Chickpeas Sprouts & Butternut Squash Curry

Noticed one of my butternut squash in storage was looking a bit strange at the stem end. Upon close inspection, the stem broke off to reveal a squash borer, I was so disgusted at the sight I squashed the critter and missed a photo op moment, ah well. Glad I discovered the problem before much damage to the squash. As you can see from the photo at right, I only needed to cut off a thin slice from the stem end.

The squash has been sitting on my kitchen counter for a couple of days. Kept looking at it and trying to decide what to make. As luck would have it, my blogging friend, Eva of Kitchen Inspiration posted a Chickpea and Potato Curry recipe in which she mentioned she might substitute butternut squash for the potato next time around.

Bingo! Here is my inspiration. Thanks Eva.

Do hop over to Kitchen Inspiration for more inspirations. You will think Eva lives in her kitchen but she has a full time job. Wondered how she manages to do it all?

I did not have canned chickpeas but I have chickpeas sprouts in the freezer. I also did not have garam masala so I added a bit more curry powder. No chili pepper, used Asian chili sauce instead. Liked the result very much. My finished dish was “soupy” compared to Eva’s. I served the curry over rice accompanied by a salad.

Chickpeas Sprouts & Butternut Squash Curry

Adapted from Chickpea and Potato Curry by Eva of Kitchen Inspiration. Click here for Eva’s recipe.

Ingredients: (Serves 4)
1 cup diced onion (next time I will make thin lengthwise slices)
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 inch piece fresh ginger, grated finely with a microplane (use less if you are not fond of too much ginger or take a few slices from your ginger wine, if you made it, and remove ginger slices after cooking)
¼ – 1 teaspoon Asian chili sauce or to taste (used ¼ tsp, like chili but it does not like me)
½ teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon oil
1½ – 2 tablespoons mild curry powder/paste or to taste (use as much or as little as you like or leave out if you are not a curry person, this recipe is very forgiving)
2 cups water (will use broth when I make this dish again)
1½ lbs butternut squash, peeled and cut into about ½ inch cubes
2 cup chickpeas sprouts (or 1 19-ounce canned chickpeas, drained and rinsed)
¼ cup roughly chopped fresh cilantro

Preparations
1. In a large deep skillet, add oil, onion and salt. Cooked over medium-low heat until onion starts to brown, 8-10 minutes. Add garlic and ginger and cook another 5 minutes or until onion is carmelized.
2. Stir in curry powder and chili sauce, cook for 30 second.
(When I make this again, at this point, I will remove the skillet’s content, add 1 TBS oil and sauté the squash for a few minutes or until lightly browned, return removed content and continue with recipe)
3. Add 2 cups of the water (or broth) and mix well.
4. Add butternut squash; cover and cook, stirring occasionally for about 1o minutes or until squash is partially cooked.
5. Add chickpeas sprouts (if frozen, no need to thaw) and cook for 5 – 10 minutes or until squash is tender adding more water/broth to achieve desired consistency.

NOTE: I served the finished dish over a medley of cooked rice I had in the fridge and a green salad on the side.
My rice medley consisted of: medium grain brown rice, black glutinous rice and brown glutinous rice.

…   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …  …   …

Copyright © by Norma Chang. All Rights Reserved. Do not use/repost any photos and/or articles without permission.

Robin, The Gardener of Eden, is the host for Thursdays Kitchen Cupboard. Head on over to Thursday’s Kitchen Cupboard to see what others are cooking.

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Chickpeas Sprouts & Butternut Squash Curry

  1. A perfect autumn curry, Norma. I would love to try it with a mix of sweet potatoes and butternut. Love them both.

  2. hotlyspiced says:

    I saw this recipe on Eva’s blog and would like to make it only it’s a little warm here in Sydney now. I’ll have to hold it over for the cooler months. Looks so pretty though and I know it would be really good for you xx

  3. Daphne says:

    That looks wonderful. I’ve got to make a curry sometime soon.

  4. Eva Taylor says:

    I am so flattered Norma, thank you for the lovely compliments and the shout out! I love what you did with the curry, it looks perfect for such drizzly weather (did you get snow from the latest storm?) I also love that you served it with the dark rices, so tasty and the medley of textures must have been incredible. I know my tastes are similar to yours so I just know I would love this!
    Thanks again!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Eva,
      Yes, I did get snow from Athena, but got off lightly, only about 3 inches. I think you would like the texture of the rices, especially the black and brown glutinous rices. Unfortunately the black glutinous rice bleeds and colors everything black.

      • Eva Taylor says:

        Years ago I thought I’d make a slightly different Paella and chose a black rice that I think was called Forbidden Rice, it didn’t work out all that well as it did colour everything purple! Live and learn.

      • Norma Chang says:

        Hello Eva,
        Black rice is also known as Forbidden Rice because it was, in the olden days, off limits to the general public. Served only to the Emperor. Think I will do a post on it at a later date.

  5. A bowl packed full of goodness and flavour.
    🙂 Mandy

  6. Eva’s recipes are always a great source of inspiration for me as well! I love your substitutions and the finished dish looks scrummity!! xx

  7. Great dish Norma! I am a big fan of squash in curries. Have a great weekend 🙂

  8. Sophie33 says:

    What a fantastic & tasty dish here, Norma! I love it! Great flavours work beautifully together in this tasty dish! MMMM!

  9. What a delicious sounding curry my friend great ingredients 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  10. MaryMoh says:

    Healthy and delicious curry. Love it. I also bought a butternut squash today intending to cook curry 🙂

  11. ChgoJohn says:

    Eva’s curry caught my eye, too, Norma. It sounds delicious. Good thing you caught that borer before it could do more damage.
    I’m sorry. I forgot your pasta recipes. I’ll get it to you this weekend. Again, sorry.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello John,
      Yes, I am glad I caught the borer when I did, too bad I did not get a photo, it was really fat.
      So sorry I put pressure on you for the pasta recipe, not in any hurry so please take your time.

  12. I love Eva’s blog and have no idea how she gets done all she does. I don’t think I could keep up with her. This curry sounds so good.

  13. Hi Norma, What a lovely meal, so comforting… I would love to have some even now after I just had my dinner. Those creatures do make themselves at home at your home as their invasion never stops, even when it’s cold… Good thing you were able to use this squash before they did.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Marina,
      And it is vegetarian. I frequently wonder how commercial growers manage????? Surely these creatures are not only seeking out backyard gardeners.

      • Good question, I guess they just share some. 🙂 When we were driving through California (and we drove all the way from the South to the North), we saw rows of covered bushes, trees, and plants. So the commercial growers seems to have the same problems…
        Norma, do you have a post about sweet potato varieties?

      • Norma Chang says:

        Hello Marina,
        I thought I did a sweet p0otato varieties post but guess I just “thought” and never got the job done, sorry.

      • The reason I asked is because there are so many variety of sweet potatoes, with some being sweeter. I love the red skin sweet potatoes with white flash, don’t remember the name though…

      • Norma Chang says:

        Hello Marina,
        The red skin sweet potatoes with white flesh is, I think, Korean purple. If you get an opportunity, try the purple flesh variety.

  14. Ooh, cilantro and butternut squash? Sounds delicious.

  15. Kristy says:

    This looks delicious Norma. I have a butternut squash sitting in my pantry right now. Great way to prepare it! I remember Eva’s post as well. Now I have two ways to prepare a fabulous dish. 🙂

  16. I missed Eva’s recipe, thank you for bringing it to my attention Norma
    I love Eva’s take on recipes, they are usually flavorful and interesting
    As is your choice of rice to serve it with. I have only used white and brown rice so far. I think I need to get a little more adventurous

  17. I love the look of your soup over the brown rice Norma. This really is the beauty of blogging and the inspiration that is all around us. I had way too many over-ripe bananas and pears this week and voila, there was a banana and pear loaf on one of the blogs that I follow. Love it!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Barb,
      Thanks. I think you will love the texture of the different rices. The issue with the black rice is that it will color everything in the pot. You can freeze you overripe bananas for later use, don’t know about pears.

  18. This dish looks like a perfect fall curry dish, Norma! I love it. And thanks for tipping me off to Eva’s site – I wasn’t familiar with it.

Leave a Reply

