Harvest Monday, November 7, 2011

For this week’s Harvest Monday I am featuring vegetables harvested Thursday from the Heritage Vegetable Garden at Locust Grove where I am a volunteer.

I did not get a chance to take care of my own vegetable garden, must find time this week. Fortunately the freak October snow storm did not do much damage, I am sooooo happy.

Parsnip did very well, good size.

Peel, cut to desired sizes and shapes, toss with olive oil, kosher salt & pepper and oven roast. I sometime add pureed garlic and fresh herb. Also delicious braised in broth, add to stew or soup.

There were a few radishes.

This celeriac is flowering. Weight: 1½ pounds. Wondered if the flowering affects the edible root????? The answer is yes. See photo below.

This is what the inside looks like when I cut the root lengthwise. After peeling and cleaning I salvaged 6 ounces to add to a stew.

The leeks were fat. The one on top is about 2 inches in diameter.

While clearing the asparagus bed I came across a few asparagus spears hidden under the ferns protected from frost and snow. They will be part of the Sesame Spaghetti Squash Salad I am bringing to Locust Grove Gardeners’ Potluck Lunch today.

The ferns in the background are asparagus ferns and the red berries are asparagus seeds.

Visit Daphne’s Dandelions http://daphnesdandelions.blogspot.com/ for more Harvest Mondays.

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Harvest Monday, Heritage vegetable garden, Locust Grove and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Harvest Monday, November 7, 2011

  1. Robin says:

    Very nice harvest for this time of the year. I have never grown celeriac. It’s good to know not to let them flower.

  2. kitsapfg says:

    The asparagus shoots are gorgeous! What a nice treasure to find. The leeks are pretty fine specimens as well.

  3. Wilderness says:

    What a great find of the asparagus. I love it so but have no place to make a bed. I am sure the deer would love it.

  4. Barbie says:

    Impressive leeks and asparagus. Especially for hiding and not expected harvesting!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello kitsapfg, Wilderness and Barbie,
      The asparagus shoots were a great find, short but still delicious, I got so excited when I discovered them.
      The soil at the Heritage Vegetable Garden is really top quality, everything grows well. The same items in my garden are only half the size.

  5. Liz says:

    That is a great sized leek. Nice parsnips as well – funnily enough I had a parsnip soup for lunch today – really good.

  6. leduesorelle says:

    Parsnips! Are you leaving any in the ground to overwinter? This is the first time we grew them, and had a terrible time getting them to germinate…

  7. What wonderful harvests! How interesting that the flowering would affect the celeriac that way! I’ve never grown celeriac and just tried it for the first time EVER about a week ago! So good! I’m glad you got some out of it, at least!

  8. Diana says:

    Lots of nice goodies there! Ohhh..those asparagus spears looks very pretty.

  9. What a lucky find, asparagus in November in New York. Amazing. Your recipe for chard in the previous post looks wonderful. I wouldn’t have thought to put ginger root in it. I’ll have to give it a try. I saute greens, esp kale, with dried cranberries, pecans and a splash of rice wine vinegar, so I’m sure I’ll enjoy your chard recipe.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Lou,
      It was a lucky find. A splash of rice wine vinegar in the chard dish is good also. I still have kale in my garden will harvest some and try your recipe. Thanks for sharing.

  10. Lrong says:

    Greetings from Japan… that celeriac… have never seen it before… your harvest pictures are delightful…

Leave a Reply

