Harvest Monday, September 23, 2013 + Saving Amaranth Seeds

Not much harvest as the garden is slowing down but still enough for the weekly needs plus extras to share with friends.

Harvest my first leek and parsnip.

Was curious to see how the leek and parsnip are doing underground so pulled one of each. Both growing well. Leek should be getting fatter and parsnips will be sweeter after frost. So will the carrots.

Veggies (5717)

Top to bottom: leek, beets, parsnip, carrot, okra, Ping Tung eggplant, strawberry, broccoli & carrot
Leek and parsnip need to grow some more 
Most likely the last of the Ping Tung eggplant and okra 
Every other day I get one (1) strawberry 
Head of broccoli is small, but getting many side shoots also 

Click here for an okra recipe and here for an eggplant recipe.

◊ ◊ ◊

Still getting quite a few tomatoes

Tomatoes & figs (5724)

Cherry tomatoes, figs and slicing tomatoes
Last of the figs

Cherry tomatoes continue to produce well, slicing tomatoes on the other hand are coming to an end.

◊ ◊ ◊

Both callaloo (green amaranth) and red amaranth are still doing surprisingly well.

Amaranth (5772)

Left: Callaloo (green amaranth)
Right: Red Amaranth
The above are all cuttings from side shoots

Did a simple stir-fry with the red amaranth, adding garlic, ginger, salt and pepper to taste. The callaloo is in the fridge, may make a soup.

◊ ◊ ◊

Saving seeds of both the callaloo and the red amaranth.

Callaloo flower (5761)

Callaloo (amaranth) flowers

Red amaranth flowers (5760)

Red amaranth flowers

Will cut the seed heads when they start to look dry (but before they become brittle), put them in a paper bag and leave the bag in the shed to finish drying. Once dried, I will rub the seed heads to separate the seeds from the chaff. Discard the chaff. Store the seeds in a ziploc bag, date and label.

I am sure some of the seeds will fall to the ground and sprout as volunteers in the spring.

◊ ◊ ◊

Remember the Hydrangea paniculata ‘Tardiva’ I posted on 9/2/13? Click here and scroll down. It was white in that photo but is turning a pretty delicate pink now.

Hydranges (5748)

Hydrangea paniculata ‘Tardiva’

…   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …  …   …

Copyright © by Norma Chang. All Rights Reserved. Do not use/repost any photos and/or articles without permission.

Visit Daphne’s Dandelions http://daphnesdandelions.blogspot.com/ for more Harvest Mondays

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Flowers, Gardening, Harvest Monday, Recipes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to Harvest Monday, September 23, 2013 + Saving Amaranth Seeds

  1. pooks says:

    Your first picture looks like the veg we brought home from Whole Foods market this week. The heat did our garden in and now it’s time to get the winter greens and beets and such in before it’s too late!

    Thanks for the eggplant recipe!

  2. Daphne says:

    Do you eat your amaranth as a grain when you collect the seed? Or is it just for resowing next year? I always wonder how much seed you get per square foot.

  3. Norma I’ve never heard of Amaranth before! I’m off to research a bit more 🙂

  4. The beetroot looks great! Your amaranth plants are doing so well.

  5. I’m off with Lisa. That looks really pretty but I don’t know what to do with it. 🙂

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Maureen,
      I stir-fry amaranth like I would spinach. It is also good in soup. Amaranth is supposed to be the new super food but it has been used in Asian cuisine for a very long time.

  6. Kristy says:

    I had no idea that carrots and parsnips got sweeter after the frost. I always figured they were harvested mid-summer. I actually ate my first parsnip a few weeks ago. Not bad at all! 🙂

  7. Kim says:

    Nothing taste as good to me as a roasted beet straight from the garden! I never ate beets until I volunteered with you Norma :0).
    I had your delicious chicken and snow peas recipe from your cookbook ” Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking”, DH and I both enjoyed it.

    Happy Autumn

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Kim,
      So glad to hear that DH enjoyed the chicken and snow peas recipe from my cookbook. So you got him into healthy eating now, good for you.
      Are you getting a community garden in your area? You could plant beets and snow peas.

  8. your veggies look great! I’ve planted leeks for the first time this year and they are looking good too. I’m bummed my parsnips never ‘took’…looking forward to seeing yours!

  9. Patsy says:

    Those vegetables look terrific! Beets! I have never successfully grown any for the fall and I really miss them! Your amaranth looks great too. I tried to grow it this year, only two plants grew and they were ravaged by insects from the get-go. Maybe next year.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Patsy,
      Thanks. Have you tried lutz beets? I plant them in the early spring and also late spring, can be harvested at any stage, they will grow into the fall without getting woody.

  10. Sophie33 says:

    Waw, Norma! Your garden is still doing really well! Good for you!
    Just look at all of that different produce! 🙂 My cherry tomato plants are doing well too! My figs stopped growing. I only have had 45 this year,;;;deep sigh,;;;:(

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Sophie,
      45 figs, that’s not too bad, bet they were sweet and juicy. Glad your cherry tomato plants are doing well, they are so much hardier than the slicing tomatoes.

  11. Never saving the amarath seed before, it’s actually regenerise naturally in my garden…LoL

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Dedy,
      The growing conditions in the Hudson Valley, NY is quite different from where you are. Seeds fallen to the ground may or may not germinate and grow, all depends on the winter weather, so to be on the safe side I save my seeds.

  12. I couldn’t take my eyes off your delicious bright cherry tomatoes 😀

    Cheers
    CCU

  13. That is awesome you are still getting tomatoes!

  14. Eha says:

    That is quite a ‘still life’ of root vegetables at the beginning of your post. Since I have to grow my vegetables in pots, I have tried but few of them because of the need of space. Have eaten amaranth on quite a few occasions: perhaps should try growing that . . . thank you for the visit and those late tomatoes do look great!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Eha,
      Both beets and carrots will do well in pots, I have purple sweet potato growing in a large pot (hope there are tubers), will post photo when I harvest. Planning to grow fingerling potatoes in pots next year.

  15. Enough for the weekly needs plus extras to share with friends sounds absolutely amazing. Everything looks wonderful 🙂

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Melissa,
      Thanks. I am happiest when I can also share my garden bounty with friends. They come to the garden when I am working and take what is available that’s why I do not have the weights of my crops.

  16. mac says:

    The tomatoes and amaranth look so good, I don’t have good tomatoes this year, I threw away more buggy maters then harvest, bummer!

  17. cquek says:

    hehe I have totally turned up a day early to help you out.

  18. I’m a wee bit jealous of anyone who can grow leeks. We manage onions, garlic and shallots, but can’t seem to grow anything but the saddest spindliest leeks.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Lisa and Robb,
      If you can grow onions, garlic and shallots you can grow leeks, do try again next year. Leeks require a longer growing season so you need to start your plants indoors for transplanting.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Lisa and Robb,
      Leeks require a much longer growing period than onions, garlic and shallots. Start your seeds indoor for transplanting and you will do just fine.

  19. Juliana says:

    Wow, so many tomatoes…I love your harvest Norma.
    Have a wonderful week 😀

  20. hotlyspiced says:

    That’s a very unusual but pretty hydrangea. I love parsnips and leeks – wonderful Fall vegetables. Your tomatoes look lovely too xx

  21. I so enjoy leeks! Glad to hear they’re doing well. I was curious about our potatoes and nope! Not ready yet, lol!

  22. Karen says:

    Nice harvest. A friend of mine leaves her parsnips in the ground until spring and says they are incredibly sweet.

  23. Wow, love that tomato harvest Norma and the leek looks great! If it’s doing this good now, it’ll be even better later and fatter –yay! Love leeks!

  24. Amaranth stir-fries are one of my favourite Chinese vegetable dishes. I never knew the flowers were so beautiful.

Leave a Reply

