Harvest Monday, December 5, 2011

Was under the weather this past week so did not set foot in my vegetable garden.
Sorry there is no harvest to show this week but I thought you would enjoy these flowers that are blooming now in my garden in the Hudson Valley.

Took a walk around the house yesterday and discovered this plant blooming under the rose bush not sure how it got there as I did not plant it.
Anyone knows what it is? Guess it was blooming for a while.

Both pink and white heathers (or are they heaths?) are blooming. Sure cheered me up. They bloom the entire winter poking through the snow.

Visit Daphne’s Dandelions http://daphnesdandelions.blogspot.com/ for more Harvest Mondays.

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Flowers, Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Harvest Monday, December 5, 2011

  1. kitsapfg says:

    That is a nice spot of winter color to cheer one up! I hope you are now feeling better.

  2. Wilderness says:

    Norma sorry to hear you haven’t been feeling well. Your flower looks like a phlox but the leaf doesn’t so have no idea.

    Question to you grow your own bean sprouts? If so what kind and how. I like them in stir fry and a can from the store is too many for our meals.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Wilderness,
      I am feeling a lot better today. Thanks.
      Funny you should ask about growing bean sprouts. I was, just the other day, reminding myself to stop at the healthfood store and get some mung beans for sprouting. I use to grow them in my younger days. Got lazy, but will start again. It will be a few weeks before I do a posting as I need to first get the beans, go through the steps and remember to photograph each step, etc.

  3. Judy K. says:

    Hi Norma,
    I think your plant in question looks like a Verbena.

  4. Kim says:

    Looks like a primrose being fooled by the warmer temperatures.

    Yeah, we’ve been under the weather too…………maybe this will be the last cold of the winter?

    Happy gardening and hope you are feeling better soon.

  5. Mary Hysong says:

    glad to see you are feeling better; I’m not sure what that flower is, reminds me of gloxinia. Loved your post on J. artichokes. I used to have quite a few, but they didn’t get watered one summer and are now gone; one the things I want to get again. I love them mostly raw.

  6. Michelle says:

    What a delight it must be to find those flowers poking out of the snow. Hope you feel better soon.

  7. mac says:

    Glad you’re feeling better now. It’s nice to see some color in your yard, all we got here is brown and white this time of year.
    I’m not goot at flower ID, sorry can’t help you there.

Leave a Reply

