Harvest Monday, November 12, 2012

Woke up to snow covered grounds Thursday, 11/8, morning. We got off lightly from winter storm Athena, about 3 inches and no outage.

Was hoping my neighbour’s kids would bring me some leaves so I could mulch my root crops before the storm, guess they were busy with school work and no time to rake and bag their leaves. Glad there was no damage to the crops.

Weekend was gorgeous, rearranged my schedule to take advantage of the unseasonable warm and sunny days (got to make hay while the sun shines). Finally cleaned up my flower beds. Pulled up dead plants, cut back herbaceous peonies, pruned perennials ….. I was on a roll.

Also put up winter deer fence to protect the spring flowering shrubs. Sure glad I was able to get this done. Have at least 6 deer coming through twice daily. Not at all bashful, march right up to the front door. The younger generations are not selective, they eat everything in sight. Wonder if they get tummy ache from eating the wrong plant?????

Today promises to be another beautiful day, will try to tidy up the veggie garden.

Korean Radish (Daikon)

Harvest my first Korean radish in August, continued to harvest in September and early October. Decided to leave a few in the ground longer just to see if they would get woody. Pulled them up before the storm. They were not woody.

The seed package mentioned that the leaves are good for cooking. After washing, I sliced the stems and leaves into about ½ inch length and cooked like I would turnip greens. Had a nice flavor, liked it a lot.

Carrots and Kohlrabi

Brought in some carrots (not sure of the variety, they are short and stout) and kohlrabi. The fall carrots are doing so much better than the spring carrots. The fall kohlrabi are not as large as the spring planted ones, actually quite small and not pretty like the ones grown in the spring, but were sweet and tender.

Broccoli and Parsnip

Found 1 broccoli. Not much, but combined with kohlrabi and carrots, made a delicious veggie medley stir-fry.

Dug in 1 parsnip. Kinda ugly but pretty good size, expecting the others to be just as large. Will mulch the bed heavily with leaves and harvest as needed throughout the winter. Also mulching the other root crops.

Both the carrots and parsnips are sweeter now after the frosts (the cold temperatures signal the plants to send sugars to the roots for storage).

A few of the carrots were split. Anyone knows the reason?

…   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …

Copyright © by Norma Chang. All Rights Reserved. Do not use/repost any photos and/or articles without permission.

Visit Daphne’s Dandelions http://daphnesdandelions.blogspot.com/ for more Harvest Mondays

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Gardening, Harvest Monday, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

71 Responses to Harvest Monday, November 12, 2012

  1. You had a very busy and productive weekend Norma and you got another good harvest. I hope you get the answer about your carrots splitting.
    🙂 Mandy

  2. Another productive week, Norma.

  3. Patsy says:

    Oh great looking vegetables! What a nice parsnip! I didn’t grow any this year and I love them. Last year voles ate almost all of them! We’ve also eaten radish greens; one year they just wouldn’t bulb up, they just grew large lush greens! So we checked if they were edible and read that they were, so used them as you say, like turnip greens. Have a good week!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Patsy,
      I am worrying that voles or other burrowing critters will take bites out of my mulched root crops, but I have no where to overwinter them so decided to take my chances and hope they go for winter hibernation.

  4. I think the carrots split when the core grows faster than the outside – probably when it’s dry and we get a heavy rain.

  5. Annie says:

    Norma, I’m glad you had a gorgeous weekend to do the final gardening chores before winter sets in…must have been so rewarding a task:) Just started mine, but I had enough for the day and the rest is to be rationed for the next few days again 🙂

  6. Dave says:

    My carrots and kohlrabi did about the same, carrots better in fall and kohlrabi better in spring. I think I got my kohlrabi out too late, though it’s still getting bigger.

  7. Daphne says:

    Some beautiful harvests this late in the season. I think the carrot splitting is also related to the variety. I very rarely get splitting with my SugarSnax carrots and if I do it is very very minor (none this year). But my Mokums always give me some split carrots and the splits are open to the core and very large.

  8. kitsapfg says:

    I get occassional splitting of carrots – usually mature ones that get subjected to a heavy rain. Kind of like a cabbage head that splits from sudden growth that is greater than the exterior area expands. Your harvests this week are quite diverse and very yummy looking.

  9. Sounds like a very productive week! I’ve had a few carrots split on me and it seems related to inconsistent water (like a heavy rain). Not sure what there is for it except to chop ’em up and enjoy them anyway 😉

  10. Eva Taylor says:

    Incredible so late in the season to be still harvesting Norma. You really know what you’re doing. I finally planted my garlic (found Canadian organic so I am very excited to see how well they do). I didn’t plant onions this time, the garlic is really what I want.
    I haven’t had Kohlrabi for ever, my Mom used to make something of it, that I don’t now recall. Although I was a vegetable fiend (still am) Kohlrabi was not one of my favourites. After a quick search, I found that the Hungarian usually make a creamed soup (with milk and not cream). Perhaps I will give it another try soon.
    Thanks for the tip on cutting back the herbaceous peonies, I didn’t know, perhaps that’s why they didn’t flower all that well this year. I shall try it now and see what happens in the spring.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Eva,
      Sliced kohlrabi saute in a bit of oil/butter with 1- 2 slice fresh ginger, minced garlic and onion, salt to taste, until crisp tender is delicious, do give it a try.
      Herbaceous peonies if planted too deep will fail to bloom. Buds should be no more than 1″ – 2″ below the soil surface, be careful not to mulch too thick.

  11. Sounds like you are having crisp fresh days my friend 🙂
    Lovely produce!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  12. Look at your lovely carrots! And our kohlrabi this year has been quite woody – we’ve had to cut quite a lot of the bottoms off, which is a bit of a shame. I’ve never tried growing daikon, what a good idea!

  13. Your short and stout carrots have such a vibrant colour. I didn’t know you had a problem with deer. We certainly don’t see any deer where I am except in the zoo! xx

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Andrew,
      Thanks for stopping by. No deer problem, lucky you. It is a major, major problem for the area not just the devastation of vegetations but especially with the lyme disease and other deer tick related illnesses.

  14. Hi Norma, yes, those kids probably were looking for many excuses not to rake leaves in their garden. I have one kid like that myself: each time I have to remind him a few times to have his chore done. They never forget to play their video games though…
    No, those creatures don’t have tummy aches, I am sure, otherwise they would stay away from your garden… Your daikon looks so good, I can imagine it in kimchi! 🙂 Love radish kimchi, my favorite!
    Why did those carrots split? Too dry, maybe? too ripe? But even split they look, and sure, taste good. I wouldn’t mind adding it to a soup… 🙂

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Marina,
      They are very good kids and actually love to rake and bag their leaves, but they are also very busy kids.
      The concensus among commenters are the inconsistancy of water that is causing the problem could also be a variety issue.

  15. Kristy says:

    I’ve seen split carrots on occasion and had no idea why. Looks like you were very busy this weekend. Was your weather as nice as ours? It was in the upper 60’s here. Felt fabulous – even if it was windy.

  16. Very interesting to read about the radish greens. I love growing daikon because it is so enthusiastic – nothing seems to stop them. Now I have another reason to love them. Thanks for the tip!

  17. Liz says:

    My daikon always grow ridiculously long and then often break off when I harvest them – the shape of yours is much more sensible. I will have to look out for that variety.

  18. Glad that you didn’t have any damage from Athena. Friend in NJ have been without power for ages now!!! I didn’t know that these veggies got sweeter in the cold! Interesting!

  19. Eha says:

    Knew I had forgotten something: still no daikon growing – and yours look fat and healthy! Love Mr parsnip – looks like an old gentleman with whiskers 🙂 ! Regards from where the sun is shining, no winds in sight for the next seven days and temps about 28 degrees C!! Uhuh, big skite, aren’t I ?

  20. brilliant garden. I have no idea why carrots split but if you find out, let us know. I love growing carrots.

  21. Congrats on still harvesting. My mom’s garden is Arkansas is done for the season.

  22. ChgoJohn says:

    We’re approaching mid-November and you’re still harvesting broccoli. That’s fantastic, Norma! Of course, the fact that you’re also reaping carrots, daikon, and the rest is very good, too. So glad to hear that you only had a little snow from Athena and that your power remained flowing. Those poor workmen have their hands full without Athena adding more black out areas.

  23. Your garden has given you so much flavor and color, Norma! I’m so glad to read that the storm didn’t affect you too much and that the days following were warm and super productive. Good luck with your deer, my mom and dad put out a sound machine but had to turn it off because it was bothering the teenagers next door, lol! xx

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Barbara,
      Yes, the garden has been good to me, slowing down but still providing quite a bit. Oh yes, had a few superproductive days, I am very pleased with me, but my bones and muscles are not.

  24. Snow already? It seems early for that but the weather has been anything but predictable there this year. That is great that you are still harvesting!

  25. looks like you would be a good farmer

  26. What a beautiful and healthy mu Korean radish! Ah, pops would go to town on that! One of his favorite ways to eat it is straight up or dipped in gochujang =)

  27. Karen says:

    I’m glad that you reminded me about deer and shrubs. The deer will eat my holly down to nothing if I don’t completely cover it in green snow fencing…I’ll have to get that done soon.

  28. I am sorry to hear about the snow but it looks like you have a really great harvest this year. Looking at your diakon reminds me that is getting time of year to make some Huoguo… Chinese Hot pot. This year I want to make a tomato based broth. Do you have a recipe for this? Take care, BAM

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Bam,
      Sorry I do not have a tomato based broth recipe. What I frequently do is add lots of heirloom tomatoes to diluted broth, simmer until tomatoes are very soft, strain and that’s my tomato based broth. Hope I helped a little.

  29. Juliana says:

    It is always nice to see your harvest Norma…they are beautiful as always 🙂
    Hope you are having a great week!

  30. leduesorelle says:

    It was indeed a gorgeous weekend to get garden chores done! Your Korean daikon look similar to the green meat radishes that we’re growing — are yours green inside when you cut them open?

  31. Sophie33 says:

    Indeed, a beautiful harvest also with the snow already being there in your part of the world!
    MM!

  32. Charles says:

    Wow, snow – we’ve had none here yet… I’m kinda looking forward to it I must say… always so pretty 🙂

    Great harvest – I’m really pleased because parsnips are getting much more popular in stores and markets here in France. 7 years ago it was almost impossible to get them, but now they’re everywhere… hooray 🙂

    Also: http://www.carrotmuseum.co.uk/qna.html#g16
    They talk about the reasons for carrots splitting, although I can’t believe there’s a website called “Carrot Museum”, lol 😀

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Charles,
      This is a surprise to learn that 7 years ago parsnips were not readily available in stores in France, for some reason I always associated parsnips with French cooking, don’t ask me why.
      Thanks for the carrotmuseum link, interesting read.

      • Charles says:

        Heh, they’re not that commonly used in French cooking – at least not in this part of France. Some people even look blankly when you ask them if they like “panais” (parsnip in French) because they’ve neither heard nor tasted it before. It’s growing in popularity though, thankfully, so roast parsnips are once again a regular feature on my festive menus 😀

      • Norma Chang says:

        Hello Charles,
        Glad to hear parsnips are growing in popularity and you can feature them regularly on your menus. Maybe you can grow some in a deep pot on your balcony, the leaves are quite attractive.

Leave a Reply

