Harvest Monday, September 30, 2013 + Chayote & Artichoke Update

This past week was just gorgeous, perfect garden weather, 60’s and 70’s, but best of all bug free (well, none was bothering me).

Spent most of the week putting the perennial gardens to bed for the winter – cutting back irises and deciduous peonies, pruning, getting rid of fallen leaves and accumulated debris plus all the fun fall garden chores ….. Need to move a few shrubs, perhaps I will be able to get that done this week.

Did manage a bit of crop harvest.

Fall veg harvest (5770)

Top to bottom: 3 varieties of Onions, Orange & Purple Carrots, Celeriac

Purple carrot (5774)Don’t know the names of the first 2 onions, the long red one is Blood Red Bottle, love the shape and color.

At right is a cross section of the purple carrot. Looked the same after cooking. Tasted like regular orange carrot, will plant again for the color.

The celeriac is small. I knew it needed more time to grow but I wanted to see how it was doing. Peeled, cut into chunks and added it to a stew together with the onions and carrots.

◊ ◊ ◊

More harvest

Mustard (5693)

Red Giant Mustard, Green Mustard, Golden Beets, Ghioggia Beets & 1 Strawberry

Both the red giant mustard and green mustard are volunteers. Apparently they like the weather, growing very well.

These are the last of the golden and chioggia beets (forgot to take photos of the cross sections).

Picked 2 strawberries one day (got to the garden before the birds), they never made it into the photo. They are tasty but not as sweet as the summer berries. This is the first time I am picking full size strawberries from the garden at the end of September.

◊ ◊ ◊

Both chayote and artichoke experiments failed. Healthy plants, zero harvest.

Chayote plant (5768)

Chayote Plant

Some of you may remember when I started my chayote experiment (Click here for the first post, click here and scroll down for an update, also here for another update).

The chayote plant is growing well but no flowers and no harvest. Am disappointed. Was hoping for a flower, at the very least. May try again next year at a different location in the garden. Am leaving the plant to grow until killed by frost with the hope that I may see a flower emerge.

◊ ◊ ◊

Artichoke plant (5780)

Artichoke Plant

This is the second time I am trying to grow artichoke, will also be the last time.

Got the seedling, in the spring, from Locust Grove (was a give away). Artichoke was harvested at Locust Grove, over the summer, but not in my garden, must have something to do with my garden soil (not as rich and loamy as LG).

◊ ◊ ◊

Chrysanthemum (5776)
Chrysanthemum

…   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …  …   …

Copyright © by Norma Chang. All Rights Reserved. Do not use/repost any photos and/or articles without permission.

Visit Daphne’s Dandelions http://daphnesdandelions.blogspot.com/ for more Harvest Mondays

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Gardening, Harvest Monday, Heritage vegetable garden, Locust Grove, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

60 Responses to Harvest Monday, September 30, 2013 + Chayote & Artichoke Update

  1. cocomino says:

    That’s great because you can gather vegetables even in autumn. 😀

  2. Thanks for all the updates, Norma. But too bad about the chayote and artichoke. 😦 I was hoping for you to manage a small harvest at least. I’ve grown them before, and like you, I received zero harvest. I think there’s not long enough of growing season in our zone 6. But the carrots and mustards look great. There’s always something to be thankful for! 🙂

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Angie,
      I will give chayote one more chance next year. Yes, there is always something to be thankful for, could not agree more. I really liked how the purple color in the purple carrot remained after cooking, really pretty.

  3. Yes, beautiful day for cleaning up the gardens for the winter, planting seeds in the hoop house and harvesting what is left of our crops. Love those carrots!!!

  4. I really do need to get myself in gear to plant more veggies so I can also share a few harvest pics.
    Have a lovely week ahead Norma.
    🙂 Mandy xo

  5. Daphne says:

    I love the purple carrots. I tried growing them here, and they grew, but not well. The orange ones always do about twice as well so sadly I don’t grow them anymore. I really loved the color in soups.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Daphne,
      I tried purple carrots two years ago and they did not do well, poor germination and small roots. Decided to try again this year and they did well, not sure why. May be you could try again one more time.

  6. I will grow those purple carrots just for the colour!

  7. leduesorelle says:

    Volunteers are my favorite of harvests!

  8. How interesting that your artichoke didn’t produce! I have often wondered if might be able to get away with growing a few here, but I am not sure about our short growing season…plus we are working on our soil, but I’m not sure we would have the proper soil to support them either. Very interesting! Thanks for the update! Hope you have a fabulous week!

  9. Annie says:

    Norma, I was given chayote seeds from Malaysia and is looking forward to planting them here next year. Glad you shared your experience, to lessen my optimism and disappointment…but I will still take courage and plant them to experiment nonetheless…I must give it a try to find out… right? 🙂
    Your artichoke plant looks better than mine:) I think they will come up again stronger next year?!

  10. Eva Taylor says:

    Your harvest looks wonderful Norma. Weather was gorgeous here too. The weekend at the cottage was perfect, warm, sunny and relatively bug free, with the exception of the damn wasp that stung my index finger twice!
    Orange carrots were not cultivated until after the seventeenth century. My favourite carrot trivia goes back to WWII when the English invented radar and to hide this from the Germans they made up a rumour that they started feeding their pilots massive amounts of carrots to improve their night vision!

  11. Jenny says:

    Very nice harvest! Really love the purple and yellow carrots.

  12. Kim says:

    Maybe it is all the sunshine at Locust Grove, your garden does have more shade.
    However, I do love that artichoke blossom, what about trying it in your front bed as an
    ornamental plant?

    Happy Gardening

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Kim,
      I thought about the sunshine, but I think the closeness of LG’s veggie garden to the Hudson River has something to do with it also. Putting an artichoke plant in my front bed would be inviting more deer to my door steps.

  13. Barbie says:

    It’s so funny because I can’t fathom a chayote not making fruit- but I also can’t imagine root veggies right now! Those carrots look amazing. 😎

  14. Stoney Acres says:

    Another great looking harvest. I’m sorry the artichokes didn’t work out. I’ve wanted to try them in our garden for years, but I never seem to have the room to commit to it! Maybe next year, right?? 🙂

  15. Patsy says:

    What neat looking carrots! I don’t have the best success with any kind of carrots, so love to see how nice they can be when they grow right.

  16. mac says:

    Sorry about the chayote, I’m not seeing any female flowers either, lots of male flowers for about 4 weeks already and the bees are loving it. Did you eat the shoots by any chance, they are good, very delicious.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Mac,
      No, I did not eat any of the shoots as I was afraid eating the shoots would delay flowering and fruiting. How much of the shoots, rather what length of the shoots, do you harvest?

      • mac says:

        It depends, when it’s early in the season and the shoots are tender I can cut about 10″ from the tip, later in the season the shoots get tougher I cut about 5-6″. It sends out more side shoots after cutting.
        I finally see couple tiny weeny female buds, not blooming yet, but the bees are gone now, it’s been in the 30’s at night, no hope of seeing the fruits grow.

      • Norma Chang says:

        Hello Mac,
        Doubt I will see any flower let alone fruit so I will cut the tender shoots for cooking, thanks for the info. Will you post photo of your buds when they open? Hope you get some fruits.

  17. hotlyspiced says:

    I’m pleased you managed to get to two of the strawberries before the birds stole them. I like purple carrots and as you say, they give beautiful colour to any dish. I’m a big fan of celeriac so I hope you have more of them as they come into season xx

  18. GrafixMuse says:

    Your mustard and beet harvest look absolutely perfect! Ooh, I am so impressed with your celeriac too. I grew a few this year but haven’t harvested yet. So sorry about the failed chayote and artichoke experiments. The plants look so healthy. I love how the purple color in the carrots stayed after cooking. I am always disappointed when purple beans revert to green when cooked.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Grafixmuse,
      I too am always disappointed when purple veggies revert to green when cooked so was very pleased to see the purple in the carrots remained. At least I can say I tried, definitely giving up on artichoke but will give chayote another attempt.

  19. Your harvest looks gorgeous.

  20. Your carrot and celeriac look fabulous – we struggled to grow celeriac, but I was just discussing with Pete yesterday that we really need to try planting it again!

  21. Dave says:

    That’s a shame about the chayote. I gave up on artichoke here. I tried it a couple of times, and the plants never bloomed or thrived. I know others grow them in my area, but tey just don’t seem to work for me!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Dave,
      I am going to give chayote one more try next year. Locust Grove is less than 2 miles from my house, but they are by the Hudson River, am wondering if the water has any effect?

  22. Juliana says:

    Sorry about the chayote and artichoke…and wow, I never seen this kind of carrots…beautiful color.
    Thanks for sharing your harvest and have a wonderful week Norma 😀

  23. The 60’s and 70’s sounds like the perfect weather to get out there and enjoy your gardening. I am amazed at those purple carrots. So Beautiful. My mom used to steam her carrots just until fork tender but still a little aldente and made a beautiful fall salad with them. I hope I can find purple carrots in the wet markets here. Have a super week. Take Care, BAM

  24. I had no idea such a carrot existed! Thanks for schooling me, Norma. Sounds like you have a pretty busy week, hope you can find some time for R&R =)

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Angela,
      I harvested a white one also but forgot to take photos. Next time you go to the nursery check out their seed rack, most likely there is purple carrot seeds among the orange ones.

  25. Hi Norma, slowly I am making back to blogging and am very glad to “see” all my blogging friends. Missed you! What a lovely harvest you have. A little goes a long way, right? Beautiful carrots, would be great garnish. I wouldn’t give up on artichoke. Maybe you can just leave it there and see what is going to happen? Well, it’s just me, stubborn gardener: I would grow something over and over until I have at least some results. 🙂

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Marina,
      Missed you too and am glad you are back. Unfortunately the artichoke plant will not survive our winter. I would love to plant it among my flowers but that would be inviting more deer to visit.

  26. cquek says:

    i just love all the colours so vibrant…

  27. I’ve never seen an artichoke plant before. But it looks absolutely amazing. I got excited just seeing the plant because I wish I had some right now lol

  28. Your harvest looks so colorful!

Leave a Reply

