Harvest Monday, November 26, 2012 – Chicory, Ginger & More

Broccoli, Chicory Orchidea Rossa (radicchio) & Ginger

The small broccoli in the above photo was found under some leaves that protected it from killer frost damage.

Photo right: My very first chicory (radicchio), small (about the size of my fist) but beautiful. Few years ago I tried to grow chicory but it never formed a head. Imagine my excitement when I saw this small red and white beauty in the garden. Definitely planting again next year.

The ginger in the photo above is one of the pieces I planted in the garden in April. Now that I know it is possible to grow ginger in this area, I will be planting more.

I combined thinly sliced chicory with other greens in a salad, dressed simply with balsamic vinegar and olive oil, delicious. Chicory does have a bitter taste but the balsamic dressing balanced out the flavor. Love the combinations.

Beedy’s Camden Kale & Lacinato Kale

I got my Beedy’s Camden kale seeds from Dave, Our Happy Acres. Appears to be a very hardy kale. Still looking good in the garden even after a few nights of killer frosts. The lacinato kale on the other hand is not as hardy and did not survive the frosts. The small amount above was hiding under some leaves (the plant had fallen over).

Not sure how I am going to cook the kales, may combine both in a soup.

Leeks and Carrots

Sent the visiting family home with leeks and 3 pounds of carrots. The leeks were not as fat as last year’s and the carrots are mostly short and stubby, not sure why. The cosmic purple (center) is supposed to be 6 inches long and tapered.

…   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …  …   …

Copyright © by Norma Chang. All Rights Reserved. Do not use/repost any photos and/or articles without permission.

Visit Daphne’s Dandelions http://daphnesdandelions.blogspot.com/ for more Harvest Mondays

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Gardening, Growing ginger, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Harvest Monday, November 26, 2012 – Chicory, Ginger & More

  1. Eva Taylor says:

    Great take and so late into the season! You are certainly inspirational, wish I could garden like you!
    I would make the kale into soup, I’m craving soup because I came down with a doozy of a head/chest cold, but am glad it’s now and not Xmas! I made a chicken soup last night and used carrots and parsnips and parsnip leaves! Delicious! I may have to blog about it, if I could drag my butt out if bead to take a photo!
    Have a great week.

  2. Beautiful radicchio and ginger. And the cosmic carrot is well, cosmic! What’s the flavor like?

    The carrots (not Cosmic) we harvested at Locust Grove had a very strong earth taste. Not that great for raw eating, but fine for using in a cooked dish–adjusting amount for its powerful flavor.

  3. Daphne says:

    I envy that ginger. Some year I’d love to try it myself. I hate potted plants though (I tend to let them get too dry).

  4. cecilia says:

    I am very impressed with that chicory, I grow it in the fields for the cows, now I had better grow some for myself! c

  5. Your finger is just superb my friend great harvest!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  6. The ginger is beautiful Norma – I bet it smells so fragrant right from the ground. Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving with your family! 🙂

  7. Amber says:

    Nice radicchio! What variety is yours?

  8. Patsy says:

    That radicchio is beautiful! And so is the ginger! Do you grow it as a house plant or in the garden?

  9. Hotly Spiced says:

    I love how your carrots are not of uniform size. It makes them seem more real to me unlike what we have on offer at the supermarket where everything is strangely identical – that’s just not how nature intended it. Your chickory looks very vibrant xx

  10. Love the ginger root. That’s a staple in my place.

  11. Eha says:

    Yes, I too have been encouraged by that beautiful ginger: guess it is too late this year, but shall try next early spring – use tons of the stuff and some of our supermarket offerings look tired ere i get them home!! Oh, got ‘greedy’ and lost out. My cavolo nero was doing so well: so I waited one day and another for them to grow a wee bit more! Hhmph: could not get to the vegetables for a couple of days only to find caterpillars had had a huge early Christmas party . . . not one iota funny!!!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Eha,
      You have a much longer growing season than I, if I were you, I would plant a few pieces, if they form, great, if they don’t then you know next year to start earlier. Those darn caterpillars, I just caught one today feasting my napa cabbage.

  12. Lisa says:

    We grew dandelion style chickory this year, and sort of lost track of it. We fed most of it to the chickens, and then enjoyed the way the blue flowers attracted green bees.

  13. Oh my…Ginger?!? How wonderful!

  14. Liz says:

    Lovely harvest. Fist sized raddichio is great work, I’ve managed that a few times but more often they have either bolted or turned to slime before getting there. I do like the idea of slicing it thinly in a salad – when I next get it to crop I will give that a try.

  15. Hi Norma, it is nice to see that gardening season hasn’t stopped yet. Your carrots and leeks, oh I would use it today for a meal I made for dinner! And ginger, what a beautiful harvest! Ginger cookies, mmm…
    Norma, I would like to hear your opinion on a very important topic I started today on my blog. Would you join the discussion, Please? 🙂

  16. leduesorelle says:

    Wonderful harvest, especially for this late in the year! Did you have to force the radicchio or did it form a head by itself? A farmer friend told me that he leaves the roots in the ground when harvesting, and gets a second harvest off of the same roots. I bought 5 heads from him almost a month ago, and they’ve held up surprisingly well in the fridge.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Leduesorelle,
      I did not force the racicchio, it formed a head by itself. Still have a few heads in the garden, will leave the roots in the ground, Thanks for the information.

  17. Norma, look at your ginger! I’m squealing with excitement! 🙂

  18. Success! Looks like a bumper crop. I am so impressed that you were able to grow your own ginger! I could use some of Eva’s soup — third day home sick today ….

  19. That’s my kind of harvest, Norma, and what beautiful radicchio! And home grown ginger…what a treat. 🙂

  20. Those little radishes are so cute 🙂 and the carrots are so plump!

  21. Karen says:

    Your garden has been really giving you some nice vegetables considering the very cold weather. I can’t believe your picture perfect radicchio.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Karen,
      My picture perfect radicchio was a pleasant surprise. Definitely growing again next year, may try a spring crop also. Blogging has made me document my garden progresses so now I can go back and remember certain details.

  22. createengwp says:

    Learned how to mask the bitterness from chicory. Thanks for sharing that piece of information!

  23. Juliana says:

    It is always so nice to see your harvest…the radicchio looks so pretty…and the chubby carrots are awesome Norma.
    Hope you have a great week 🙂

  24. Sophie33 says:

    Your raddichio is looking fabulous & so is your home grown gibger! Those smaller carrots look adorable & tasty too!

Leave a Reply

