Harvest Monday, November 25, 2013 – Leeks + Herbs

Happy Thanksgiving to All Who Celebrate!

Harvested some leeks, scallions & herbs. They will be included in our Thanksgiving feast.

Leeks & herbs (06007)

Leeks, Scallions & Herbs from the garden

Leeks & scallion (06012)

Top: Leeks
Bottom: Scallions

The leeks are skinnier than I expected (were planted a bit too close together) but will still be delicious. The white parts will be used and the green parts placed in freezer bags for making broth at a later date.

Scallions did very well this year and are still growing strong. Last year I direct sowed and the seeds did not germinate at all or maybe they did, and critters ate the seedlings. This year I started the seeds in cell packs and transplanted when they were a few inches tall, very successful. Will do the same next year.

Parsley, sage, rosemary & thyme (06009)

Left to right: Parsley, Sage, Rosemary & Thyme

I was surprised the parsley and rosemary survived the killer frosts and frigid nighttime temperatures we had. Wondering how much longer they will remain in good condition.

The sage and thyme are perennial. They are growing in a protected area in the back of the house and I can harvest throughout the winter as long as they are not buried under snow.

If you are celebrating, have a wonderful time with family and friends around the Thanksgiving table.

…   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …  …   …

Copyright © by Norma Chang. All Rights Reserved. Do not use/repost any photos and/or articles without permission.

Visit Daphne’s Dandelions http://daphnesdandelions.blogspot.com/ for more Harvest Mondays

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Gardening, Harvest Monday, Herbs, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Harvest Monday, November 25, 2013 – Leeks + Herbs

  1. Karen says:

    Your garden keeps giving and giving. 🙂 Have a nice Thanksgiving.

  2. Judy says:

    Hi Norma, You too – have a nice Thanksgiving. Hope to see you soon. Judy

  3. You have a very productive garden, Norma.

  4. I love that you lined your herbs in the order of the Simon and Garfunkel song, Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme. 😀
    I thought of you this morning when I planted some rhubard seed I got from my sister-in-law and hope I can get them growing.
    Have a super week Norma and Happy Thanksgiving.
    🙂 Mandy xo

  5. My scallion experience matches yours. I get very few plants when I direct sow and every plant survives when I transplant. Slugs maybe?
    Happy Thanksgiving!

  6. We ARE celebrating this year and I couldn’t be happier. Your garden, even though it’s quittin’ time, still nurtures you. Fantastic. Happy Thanksgiving, Norma!

  7. Gosh, if I didn’t know the date I’d think it was a warmer month judging from your harvest today. What beautiful leeks, scallions and herbs, and just in time for Thanksgiving. Hope yours is a very Happy Thanksgiving, Norma!

  8. Kim says:

    Oh I bet they all smell wonderful!
    How were the leeks from Morse this year?

    Happy thanksgiving Norma!

  9. mac says:

    Nice pretty herbs, I don’t have luck in direct sow seeds of scallions, I always have to transplant them otherwise I’ll never see them.

  10. Lovely harvest.

    We can grow garlic and scallions, but I can’t get leeks to do anything but bolt. Very odd….

  11. Happy Thanksgiving, Norma!

  12. Daphne says:

    Happy Thanksgiving to you too! I too will be picking herbs for Thanksgiving, but I think just sage and thyme. The rosemary gets to sit for a while longer.

  13. Happy Thanksgiving my friend 😀
    I hope you use those leeks in your cooking – despite a touch of skinny, their colour is gorgeous~

    Cheers
    CCU

  14. wok with ray says:

    With all of these beautiful veggies and herbs, you garden must smell wonderful. Wishing you a Happy Thanksgiving Norma! 🙂

  15. Eva Taylor says:

    Happy thanksgiving to you too Norma. Hope you’re enjoying turkey and all the fixin’s.
    Your final-ish harvest looks great; I always have leeks in the freezer too. Love your reference to the Simon & Garfunkel song, nicely done.
    Hope you have a wonderful thanksgiving.

  16. Hotly Spiced says:

    Your herbs certainly are hardy! They have done really well to survive in your increasingly cold temperatures. I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving xx

  17. It’s so wonderful that you’re incorporating garden fresh veggies to your feast, Norma. I find that so admirable. Sage is especially wonderful. Though I’m not doing the turkey for the first time this year, it’s one of my favorite herbs with it.

  18. So I can freeze the green part of leek, very good to know 🙂 You make me miss my small window herb garden 🙂

  19. ChgoJohn says:

    Considering all of the cooking I’m sure you’re going to be doing, Norma, your garden really came through for you. Just look at all of those herbs! How wonderful to be able to use fresh, home-grown herbs for your feast. 🙂
    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello John,
      Yep, despite the weather, in the end my garden surely came through for me and I may be harvesting root crops right into December. Hope your construction project is completed and Max has the yard all to himself again.

  20. I can’t keep rosemary in my fridge, let alone my garden. I didn’t know leeks and scallions were so similar. But the taste must be different, or recipes wouldn’t ask for one and not the other? I think you could easily do consulting for people in their gardens. If only I had someone here to help set me up with a veg garden! Have a wonderful Thanksgiving, Norma!xx

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Barbara,
      Personally, I find leeks and scallions are interchangeable when using in cooking, using uncooked, I will use scallion and not leeks. I would not be so brave as to do consulting for people in their gardens but I would be more than happy to offer whatever help I can if you want to start a veggie garden, just ask when you are ready.

  21. Pat says:

    Happy Thanksgiving to you too !

  22. Wow, i guess the fresh herbs willmade a superb turkey stuffing!!!!
    lucky you Norma!

  23. cquek says:

    This looks fantastic, Happy Thanksgiving.

  24. Looks like a great harvest Norma! Love those leeks.

Leave a Reply

