Harvest Monday, October 28, 2013 + Chicory (Radicchio) + Broken Promise

Earlier in the week, frost was predicted. Quickly went to the garden and harvested the last of the red amaranth and callaloo (they would not survive a frost). Was surprised to find there was enough for more than one meal.

Amaranth (5899)

Red Amaranth & Callaloo
Blanched and froze for winter use.

◊ ◊ ◊

My garden escaped that frost. However,  wide spread frost was predicted for the following night, decided not to take any more chances and brought in most of the tender crops and others that were ready for harvest.

Vegetables (5914)

Baby Tromboncino, Snow Peas, Sugar Snap & Scotch Bonnet Peppers
Saving the tromboncino, snow peas and sugar snap for Locust Grove’s gardeners potluck
Scotch bonnet peppers were planted too late, only one turned partially yellow

Snow peas and sugar snap peas plants are still looking healthy and flowering, leaving them to continue to grow. I may get a harvest. This is the first time I am having fall peas of any kind.

◊ ◊ ◊

Cherry tomatoes & Ping Tung eggplants (5920)

Cherry Tomatoes, Ping Tung Eggplants & Strawberries

Cherry tomato plant was not damaged by the frost. It is October 28 and my tomato plant is still looking healthy and loaded with fruits, this is so exciting.. Looking forward to future harvests.

Found the 2 small eggplants while pulling up the plants. The 2 tiny strawberries were not as sweet and juicy as the summer berries, but they were red and aromatic and I thoroughly enjoyed them.

◊ ◊ ◊

Chicory (radicchio)  (5906)
Chicory (Radicchio)
Chicory (radicchio) keeps well, these beauties will keep for months in the fridge

Chicory (radicchio) (5916)In the above photo, the radicchio on the left was one of the first to form a head and had looked like the one on the right.

Because I have quite a few in the garden, decided to delay harvest just to see what would happen. Left longer in the garden, I think it would send out a flower stalk.

All the seeds for my radicchios came from the same seed pack but the heads had different colors – red (photo top right), purple (top photo) and some with lots of green (photo below), very interesting.

Radicchio (5925)

Chicory (radicchio)

◊ ◊ ◊

Also dug in all my ginger. Not sure what happened but I messed up the photos. Hope to fix them this week so I can post photos and write about it next Harvest Monday.

Got my garlic planted, over 100 cloves. Looking forward to garlic scape in the spring and also garlic green.

◊ ◊ ◊

Broken Promise
Last Monday’s (10/21) post I promised to remake the “A” choy dish, post photo and recipe. Unfortunately the “A” choy in the fridge deteriorated and was unusable, so sorry. Next year, promise.

…   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …  …   …

Copyright © by Norma Chang. All Rights Reserved. Do not use/repost any photos and/or articles without permission.

Visit Daphne’s Dandelions http://daphnesdandelions.blogspot.com/ for more Harvest Mondays

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Gardening, Harvest Monday, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

59 Responses to Harvest Monday, October 28, 2013 + Chicory (Radicchio) + Broken Promise

  1. I am about to leave here for the farm and find out what’s left of our garden. We did a clean-up Saturday but left in leeks, lettuce and Brussels sprouts. We have loads of egg plant, tomatoes and peppers in bins waiting for takers. Unfortunately, we seem to have a little pest that is enjoying the new, sweet and tender lettuce. I must try to invite him to relocate somewhere!!! By the way, your produce looks great.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Wishfulthinking,
      Hope you had takers for your eggplants, tomatoes and peppers and also are able to get rid of the little pest that are enjoying your lettuce.

      • Thank you for following my blog. The egg plant, tomatoes and peppers remain. Our little pest is there and the plan is to create a diversion!!! Hope it works.

      • Norma Chang says:

        Hello Wishfulthinkig,
        How do you create a diversion? I would love to learn.
        Why not freeze your eggplant, tomatoes and peppers for winter use? I partially oven dry my tomatoes and freeze.

      • I have done some freezing…I’m afraid I have run out of room. As far as the diversion, we plan to experiment giving the critter other food to see if we can fill him up and avoid his garden theft. That will take some experimentation but I think we are up to the task!!!

  2. What a harvest! I just bought a head of radicchio and am planning to make a salad with pears for the lunch tomorrow. Love its bitter taste.

  3. pooks says:

    I planted some snow peas and various other fall/winter crops and then left town for two weeks. Am hoping there was enough rain while we were gone. Otherwise, I’ll arrive home to find everything dried up. Your garden has done you well this year!

  4. I love that we’re on opposite sides of the world and we have similar things in our garden, Norma! Our red amaranth that we’re growing for the first time is just coming up, and our cherry tomatoes are producing madly!

  5. Daphne says:

    Beautiful harvest. My snap peas were planted too early. And September was too warm. So I did get some, but then they fizzled out quickly.

  6. Wow, look at all those tomatoes!!! your garden is still giving you so much good food Norma!

  7. Your harvest looks bountiful right now my friend, I hope any future frost doesn’t harm it, and it keeps escaping it 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  8. I can’t even imagine harvesting as many vegetables as you have Norma. What a beautiful site your garden must be in the fall. Every single veg you have photographed is perfect and unblemished. You are such a talented gardener.. we’ll wait a year for that recipe:)

  9. No worries on the choy dish!

  10. So glad the frost didn’t destroy your beautiful harvest! Keep doing what you’re doing because the results are wonderful!!

  11. Hotly Spiced says:

    Such a lovely variety of things but what a shame the scotch bonnet chillies didn’t get a chance to ripen before the frost arrives. It does seem that the frost is coming early though. I hope your garlic survives and I’ll look forward to seeing it in the Spring xx

  12. ChgoJohn says:

    Lucky that your tomato plant survived the frost and continues to produce, as well as the other plants & vines in your garden, Norma. I’m amazed at that bowl of cherry tomatoes! Everything here has been pulled. Our first frost really took a toll this year. I’m very interested to learn just how long your garden will continue to produce for you this year. Good luck!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello John,
      Not sure how long my luck will last. I think the trees shading my garden that I have been complaining about actually protected my garden from the frosts. Who knows, I may be harvesting well into Christmas, will continue to post updates.

  13. Barbara Good says:

    You always seem to harvest such interesting things Norma. It all looked wonderful, especially those cherry tomatoes, can’t wait for when it’s tomato season here.

  14. debra says:

    Gorgeous radicchio! We can’t seem to get the timing right to grow those — do you direct seed, and when? Thanks for the reminder about how well they store, will be on the look-out for them at the farmers’ market.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Debra,
      Thanks. I start my radicchio seeds indoor early/mid May and transplant to the garden end of May. My seed are from Thompson Morgan. The walking onions, both varieties are doing well, thanks for sending them.

  15. Jeanette says:

    I’ve only had callalo once when a Jamaican friend brought some over. You have such interesting veggies in your garden – always inspiring.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Jeanette,
      Thanks. I have fun trying different veggies, not always successful but always learning. Callaloo is similar to the green amaranth you find in Asian market.

  16. mac says:

    Those tromboncino squashes are so cute!, lovely harvest. Didn’t know you can freeze amaranth, how’s the taste after freezing, do you blanch it first?

  17. it’s fantastic your garden has escaped the frost Norma! Your harvest is bountiful, love those tomatoes, how great is it to still get them up your way this time of the year?!!

  18. wok with ray says:

    I love radicchio. Your harvest is always beautiful and really not much we can do when mother nature comes and shake these beauty and leaves a little bit of ruin.

  19. Lovely harvest Norma. Love the cherry tomatoes and eggplants!

  20. It’s wonderful that you’re still getting tomatoes at this time of year! I guess that’s just one of the few unexpected joys to having such an abundant garden.

  21. shuhan says:

    Can’t believe you’re still getting tomatoes this time of the year- lucky you! Your garden is so inspiring! Love the radicchios especially- such a nice bitter bite to it, a welcome change from the more neutral lettuces of spring/ summer. Can’t wait to see what you do with them!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Shuhan,
      Thanks for visiting and for taking the time to leave a comment. Tomatoes from the garden this time of year is not normal for me, but I am not complaining. I too love the bitter bite of radicchio, my favorite way is sprinkling it with balsamic vinegar.

  22. I always see you commenting on other blogs so decided to check you out! What wonderful things you grow! I can’t wait to follow along next year and see how to do it! I always loved to garden, but have never had much success! The radicchio is gorgeous!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Abbe,
      Thanks for stopping by and for taking the time to leave a comment. I too love to garden and enjoy the fruits of my labor. I am sure you can grow a successful garden. Feel free to write if you have gardening questions.

  23. I just love all the yummy stuff you’re growing this season. Can’t wait to see the harvest, Norma! =)

  24. What an amazing assortment of veggies. Do you like hot peppers? My boys would love scotch bonnets. You might want to wear some gloves when slicing these little guys up. Hot!

  25. I’m so glad you had a successful garden this year with the bugs and the deer leaving more than enough for you.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Maureen,
      Can you believe it is November and my garden is still thriving, bugs and all? Had frost but somehow it left my veggie garden alone, not sure how that happened and I am not complaining.

  26. Karen says:

    What a love crop so late in the year. You must be having a wonderful fall…that is terrific.

  27. Your garden always impressed me Norma..
    if you interesting, i had radicchio risotto and radicchio salad recipe in my blog…..

  28. cquek says:

    Chicory is generally thought to be healthy. It cleanse the blood and improve liver health, that is what I heard from my aunties. But I have never tried that…

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Machisan,
      I have heard that about the health benefit of bitter tasting veggies, am sure there is some truth to that claim but cannot find any scientific evidence.

Leave a Reply

