Harvest Monday, December 12, 2011

Judy K. correctly identified my mystery flower (Harvest Monday, December 5, 2011).  It is a verbena. Thank you Judy K.

Thursday, Dec. 8, remembered to take my camera to the garden and captured the following shots:

Giant red mustard (volunteers).

Green mustard (volunteers).

Flat leaf parsley.

Curly leaf parsley with a giant red mustard (volunteer) and kale (volunteer). A lovely composition.

Chinese celery.
Am going to continue to push my luck and leave all the above in the garden until Christmas when I am having company.

Harvest ¾ pound of green mustard. Added it to a meatball soup with pasta. Remembered to take picture after I ate the soup and was doing the dishes.

Have not visited the garden since Thursday, and the past few nights we had heavy frost, wonder what I will find when I get out there sometime today or tomorrow?????

Visit Daphne’s Dandelions http://daphnesdandelions.blogspot.com/ for more Harvest Mondays.

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Harvest Monday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Harvest Monday, December 12, 2011

  1. kitsapfg says:

    Your hardy greens are holding up well so far. The addition of fresh harvest items to augment the stored root crops and frozen/canned items really brightens up winter meals.

  2. Mary Hysong says:

    Your greens are so fresh and lively looking! For whatever reason only one of my red mustards sprouted, so will have to plant some more in spring. Hope that all your plants survive the weather.

    I loved your persimmon post too. I love them but they are expensive to buy here so persimmon trees are on my wish list/

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Mary,
      So funny, the greens that I sowed did not grow well at all, the ones in the photos are all volunteers. Going forward, I am going to let some of my greens go to seed and self sow.
      Persimmons are pricey where I live too. On sale at some of the food stores for $1.50 each.

  3. Barbie says:

    I bet your greens will hold up OK. Good luck!

  4. Judy K. says:

    Hi Norma,
    You are welcome (about identifying your mystery plant). You also sound like you are feeling better after being a little under the weather a few days ago. Glad to see our Norma back to her normal self.

  5. Stevie says:

    wonderful! So many greens. That must be really nice to have this time of year.

  6. mac says:

    Love volunteers, the greens look so nice, wish I have some cilantro and parsley growing.

  7. I just read your comment that your celery didn’t make it. 😦 I’m sorry. Your harvest looks wonderful!

    Lynn

  8. Diana says:

    The volunteers look good and they are so helpful with extending your harvest season. Hope you have many more volunteers.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Diana,
      Oh yes, I have many volunteers, result from being a disorganaized (and somewhat lazy) gardener. I never seem to get my garden chores completed in a timely manner. So plants go to seed, fall to the ground and bingo, I have volunteers. Of course I have unwelcomed volunteers also that I have to deal with.

  9. Katie says:

    Your volunteers are beautiful! Nature is the only one who will ever reward you for laziness. I hope to try your turkey recipes in the next few weeks! They really look good.

Leave a Reply

