My Brand New Kitchen

All the components to make my kitchen fully functional are in place, there are, however, still some unresolved issues with the kitchen cabinets. The owner of the kitchen design company I ordered the cabinets from said he will get the issues resolved and I was hoping all will be well by now, but I am still waiting.

Actually the owner of the cabinet manufacturing company had personally assured me that all will be taken care of by him, still waiting.

May be I will get a phone call sometime this week?????

While waiting, thought I would post some photos of my brand new kitchen:

Kitchen (06608)

The owner of the kitchen design center decided to install the countertop with the sink cut out in one piece. When my contractor heard the news, he was not a happy person, his worry was that the installers were going to ruin his beautifully painted walls especially since I has specified that I do not want caulking at the end where the countertop meets the wall. “Do you know how precise they have to be?” says the contractor.

The countertop was installed in one piece as planned. Took 3 people to get the job done, very, very slowly and carefully, when the mission was accomplished the 3 guys were beaming ear to ear (obviously very pleased with themselves, there was less than a ½ inch nick by the door that was hardly noticeable). Perfect fit and NO seam, beautiful.

Penisula

This “L” shape countertop was also installed in one piece and again there is no caulking along the walls.

kitchen (06600)

The cabinets on the other side of the “L” shape countertop. These are wall cabinets used as base cabinets. The correct depth for all (well most) of my small kitchen appliances.

The countertop has a 12 inch overhang where I can sit and eat or work. Need to get 2 more bar stools.

The kitchen floor looks like wood but is actually vinyl and very easy to maintain.

Can you believe I received a Thank You card from the company, Foster Flooring of Hyde Park, NY, that installed the floor telling me it was a pleasure serving me and thanking me for my business! This is a first and I surely appreciate the gesture.

Have you ever received a thank you card from a company thanking you for your business?

I would highly recommend this company. Did an excellent job with the floor installation,  was very clean and neat, but most importantly efficient and on time as promised.

stove (06610)

The convection feature of my brand new stove, an Electrolux, is very noisy, so noisy I get a headache when in use. Not loving it. Service person will be coming on the 28th to check it out.

The dishwasher, an Asko, on the other hand is very quiet so is the exhaust fan, a Broan, at low and medium speed. Loving both.

Can you imagine having a dishwasher and an exhaust fan that is quieter than the oven’s convection feature? My previous oven also had convection feature, you could hear the fan but was not objectionable.

fridge (06603)

The fridge, a Fisher & Paykel, is very well design, easy to clean both inside and out. Loving it.

The task at hand now is to get all the cabinets and drawers organized and remember where things are in this new arrangement.

Also would like to get my art works onto the walls, but they are not talking to me so I must wait. More waiting. Story of my life, sigh!

◊ ◊ ◊

revolve surge protector (06611)In my kitchen is this neat Revolve Surge Protector (right photo) by 390electrical. So cool looking and the outlets rotate in any direction, loving it.

It was probably designed by a nerd who had too many gadgets with various size plugs and the strip surge protector just did not serve the purpose, that surely frustrated him/her.

He/she must be thinking: “How cool would it be to have a surge protector where the outlets rotate to accommodate any size plugs!” That was the “aha” moment when this surge protector was born. Was that what actually happened, don’t know, I made this up.

The green light on the Surge Protector indicates it is plugged into a grounded outlet.

The blue light indicates everything is protected. If the blue light goes out it means the surge protector has absorbed a surge and needs to be replaced.

There is also a 2-outlet unit available where the prongs can be folded for easy travel.

…   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …  …   … Copyright © by Norma Chang. All Rights Reserved. Do not use/repost any photos and/or articles without permission.

 

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in kitchen reno, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to My Brand New Kitchen

  1. So sorry you are still having hassles Norma, I do hope you get them sorted this week.
    Your kitchen is absolutely stunning! I am green with envy.
    Happy cooking and baking. :-) Mandy xo

  2. cheri says:

    Hi Norma, your kitchen is gorgeous, love your refrigerator and all your appliances they look so sleek. Hopefully everything will be resolved soon.

  3. bsweet43 says:

    Though the job took several months it is beautiful and worth the wait. Foster Flooring did work for us also. I really like your work station in the corner. Be sure to get some comfortable stools since I’m sure you will spend time in your new kitchen.

  4. mac says:

    The wait is over, beautiful kitchen and cool appliances!

  5. Looks beautiful and so efficient! Happy cooking! :)

  6. Judy Killmer says:

    Hi Norma,
    Your kitchen is absolutely beautiful!!!! I wish you many HAPPY hours in this lovely space!!!!

  7. Juliana says:

    Oh Norma…such a beautiful kitchen…thanks for sharing the pictures of it…I sure can see you making delicious dishes in your new kitchen!
    Have a great week :D

  8. daphnegould says:

    I’m glad to hear it is almost done. All those delays are one reason I hate to get work done on the house.

  9. Love your new kitchen, Norma. wow I need a new fridge too, and I want one as big as yours.

  10. Slowly but surely it’s almost done! I LOVE that fridge Norma – jealous!

  11. Connie H. says:

    Your kitchen is beautiful, Norma. Thanks for sharing all the information. I hope that you get the phone call from that cabinet installer very soon!!

  12. What a beautiful, new kitchen. Soon all the delays and hassles will be behind you. Lose those memories so you can enjoy your lovely new space. BTW, it is caulking, not chalking. :-)

  13. cocomino says:

    Your kitchen is cool. “L” shape is also popular here.

  14. Eva Taylor says:

    Wow Norma! What a beautiful kitchen. Loving the granite surface and the doors are beautiful! We bought a F&P fridge 7 years ago and I still love it. I adore the lines. Ours is just a simple bottom freezer model, but it does the trick. I’m sure you’ll be making amazing food in your gorgeous new kitchen. Can’t wait to see/read what you do.
    I’m so sorry you’re still having issues, but it’s wonderful that one supplier was so appreciative; I’m sure you’re very eloquent and respectful when dealing with your suppliers and they appreciate that.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Eva,
      Thanks. The countertop is quartz, not granite. Granite requires maintenance while quartz is maintenance free. Glad to hear you love your F&P fridge. I bought it for the looks and had wondered if I had made the right decision, you make me feel a whole lot better.

  15. hotlyspiced says:

    I have an Asko and I love it. I’ve never seen a power point set-up like that before. Your fridge is the one I want! Your new kitchen is stunning and I’m so pleased it is finally installed – it seems it took you a very long time to get to this point. I certainly looks to me like a dream kitchen and I love how there is no join in your bench top xx

  16. So happy to see that you have a working kitchen again! It looks beautiful. I love the window over the sink – what do you see from it?

  17. Margaret says:

    Absolutely loving the new kitchen! Lucky, lucky you! And that surge protector – what a great idea!

  18. Stunning kitchen. I am very jealous. Mine is tiny. Emma.

  19. CONGRATS! what a beauty!!

  20. sue marquis bishop says:

    I can well relate to your great joy in having a brand new kitchen.. I love the kitchen in my new home… will share pictures in future posts….we spend lots of time there so why not…. I love to see where others are doing their creative cooking and baking.. sue
    womenlivinglifeafter50.com

  21. It looks great, Norma! How exciting to have it come together (almost). I love the clean lines and the computer work station!

  22. wok with ray says:

    Installing the countertop without any seam is not very common but when it’s done correctly, the result of course is much better. I love the contrast color of the countertop and the cabinets — very classy. So happy for you, Norma. I hope you enjoy every minute of cooking. :)

  23. Maureen | Orgasmic Chef says:

    I love your kitchen. With every new build like this there is always a punch list of things that just aren’t quite right but you’ll get through it and it will be a marvelous place to cook in. Looking forward to nifty things in the future!

  24. Sophie33 says:

    Your new kitchen looks amazing! I would happily work besides you & cook with you or have a glass of wine with you! xx

  25. Your new kitchen looks beautiful, Norma, and I love your extra L-shaped work space. I know you must be so relieved and happy to have it ready to use, even if you still have a couple of things to work out. Happy cooking!

  26. Kristy says:

    I love your new kitchen Norma! It turned out just beautiful. I especially love the floors. They are just gorgeous! And your countertops – so much space to work. Beautifully done. :)

  27. As a theatrical scenic artist, I totally understand your “no caulk” stance. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been asked to fix sloppy carpentry with painters’ caulk. Sad.

Leave a Reply

