Harvet Monday, May 19, 2014 – Comparing Windowbox & Garden + Ramps

Not much happening in the garden, did transplant 4 variety of beets, peppermint Swiss chard, leeks and onions.

Bok choy that I transplanted into the garden 0n 5/10/14 were doing very well. Then came the rain and overnight the slug population exploded. The slimy critters devoured all my bok choy.

∞ ∞ ∞

My April 14, 2014 post featured lettuce and Swiss chard seedlings I purchased from the nursery and transplanted into window boxes and 3-inch pots.

windowbox lettuce (06404)

Lettuces in Window Box
Will harvest the outer leaves as needed for salad

∞ ∞ ∞

windowbox Swiss chard (06403)

Swiss Chard in Window Box

∞ ∞ ∞

On 5/3/14, I transplanted the lettuces in one of the window box and the Swiss chard in the 3-inch pots into the garden figuring they would do much better in the ground than in the window boxes.

Not so.

lettuce (06406)lettuce (06408) Lettuce on the left is in the garden, lettuce on the right is in the window box and is much larger (did not take a good photo).

∞ ∞ ∞

Swiss chard (06405)Swiss chard (06407) Swiss chard on the left is in the garden, Swiss chard above is in the window box. As you can see the one in the window box is much larger.

∞ ∞ ∞

I offered a garden friend some Chinese chives/garlic chives and she brought me some ramps yesterday. Guess who got the better deal?????

ramps (06409)

Ramps

The above photo shows part of the bounty I received (should have taken photo of the whole lot). There were a few healthy clumps which I planted in 2 different areas on my property to see where they would be the happiest.

Never cooked with ramps before, need to look up cooking info on the internet.

Was making soup for dinner so thinly sliced the bulb (white part) of one of the ramp, cut the green section in short length, tossed all into the pot and cooked briefly. Reminds me of garlic green but stronger garlic flavor, hint of sweetness and crunchy. Liked it a lot. Will be experimenting with the remainder.

Sure hope the ramps I planted grow and multiply. From what I read, it will be 2 – 3 years before I can harvest. That’s a looooong wait!

∞ ∞ ∞

tree peonies (06398)

Wishing You A Beautiful Week!

…   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …   …  …   … Copyright © by Norma Chang. All Rights Reserved. Do not use/repost any photos and/or articles without permission.

Visit Daphne’s Dandelions http://daphnesdandelions.blogspot.com/ for more Harvest Mondays

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Flowers, Gardening, Harvest Monday, Uncategorized, Vegetables and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Harvet Monday, May 19, 2014 – Comparing Windowbox & Garden + Ramps

  1. I just cut some salad leaves from my balcony too. Gotta make some salad with them for the dinner. I must plant some Swiss chard next year.

  2. daphnegould says:

    What a nice trade. And too bad about your bok choy. I’m a little afraid my direct seeded bok choy won’t be big enough to eat before I need the bed for my two sisters bed. Maybe I can transplant them if so. I hope so. I really need to grow all of them from seed indoors as they do so much better that way.

  3. I think the plants in your garden are so happy for the extra space that they are concentrating of growing lots more roots. Then later the leaves of the garden plants will be 2 – 4 times bigger than the window box plants.

  4. Eva Taylor says:

    Hi Norma, we have snails, the really big, ugly ones; it’s really weird because when we first moved into this house 12 years ago the snails were the tiny ones, now they are at least the size of a quarter. The garlic at the cottage did not survive or it hasn’t begun to grow yet or the deer ate them; lots of deer poop around the cottage, more than other years.
    Your lettuces look great, I bought a lettuce pot for the back deck, I’m hoping to get a few salads out of it. It usually never lasts for more than one salad so your tip to remove the outer leaves is great, thanks.It’s a holiday Monday today for us, hope you have good week. Are you planning a TO trip yet? I doubt we’ll get down to NYC this year, we have to buckle down until more steady work comes in. Hope the reno’s are going well.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Eva,
      Hope I do not see snails of that size in my garden or anywhere on my property, they will freak me out.
      Sorry about your garlic, I noticed deer munched on my garlic that were not fenced in, seriously I did not think they would touch garlic. They must be very hungry or are developing gourmet taste.
      Will drop you a note about TO.

  5. Kristy says:

    Looking at all of your lovely window boxes have inspired me to get moving in my yard this week. I need to get my herbs planted again. It will be a nice way to spend a sunny afternoon. 🙂 Have a great week as well Norma!

  6. Michelle says:

    I think you will like the Peppermint chard, if only for its looks, mine looks so beautiful and I think it’s tasty as well. Lots of good looking greens, and those ramps are something to envy.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Michelle,
      Thanks for the info about peppermint chard, glad to know they are beautiful and tasty too. This was my first experience with ramp hope the clumps I planted grow well for me.

  7. Every time I see your window box lettuce I say, “I’m going to do that.” I still haven’t! It’s my job for this coming weekend.

  8. Those darn snails!! Your lettuce liked their cozy containers and I suppose shocked with their freedom 🙂

  9. hotlyspiced says:

    What a shame about the slugs! How annoying. Amazing how much they can eat when they’re so small. Chgo John is a blogger who has recently posted a few recipes using ramps. Yes, you certainly got the better deal xx

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Charlie,
      I saved and crushed egg shells to sprinkle around the plants to deter slugs but forgot. Will use them for the other plants.
      I did visit John ramp posts and learn where he tears the leafy part of the ramps, going to try that too.

  10. Slugs are actually the worst, that sucks!
    But on the other hand, your lettuce is loving the free life! And gorgeous flower photo 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Uru,
      Slugs are disgusting and they leave behind a slimy trail.
      Garden planted lettuce should be ready in a few days and looking forward to delicious salads.

  11. Sophie33 says:

    A good produce! We bought ramp plants a few years ago because they are protected by law, in Belgium. You can’t forage them or you can go to jail! I love them & so does my husband. You can eat the leaves, the flowers & the roots, but don’tveat the roots or you will not have any plants for the next year. I like to make pesto out of the leaves or a spread.

  12. Beautiful harvest Norma! Thanks for the description of ramps. I always wondered what they taste like as know that you compared them to a stronger garlic chive I an really picture that well. I onder how they would taste in a fritatta? I am sure we could use them regularly in Chinese Stir Fry dishes and in pork sounds especially good.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Bam,
      It is stronger than garlic green not garlic chives. I thing they would be great in a frittata. Can you purchase ramps in HK? They would definitely be good in any Chinese Stir-fry dish, wish I had more to experiment with.

  13. What a beautiful and bountiful offering, Norma! I hope you’ve been well =)

  14. Karen says:

    It is terrible about the slugs…they are not only slimy disgusting things but do so much damage. I’m sure your garden transplants will catch up with the window box plantings soon.

  15. What a nice trade, especially now that ramps are becoming harder to find!

Leave a comment