Vegan No-Bake Fudge Pie – Guest Post by Everyday Maven

Today, I have a special guest. She is Alyssa the Everyday Maven.
I have been following Alyssa’s blog for a while. Reading her posts, I realized we share many of the same goals and ideas. We both enjoy healthful eating and like to tweek recipes to make life easier in the kitchen, for as much as we both love to cook and eat delicious food, we do not want to be slaves to the kitchen (we do have lives outside the kitchen), we also do not want to look like the Goodyear blimp.
I was so happy when Alyssa agreed to share a healthy dessert recipe. Thank you Alyssa for this awesome Vegan No-Bake Fudge Pie.
Do visit Alyssa’s blog for more healthy and delicious recipes that you will love.
**************************

Hi Garden to Wok Readers!

You may remember me from a couple of weeks ago when Norma guest posted her fantastic rendition of my Everyday Beef and Bean Chili.  She re-worked the recipe using frozen tofu and sprouted pinto beans.  If you haven’t tried it yet, you must!

If not, let me tell you a bit about myself.  My name is Alyssa and I am the Everyday Maven. My blog is about cooking delicious, interesting, and clean food while losing weight and staying slim.  Essentially, Whole Foods meets Weight Watchers!

Everyday Maven came about when I began a weight loss journey to lose some stubborn baby weight.  I joined Weight Watchers but didn’t find a lot of exciting recipes that featured natural ingredients.  Or real, delicious food as I like to call it. I began creating my own dishes and never felt like I was on a diet. I am not willing to eat steamed vegetables and grilled chicken over and over again to lose weight.  I want crispy appetizers, crunchy snacks, decadent desserts and everything in between – all while losing weight and staying slim!

When Norma asked me to guest post on Garden to Wok, she asked that I share a healthy dessert recipe.  I immediately thought of a No Bake Fudge Pie that uses a silk-firm tofu. Both Norma and I love to experiment with tofu and this Pie is the perfect recipe to showcase it.

The tofu is truly invisible but lends a great texture and added protein.  And as long as you use Vegan Chocolate Chips, this is Dairy-Free and Vegan! Not bad for a Chocolate Fudge pie that doesn’t taste like anything except a Chocolate Fudge Pie.  Trust me on this – you will not know what is missing.

Thanks again for having me Norma!

Alyssa – Everyday Maven
…everyday recipes made healthy and simple.

Follow Everyday Maven on Facebook
Follow Everyday Maven on Twitter
Follow Everyday Maven on Pinterest

Vegan No-Bake Fudge Pie

4 Points Plus Per Serving (without crust) — Recipes Serves 8

Ingredients
1 (12.3-ounce) package Mori-Nu Silk Firm Tofu
2 teaspoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
2 tablespoons unsweetened, plain Almond Milk
1/8 teaspoon sea salt
2 tablespoons Maple Syrup
1 cup chocolate chips (Vegan optional)
Shaved coconut or fresh berries for topping (optional)

Preparations

1. Prepare crust according to directions and allow to cool.

2. Combine tofu, cocoa powder, vanilla, almond milk, salt and maple syrup in the bowl of a food processor.

3. Melt chocolate chips in microwave or in a double boiler on stovetop and immediately add to food processor. Process all ingredients until completely smooth.

4. Pour into pie crust using a spatula to smooth top of filling. Place into refrigerator until chilled (at least 1 to 2 hours). Top with shaved coconut or fresh berries, serve and Enjoy!

NOTES:

  • I used a store-bought whole-wheat crust and it was 3 additional Points Plus per slice.  Since so many crusts are different Points Plus per serving, I opted not to include it in the calculation so please be sure to account for the type of crust you choose.
  • Mori-Nu Silk-Firm is a shelf-stable tofu that is usually found on the Asian food aisle.  It is very different than the refrigerated tofu you usually use for cooking.

Adapted From: The Ultimate Chocolate Fudge Pie by Chocolate Covered Katie

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Recipes, Tofu and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Vegan No-Bake Fudge Pie – Guest Post by Everyday Maven

  1. Daphne says:

    I so rarely make pies anymore now that the kids are out of the house. I’d have to eat them all myself. I really need to find a pie dish that is small. Like half a pie worth.

  2. This recipe looks worth a try. Tofu desserts have come a long way since the 1970’s, where in general, they were disgusting!

  3. This fabulous guest post had my stomach shouting for a piece – sounds and looks wonderful :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  4. Food Stories says:

    This recipe looks so healthy and I love the list of ingredients. Had to pin it :-)

  5. What an interesting recipe! I haven’t tried silken tofu in desserts yet, I eat it plain, I just love it’s silkiness…
    Thank you Norma for inviting Alyssa, and thank you Alyssa for this recipe!

  6. Thanks again for having me Norma!

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Alyssa,
      Thank you sooooo much for this delightful Vegan No-Bake Fudge Pie recipe. Who knew healthful eating could be so delicious!!!!! Thanks again.

  7. Faith says:

    Love how this beautiful pie is no-bake! And it’s such a fantastic use for tofu — delicious!

  8. girlichef says:

    Beautiful! At first glance, I wouldn’t have guessed that gorgeous silky texture was from tofu. A must-try!

  9. I enjoyed hearing about Alyssa’s journey to get healthier and to see that you don’t have to sacrifice taste to eat healthier. I sometimes get caught up thinking that it has to be all or nothing, so this is a good reminder that there are ways to compromise. I really must try to introduce tofu into my cooking. Thanks for the inspiration.

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello P & P,
      I publisheded a few posts on tofu but for some reason I cannot get the links to show in my reply. The dates are: Dec 16, 2011 and Jan 6 1012. I do have other posts let me know if you need any help.

  10. mireia says:

    What a great host and what a great recipe!!!

  11. Hi Norma,

    Now that looks one scrummy desert!!

  12. Sissi says:

    What a luscious treat! I love the recipe and seeing the words “fudge” and “healthy” makes it even more attractive :-) Great guest post, Alyssa.
    Norma, thank you for introducing Alyssa and her blog.

  13. Love no-bake! This looks tasty.

  14. Kristy says:

    I love when dishes offer all the flavor and satisfaction of a dessert, yet aren’t packed with all of the usual calories. This looks fantastic!

  15. I should so not be reading this before breakfast! Looks great. I have an olive oil crust on my blog just now that would easily adapt to a sweetened (or at least not savoury) version if anyone is interested. Tofu and cocoa is an unsung match made in (dessert) heaven.

  16. No plan for this week end…. Will try at this weekend …. I hope everybody will love this … it’s my First time…

  17. This recipe is great :D i’ve just become friends with a girl who’s gluten and diary intolerant so this would be perfect :)

  18. mydearbakes says:

    Wow, Love your bakes, lovely! =)

  19. Sophie33 says:

    Thanks, Norma for introducing this lovely blog to us! This vegan fudge pie looks so interesting & lovely. I am so going to make this pie! Stunning! Yum Yum Yum! ;)

  20. Pingback: Fudge Pie and Chocolate Pudding

Leave a Reply

