significant shift like you do xx

  14. ChgoJohn says:

    So glad that you had a day nice enough to garden, Norma, and that you felt well enough to take advantage. You sure did get a lot accomplished and just in time to take advantage of that rain. Your bringing out the fig tree reminds me of Grandpa. He kept his fig tree in a barrel mounted on wheels and he, too, would roll it in and out of the garage. Looks like your tree fared better than his did, though he kept trying. 🙂

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello John,
      My container fig tree is on wheel also making it very easy to wheel in and out. I hope the weather settles down so I can keep the tree outdoor, today is winter-like not at all spring-like.

  15. Your garden is bursting with life I am so happy for you! 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  16. Great timing indeed! Your garden looks happy 🙂 I can’t wait to see those strawberries grow!

  17. Hi Norma:)

    This is my first time here. I popped over from CCU when I saw your garden post in the comments.

    My oh my, you sure do have a lot going on in your garden. I’m rather surprised because you are up state NY I assume (I’m a former New Yorker:) and I live in PA. We haven’t had nearly the progress in either of the gardens.

    Your Fig tree looks absolutely amazing. It will be worth every trip back and forth to shelter. I’ve been doing that with my plants each day too. I’m so afraid to actually put them in the ground:)

    Thank you so much for sharing your garden progress, Norma. I really enjoyed my visit…Louise

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Louise,
      Thank you for stopping by and for taking the time to leave a comment, glad you enjoyed your visit, hope you will visit often.
      Yes, my area is considered upstate NY and I am in zone 6a. What zone are you in?

      • Hi Norma,

        I really need to put your link in my sidebar, Norma so I remember to drop by more often:) I’m in central PA which is considered Zone 5. However, it just doesn’t seem to want to warm up in my neck of the woods. I lost so many garden plants this year I’m not even sure I’m ready to put in any veggies yet. This will be my first time planting a vegetable garden here in PA. I’m originally from Long Island!

        If you get a chance, stop by my blog tomorrow for Garden Tuesday. I think you will like it. One of the other bloggers, her name is Pam, has a link up on her blog for Garden Tuesdays. You might like it:)

      • Norma Chang says:

        Hello Edible C,
        It is not warming up in my neck of my woods either, still have freeze warning for the nights. Tomorrow will be better, let’s have faith. I believe Long Island is quite a bit warmer.
        I will stop by your blog for Garden Tuesday, I am sure I will like it.

  18. Amazing how your garden is starting to come to life and ours is starting to go into its winter slumber. I only have a few leaves left on our fig tree before it will stand bare. Our strawberry plants started off so well this season but then didn’t really produce much fruit. Not sure what went wrong.
    Have a wonderful day Norma.
    🙂 Mandy xo

  19. Juliana says:

    I am glad you had such a nice day…everything look so nice Norma…I love seeing the pictures of the veggies growing…especially that I have a very limited space…so seeing your pictures is like I am dreaming.
    Hope you are enjoying your week 😀

  20. It sounds like your peas will be giving you a heavy crop this year. I love fresh peas better than just about anything. I don’t even dislike shelling them. I think this will be a good year for your garden.

  21. Love those peas you’re growing! This year we pretty much tripled our peas so hoping for a giant harvest! Good luck, can’t wait to watch them grow!

  22. cquek says:

    what a wonderful day to spend in your wonderful garden.

  23. Sophie33 says:

    Yeah for the Spring garden! Your pea plants will be growing bigger & faster each day! My pea plants grow in containers & they all have already produced big pods with peas growing in them. I will do a post about them later on in the week.

    Your garlic plants are growing stronger each day, I see! Yeah for that! Your young fig plant is doing well! Mine, in the ground, too! My plant has produced thicker figs already, not ripe yet but so soon in the Season! I think it is because of the mild winter we got with no snow at al, etc!
    A georgous Spring garden! 🙂

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Sophie,
      Due to the cool weather there is little movements with my plants, temp is going up tomorrow so hopefully the plants will grow at a faster rate. You are much ahead of me, looking forward to reading about your peas.

  24. Pingback: Harrvest Monday, May 12, 2014 – Garlic Green, Spring Onions, Chinese Chives + Chicory | Garden to Wok

Leave a Reply

