The Intruder – One of Them

The last paragraph of my June 11, 2012 post I mentioned looking out the kitchen window and seeing a deer happily munching on my Stella d’oro daylillies. I did not have the presence of mind to get my camera for a photo shot (was so upset at the sight I slammed hard on the window to scare it away).

Looked out the window this moring and guess who was having breakfast? You guessed it.

This time I was calmer, no sense getting upset, got my camera and went to the backyard to get a good photo. I was worried that the sound of opening the door would cause the intruder to get scared and run away. But no, it raised its head at the sound looked straight at me and posed. Oh yes, it just stood there posing even as I walk towards it and remained in that pose, very still, for quite a few minutes.

As you can see from the above photo the Stella d’oro daylillies on the lower left has no flowers.

My one and only rose bush
Had to give away all the others as the deer kept eating the leaves and the flowers. This one is around because it is taller than the door (at right) and the deer cannot reach that height.

Copyright © by Norma Chang

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to The Intruder – One of Them

  1. Kim says:

    I can’t believe he is alone…where are his buddies? My deer always by the dozens!
    Leaving North Carolina today for Fla., Happy Gardening

  2. Lrong says:

    Oh dear… hope it did not create too much destruction in your garden… they are cute, but…

  3. I’m glad you stayed calm my friend – although I’m sorry for your beautiful flowers, I can’t help but smile at its majesty!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  4. Liz says:

    At least they’re beautiful animals, unlike so many of the creatures that normally eat our gardens. I am sad for your daylillies though.

  5. cocomino says:

    You live in very nice place because you can see such cute deer. I envy you. 🙂

  6. My sister complains about deer and then runs to grab her camera. She switches from grumbling to sharing the photos. 🙂

  7. Lou Murray's Green World says:

    I no longer feel bad about all of the possums and raccoons that we get. You have my sympathy. lou

  8. zestybeandog says:

    I have the same issue, so many deer in our town. They have eaten all of my flowers, everything, except the rosemary!

  9. Robin says:

    It can be very frustrating when intruders eat away at your garden! I think that deer was posing for your picture! Have you ever tried using a spray to deter them?

  10. That’s such a great shot of that wicked deer that it almost doesn’t look real! Pose, absolutely she did! So sorry about your day lilies. They’ve been spectacular here this year. Pretty roses.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello B and B,
      It was as if it was saying to me “Please take my picture.” Yes, I have noticed how spectacular the daylilies are in other people’s garden, mine would have been too the plant was loaded with buds.

  11. Eva Taylor says:

    What a shame about the day lilies, Norma, but to be honest, it’s such a sight to see a gorgeous dear in your backyard. The roses are beautiful too; though I am surprise the deer are not hindered by the thorns…I thought they were for protection!

  12. Rick says:

    We have a herd of deer in our area, which is actually pretty rare for as urban of an area that we live in. We are lucky in that we have a fence around our back yard so they usually stay out of our garden and go for the easier fair in the neighbors yards!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Rick,
      Glad your garden is fenced in and safe, my vegetable garden and certain areas of my flower beds are fenced in but it is not possible to fence in the whole property.

  13. Juliana says:

    Oh! I am sorry for the intruder…but he or she is so cute…I have problem with squirrels, they come and dig all my plants…they are cute when away from my planters but not when they are digging into it 🙂
    Hope you are having a great week Norma!

  14. mac says:

    Cute little guy you have there, daylily is delicious, sorry the cutie beat you to it, I shouldn’t complaint about bunnies and birds >.<"

  15. Courtney says:

    Oh, we get deer, too. Thank goodness they’re too scared of our dog to come anywhere near our garden. Sorry!

  16. Thank you for the picture Norma 🙂
    it put a smile on my face, I know you are upset about your flowers, I would be too but you have to admit he is very beautiful..almost elegant

  17. I’m more amazed that you got a clear, still shot of the “intruder”!

  18. That is a cute deer. I love that he posed for a quick pic. He must have known you are a blogger lol!

  19. ChgoJohn says:

    It’s bad enough that they feast on your flowers and vegetables but must they look so beautiful? She does look good standing there. I’m sure her mate from last Fall looks regal with his antler rack, and there are few things more cute than a fawn. Too bad they’re all garden thieves!!! 🙂

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello John,
      I saw a buck with an eight point antler last year, it was really regal looking, the fawns in the spring are really cute with their white spots.

  20. Dave says:

    They ate our calendula and petunias the other night. They had not been sprayed. I didn’t realize they would eat daylillies.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Dave,
      Daylillies and hostas are 2 or their favorite foods plus calendula, petunias, and many more, even geraniums which I thought they would not touch because of the smell.

  21. Caught in the act! It was good to get a look at your intruder, and to catch a glimpse of your beautiful garden.

  22. Barbara Good says:

    Now that’s something I’m not likely to see in my garden, He (or is it she, I don’t know) is beautiful, great photo too.

  23. Kristy says:

    I used to love seeing the deer in the backyard of our old home. Then again, I didn’t have any flowers or gardens. I’m sure I would have felt differently if I did. 🙂 Love the picture!

  24. Not a sight we see here. I did, however, drive past a mob of kangaroos feasting in a grassed cemetery on my way back to Sydney recently.. 😉

  25. Sophie says:

    It is good that you remained calm!! I hope he will not return! 🙂
    I also love roses!!

  26. Charles says:

    Oh no! What a naugty little boy (girl?) – I hope they won’t cause too many problems. Elk can cause huge problems in the forests in Sweden – they’ll strip trees of bark. It will kill the tree but it looks so strange – seeing all these trees with no bark, but only up to a certain height, and then the bark is intact again!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Charles,
      In the spring they do cause damage by rubbing their antlers against the trees. They are also the source for lyme and other deer ticks related illnesses.

Leave a Reply

