Cooking with Adzuki Bean Sprouts – Adzuki Bean Sprouts Salad

Here is the 2nd recipe that I was supposed to post yesterday.

I am learning how to make photo collages. Made the collage below, but could not find it. Yes, it is somewhere in my computer, but where. Spent sometime searching but could not locate it. Instead of getting my nose bent out of joint, decided yesterday to post only one recipe, take a break and come back to the “stupid” computer. (Actually I am the stupid one not the computer. Some day, soon I hope, I will comprehend the whole process.)

Whew, found the collage.

Recipesadzuki copyGrounding sesame seeds, garlic and ginger in a suribachi

Adzuki Bean Sprouts Salad with Sesame Dressing (for 2 – 3 salads)

DSC04782weblarge copyIngredients
2 – 3 tablespoons toasted sesame seeds  or 1 – 2 tablespoons Asian sesame paste or smooth peanut butter
1 – 2 tablespoons Asian sesame oil
2 – 3 tablespoons rice vinegar
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar, optional
1 teaspoon kosher salt or to taste
½ – 1 teaspoon honey or sugar
1 clove garlic, pureed (I coarsely chopped the garlic, added to suribachi with sesame seeds)
½ teaspoon grated fresh ginger (I coarsely chopped the ginger, added to suribachi with sesame seeds)
1 shallot or white part of scallion, minced
½ – 1 teaspoon grated orange zest (peel/rind), optional
fresh orange juice if needed to thin out dressing
Ground sesame seeds (garlic and ginger) to a paste using a suribachi or mortar and pestle. Add all the above remaining ingredients and combine. This is the sesame dressing. Can be done ahead of time and kept refrigerated. There will be some whole seeds in the dressing.

½ cup (or more) cooked adzuki bean sprouts
salad greens for 2 – 3 cut into bite-sized pieces (I used Romaine, green leaf and oakleaf lettuces. Oakleaf was from my window box, will write an update on Monday, 1/28)
radicchio, cut into thin strips (from my garden, also will write about on Monday 1/28)
1 orange, peeled and sectioned (the orange was too sweet, will use grapefruit next time I make this). To learn how to section grapefruit and orange click here and scroll down.
toasted sesame seeds for garnish

Preparations
Arrange greens, radicchio, orange sections and sprouts on salad plate/bowl, spoon on dressing to taste, garnish with sesame seeds. (I found this to be a very satisfying and filling salad, together with a slice of hearty bread, it was a meal.)

VARIATIONS
Add crispy fried bacon bits
Add crumbled blue cheese
Add avocado chunks
Add in season tomatoes
Add (or substitute for the orange) fuyu persimmons, apple, Asian pear …..
Use your favorite salad dressing

DSC04787weblarge copy

…   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …  …   …

Copyright © by Norma Chang. All Rights Reserved. Do not use/repost any photos and/or articles without permission.

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Recipes, Sprouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Cooking with Adzuki Bean Sprouts – Adzuki Bean Sprouts Salad

  1. Annie says:

    What a clever lady you ARE Norma! Your series of photo collage is Super!!…and so is your salad…they look so delicious:) I must try making the sesame sauce because I think that is the secret behind this recipe:)

  2. Karen says:

    Your salad sounds so good with your dressing. I joke that machines don’t like me and I consider my computer a machine. I have called it dumb too. 🙂 but I do believe it is the person using it…me.

  3. I work on a computer day in and day out…which only serves to show me how much I DON’T know and how much there is to learn! This salad looks really, really delicious and filling.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Betsy,
      I wish I was not so technology challenged.
      Yes, the adzuki bean sprouts are very filling. This morning I soaked some more beans for sprouting, hoping to create more dishes with them. I understand they are highly nutritious.

  4. Beautiful salad. Fuyu persimmons would work wonderfully in it. As for computers, I call mine dumb too because it can’t tell what it was that I really wanted it to do; it just does whatever I mistype in.

  5. Eva Taylor says:

    How delightful, Norma, I am totally loving this dressing recipe. I’ll have to book mark it for future. Now taking a closer look at that salad, wonderful! I love the addition of the citrus, very tasty. Not much of a radicchio fan, but that’s an easy fix, I’ll sub in spinach or arugula.
    I know what you mean regarding computer difficulties…I’ve had my share. Glad you got it all sorted out in the end. Have a great weekend.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Eva,
      Thanks. I thought the orange was a bit too sweet. I am surprise that you love arugula but not radicchio. I just love the color, such a pretty red.
      One of these fine days, I get more comfortable with the computer.

  6. Daphne says:

    It looks delicious.

  7. That does look nice, although I found the stew even more appealing! 🙂

  8. Great color of beans!

  9. Delicious and healthy. Sesame dressing is one of my favorite. What a clever little collage.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Bam,
      I am getting a little better at making collages, wish I was more comfortable with the computer.

      • Me too. In the last couple of weeks with the change over, I am learning so much and I still have so much more to learn. Before, I was in a comfort zone and now everyday is a new learning experience.

      • Norma Chang says:

        Hello Bam,
        Can’t wait to see your new look. Do your get help from your teenagers?

      • I wish! But no luck with that… To date… I have spent countless hours reconfiguring items and reimaging pictures as when you change to a new theme everything gets a bit changed and reformatted. Are you getting ready for the Chinese New Year? I just made some Chinese radish cakes for my friends. Xian Nian Kuai Le! Kung Hei Fat Choi!

      • Norma Chang says:

        Hello Bam,
        I know exactly what you mean by spending countless hours reconfiguring items and reimaging pictures. I went through that stage (still am with some pictures) when I changed my wordpress “Theme”, it was a royal pain in neck.
        I am coming to your house for Chinese New Year.

  10. ChgoJohn says:

    Norma, I started working with computers when in high school in 1968, I was 1 of 2 students chosen to study programming in a fledgling program. My business career was within IT. I’ve no doubt that I know less now than I did in 1968.
    I do know, however, that this salad of yours has everything I want in a salad: texture, color, and interesting ingredients. What time is dinner? 🙂

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello John,
      I wish I was more comfortable with the computer and not feel so intimidated, perhaps one of these days things will click.
      Dinner is ready whenever the doorbell rings.

  11. Kristy says:

    This is a beautiful salad! I love the color. Perhaps I can loan you Mr. N or Miss A for the computer issues…I swear they know more than me already. It’s amazing how fast kids pick this stuff up!

  12. cecilia says:

    I love the collage too, beautiful colours.. c

  13. Norma, looks absolutely delicious! I got so busy here that I almost burned barley that I cooked for tomorrow’s breakfast for my men. 🙂 What program do you use to make your collages? I am so behind all this technology! 🙂

  14. hotlyspiced says:

    I love the look of your salad – so many amazing ingredients. This would be so tasty! xx

  15. Oh, I can’t wait to try this salad. The dressing sounds delicious! I feel your computer frustrations, but doesn’t it feel great when you figure out what went wrong?! It makes me feel proud (after I get over my tantrum 😉 )

  16. Sophie33 says:

    What a stunning & appetizing looking salad, dear Norma! I especially love the variations too! 🙂 MMMMMMMMMMMMMM!

  17. Balvinder says:

    This looks delicious just the way I want. I sprout adzuki beans with mung beans and some other beans or legumes to make salad. Have to try this one with sesame dressing.

  18. Pingback: Harvest Monday, February 23, 2015 – Sprouting Adzuki Beans | Garden to Wok

Leave a Reply

