Dutchess County Sheep & Wool Festival, Sat. & Sun.,October 15-16, 2011

Sheep & Wool Festivalfacesweblarge copy

Got to love these faces!

It was 2 glorious and hectic autumn days at the Dutchess County Sheep & Wool Festival in Rhinebeck, NY. www.sheepandwool.com So much to see and do – the animals, the fiber, the crafts. There were spinning and weaving demonstrations and the shopping …..

At her spinning wheel is Toni Kellers (photo at right) of The Shepherd’s Croft, Cedar Lane, Bedminster, PA. www.shepherdscroft.com Her spinning wheel has a true double treadle made by Mr. Fricke of Washington State.

Then there is the competition:
Loved the display at left. Aren’t the lambs cute!!!!! The lamb in the armchair (left photo, click to enlarge) put a smile on my face, sooooo adorable.

DSC01809weblarge

What is a festival without cooking demonstrations? I demonstrated 2 lamb dishes – Lamb in Oyster Sauce  (substituted seasonal vegetables for the vegetables called for in the recipe) and Lamb with Hoisin Sauce (substituted hoisin sauce for the oyster sauce, onion, red, green and yellow peppers for the vegetables).
The recipe is at the end of the post, do adjust to your own taste.

Other presenters at the Festival were: Debbie Decker, Adams Fairacre Farms, Poughkeepsie, NY (left photo, Debbie at left, Cheryl at right); Laura Pensiero owner Gigi Hudson Valley, Rhinebeck, NY  (center photo) and Jennifer Brizzi local food columnist, Rhinebeck, NY (right photo).

Sheep & Wool Festival1cookweblarge

Also a presenter was Charles Derbyshire, Old Mill Wines & Spirits, Rhinebeck, NY (left photo). Charles kicked off Cider Week at the Festival. I will be writing about Cider Week in my October 28 posting.

Of course the cooking demonstrations could not happen without the hard work and organizational skills of Jack Ford  of New Hampshire (right photo) and his able assistant Cheryl (photo above left).

Sheep & Wool Festivaljackweblarge

Then there were the food vendors. I ate at Bella Terra Farm, Root, NY, owned by Paul Varco and Joan Madonna.

Sheep & Wool Festival2paulweblarge

The loin lamb chop dinner was a very good value. The chops were tender and juicy, the lamb ravioli was delicious and spinach is one of my favorite vegetables. I wish I got more spinach. The grilled lamb burger was good too.

Here is the recipe. Feel free to make adjustments to this recipe and all the recipes in my cookbooks to suit your own taste and availability of ingredients.

Copyright © 2011 by Norma Chang

About Norma Chang

I am the author/publisher of 2 user-friendly Chinese cookbooks: "My Students' Favorite Chinese Recipes (updated edition)" and "Wokking Your Way to Low Fat Cooking" A gardener who enjoys cooking and eating and loves to think outside the box A garden volunteer at Locust Grove Heritage Vegetable Garden Conduct hands-on cooking workshops for teenagers Conduct cultural programs for children and family Conduct healthy cooking classes for adults
This entry was posted in Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dutchess County Sheep & Wool Festival, Sat. & Sun.,October 15-16, 2011

  1. Pat says:

    Hi Norma! I love your blog. The Sheep and Wool pictures are great. Next year I will try to go.
    See you in the Garden next week .
    Pat

  2. Toni Kellers says:

    Norma – meant to ask – would you send that photo of me to my email? I never took a single picture at Rhinebeck –
    Toni

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Toni,
      Glad you like the photo I posted. Yes, I will send you all the photos I took. Is the lamb on the right (photos at top of post) yours? If yes, I can send you that photo also.

  3. Jack Ford says:

    Hi, Norma-
    Terri, Jo Ann (Building E Manager) and I all thoroughly enjoyed your coverage of the festival. I look forward to receiving your gardening blogs, I am getting quite an education about something I thought I knew a lot about! (I was a sales manager for a large produce company for eight years)
    -Jack

    • Norma Chang says:

      Hello Jack,
      Thanks. Please convey my thanks to Terri and Jo Ann also. I thoroughly enjoyed the festival.
      Although I have been doing demos at the festival for many years, this is the first year I took the time to look around. So much to see and do.
      I am glad I had full house at my demos.
      Looking forward to your visits to my blog. Oh my son registered my blog so you can just to go to gardentowok.com and it will go to my blog. The wordpress URL still works.

Leave a Reply

