Harvest Monday, December 19, 2011

The ground is beginning to freeze, decided to dig up all, well most, of my root vegetables before the ground freezes completely.

Click on photos to enlarge

Beets

This is the last of the lutz beets. They will be placed in storage for later use. Weight: 5 pounds.

Beets after a bath.

Celeriac

Celeraics are small this year. Must amend the soil before planting next year. All that only weighed 1¾ pounds. After peeling, had enough to add to a beef stew.

Carrots did not do well. Was making chicken broth for the freezer. The damaged and small carrots went into the pot together with some celeriac leaves, green part of the leeks. parsley (no phtoto) and a few slices of ginger. Remainder went into a beef stew together with the celeriac and onion (in storage). Weight: 2½ pounds.

Leeks were skinny. Weight: ¾ pound. Parsnips are good size. Weight: 1 pound (the 2 big ones together). Will braise and freeze for a future meal. Decided to leave some of the leeks and parsnip in the ground to harvest as needed through the winter months. My friend Rose gave me some chopped leaves which I used to cover the beds. Hope this will offer some winter protection.

Visit Daphne’s Dandelions http://daphnesdandelions.blogspot.com/ for more Harvest Mondays.

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Harvest Monday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Harvest Monday, December 19, 2011

  1. Emily says:

    Your beets look lovely. Mine did poorly this year. I too was harvesting the last few things before the ground freezes for the winter.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Emily,
      Thanks. That’s the interesting part of gardening. The crops seldom perform the same each year. What did poorly this year will surprise us and do exceptionally well next year. Yes, we gardeners are an optimistic bunch, there is always next year.

  2. kitsapfg says:

    Lots of tasty roots this week in your harvest basket. I had a bad carrot year in 2011 so I am fresh out of them until my overwintered crop (which is growing nicely) sizes up enough to be harvested. I miss them for stews and soups.

  3. Lucky you! My garden this year was a complete bust. But the woodchucks enjoyed eating our poor tomato crop, they also ate the chives (chives! really!?), who knew the onion family was part of their likes. But I do have a bumper crop of Jerusalem Artichokes–which unfortunately I cannot eat ever, ever, ever (for reasons you know)!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Frowzy Chickadee,
      Didn’t know woodchucks would eat chives. Sorry you cannot enjoy your Jerusalem artichokes tubers, but the flowers are gorgeous and I am sure your garden was ablaze with the bright yellow blooms.

  4. ibarbie says:

    Wither everyone earthing up their roots I can nearly smell the dirt. 🙂 Looks like it may have not been what you were expecting, but still a nice harvest!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello ibarbie,
      Yes, it was a nice harvest especially the lutz beets. I dreamt they were attacked by wildlife. I lost quite of few of my sweet potatoes to wildlife in October, the biggest ones of course.

  5. Lutz beets are great keepers. They never seem to get woody even if you let them get really big. I have some that should have been harvested long ago, but I’m letting the grow.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Lou,
      Yes, lutz beets are great keepers and I love the fact that they do not get woody. Actually was lucky since I did not get around to mulching my root veggies. Normally this time of year our grounds are solidly frozen and not possible to dig out anything unless thickly mulched before the grounds freeze.

  6. Parsnips overwinter well for me in the cold north though we generally get good snowcover so it helps with insulation. I also know that leek can overwinter pretty well here too. I had to harvest my roots about a month ago but then the weather played rollercoaster with us so I probably could have left them longer. Nice looking beets.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Ottawa Gardener,
      Last year we had tons of snow which helped with insulation so parsnips overwintered well. I lost my leeks though. Not sure how things will turn out this winter, all depends on mother nature.

  7. Liz says:

    Wow frozen ground! I’m not sure how I’d cope with that. Or indeed how any plants would. Hope you winter is mild enough that the leeks survive.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Liz,
      Many plants are able to cope with the frozen ground and do very well. My heathers bloom the whole winter even poking through the snow. I mulched my leeks thickly with leaves so will see.

  8. wok with ray says:

    Look at all of these nutrients that you are digging up. They are beautiful, Norma! Have a happy holidays.

    ~ ray ~

  9. Diana says:

    Your beets look very shiny like Christmas decoration after a good scrub. I think you have a good carrot and leek harvest! Hope you have a merry festive season.

Leave a Reply

