A Quick, Easy and Nutritious Tofu Recipe

This is a tofu recipe for those who tried tofu and were turned off and for those who wanted to try tofu but heard many negatives.

This is also a recipe for this time of year when we are busy with all the holidays activities and need a fast nutritious meal. Serve this soup with some crusty bread and a green salad, yum!!!!!

Yes, in a pinch, I have resorted to canned chicken broth for this recipe. I realize many who know me and reading this are thinking “Norma using canned chicken broth?” Well, there are times when you do what you have to do.

Do use this recipe as a guide and adjust ingredients to your own taste and need (a thick hearty soup or a thin one). Ideally this soup is best using fresh off the cob sweet corn, especially if the ears of corn are from the garden to the pot and of course homemade broth.

Corn & Tofu Chowder

From “My Students’ Favorite Chinese Recipes updated edition” by Norma Chang

Ingredients
3 – 4 cups chicken or vegetarian broth
1 14-ounce can cream style corn (see NOTE 1)
8 ounces soft or silken tofu, mashed using a fork
1 whole eggs or 2 egg whites, lightly beaten
¼ – ½ teaspoon Asian sesame oil, optional
Chili oil or chili sauce to taste, optional
1 – 2 tablespoons thinly sliced green part of scallion

Preparations
1. In a stock pot, bring broth to boil. Add tofu and bring to boil again. (see NOTE 2)
2. Add corn, bring to boil. Stir in egg, then sesame oil.
3. Ladle into individual soup bowls. Sprinkle on a bit of scallion and chili oil or chili sauce to taste. Serve hot.

NOTE 1: Instead of canned cream style corn, use 2 or more ears sweet corn. Cut off kernels from the cob using a sharp knife and scrape cob using the dull edge of the knife to collect any left-behind kernels and milk.
NOTE 2: If using fresh corn add corn during step 1 and tofu during step 2.
NOTE 3: If you need to make the small bits of tofu disappear, puree soup before adding corn. If you are using fresh corn, following recipe as written. After adding corn simmer for a few mintues then stir in egg.

Copyright © 2011 by Norma Chang

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Recipes, Tofu and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to A Quick, Easy and Nutritious Tofu Recipe

  1. Wilderness says:

    Now I have a feeling I know what I was served at many meals when I was in Hong Kong. Sure looks like the same thing and the chili oil was always served with it. It was usually a starter to the meal.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Wilderness,
      How was the dish served, soup, braise or stir fried? Did you like it? How did you like Hong Kong?

      • Wilderness says:

        It was a soup and definitely had corn in it. Hong Kong was pretty much like any other modern city. I was there in July 2005 just before it went back to main land China. We saw some of the formal protests that were being held at that time. It sure was different than any protest you would see in this country. We did go somewhere up this mountain to a shopping area that was all small open shops where you bartered for the price. It was a great experience. Much different than going to Seoul which was a complete cultural shock on the back side of the hotel and a modern city on the front of the hotel. Enjoyed both visits. We were 10 days in Hong Kong but I was in classes or meetings most of the time but DH got to do the site seeing.

      • Norma Chang says:

        Hello Wilderness,
        You witnessed history in the making. Glad you enjoyed your visits to Asia.

  2. mac says:

    Nice and easy soup, it’s a good way to get people to try the very versatile tofu, I always have some in the frig, and it’s the one item I use most often, I’ll eat tofu anything.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Mac,
      Many were turned away from tofu because their frist experience was at the salad bar. I hope this easy soup will change some minds. Lived off tofu these past 2 weeks since I was not feeling up to par and tofu is nutritious nd so easy to digest. Wish I had one of your daikon to add to my tofu soup.

  3. Robin says:

    I have never been a fan of tofu. But my husband loves it. I guess that I have never had it prepared properly. I’ll have to give your recipe a try and see if it changes my mind. We have some nice corn in the freezer to use with this recipe.

  4. Diana says:

    I love tofu. Very nutritious dish, This make good comfort food. My boys will love this as well.

  5. Diana says:

    I am thinking of making this dish. But I will have to use frozen sweet corns instead.

  6. shaz says:

    Hi Norma,

    This soup sounds delicious and so healthy to boot. And yes, definitely sometimes, when time is tight, a canned/ packaged stock is so handy 🙂 Thanks for visiting my blog, I am so glad to have found yours.

  7. Jeanette says:

    What a nice light and healthy soup – like a velvet soup, looks delicious!

  8. This soup looks fantastic! Definitely going to try it. P.S. Your garden is beautiful!!!

Leave a Reply

