Frozen Tofu, Beef & Pinto Bean Sprouts Chili

Yes, the above photo is a bowl of chili, and yes, I made it. No, the original recipe is not mine.

You see, a few weeks ago I received an e-mail from Alyssa (EverydayMaven) inviting me to be a guest blogger for her new weekly series Guest Blogger of the Week. Needless to say I was flattered and honored.

I have been a follower of Everyday Maven and enjoy Alyssa’s uncomplicated, delicious and healthy recipes, so I did not hesitate to say yes.

She then asked me to introduce my Freezing Tofu and Bean Sprouting techniques to her readers. Her Everyday Beef + Bean Chili recipe immediately came to my mind as the perfect vehicle. I thought it would be so cool to do a makeover of this recipe using some frozen tofu in addition to the beef and sprouted beans.

These are the changes I made to the original recipe:

Substituted frozen tofu for part of the ground beef (click here for how to freeze tofu). Above photo: frozen tofu.

Substituted pinto bean sprouts for the canned beans (used pinto beans only, no kidney beans) (click here for how to grow pinto bean sprouts). Right photo: pinto bean sprouts.

Did not use the polenta

If you wanted to try tofu but hestitated, give this Frozen Tofu, Beef & Pinto Bean Sprouts Chili a try, you cannot tell there is tofu in it. Click here for the recipe.

Thank you Alyssa for inviting me to participate in GBOTW and to share my ideas with your readers!

Copyright © by Norma Chang

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Recipes, Sprouts, Tofu and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Frozen Tofu, Beef & Pinto Bean Sprouts Chili

  1. Robin says:

    Looks wonderful Norma! The next time I make my chili, I will have to try substituting tofu for some of the ground beef.

  2. Wow, doesn’t this look interesting! What a group of flavors and textures. Well done, Norma!

  3. ChgoJohn says:

    This certainly does look delicious, Norma, and is much healthier than the “normal” preparations. A great recipe and another good site to check out. Thanks for both.

  4. Kim says:

    Oh boy I can almost smell how terrific that must be.
    Your food always tatse incredible Norma, must be all the love you put into it.
    Happy Gardening

  5. Wow, it looks fantastic! I am very hungry for one of this chili now! What a great idea, Norma!

  6. This chili sounds delicious! I should’ve made this last Friday when I couldn’t eat meat!

  7. Purely.. Kay says:

    I love the flavors in this Chili Ms. Norma. It looks so hearty and perfect for a day when youneed something filling 🙂

  8. Norma, thanks again for a wonderful and informative guest post!

  9. Liz says:

    I love all the flavourings on top. I always find the best dishes often have those little extra bits that make them truly delicious.

  10. mac says:

    Look delicious and very creative idea, I’ll have to try this some day.

  11. Hi Norma,
    This is comfort food. The chilli looks amazing!

  12. Norma you always have such original ideas! What a creative approach to chili with the addition of your pinto bean sprouts. Nicely done!

  13. Kristy says:

    Oh! A chilli that both of my kids might eat! 🙂

  14. I never really knew what frozen tofu was until a friend of mine introduced it to me once when we were having hot pot and now lol i think i’m hooked onto it 🙂 i love how frozen tofu absorbs all the yummy flavours ~

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Daisy,
      I lot of people use frozen tofu in hot pot and yes, it does absorbs all the yummy flavors. Now that you are back home guess you will be making frozen tofu.

  15. This looks so good, and it’s a really unusual way of using frozen tofu! I love the way tofu’s texture changes from freezing.

  16. Sandra says:

    This looks hearty and filling! Yum!

  17. Charles says:

    Hi Norma – I can well imagine not being able to notice the absence of beef… with all those delicious toppings, and beans and the rich, tasty looking sauce I’d be focused on other things than trying to figure out if it was cow or not 😀 I love a good bowl of chili – delicious 🙂

  18. Kiran says:

    Yummy! I’ve never tasted a chili before (shocker, I know!), and this surely makes me salivate 🙂

  19. samology says:

    mmm! That looks very appetizing and delicious! I love chili especially with MEAT! hahaha

Leave a Reply

